The Gymkhana Club

18 Hole

The Gymkhana Club

Vacoas, Mauritius

Phone: +230 296 1404

Characteristics

The Gymkhana, a private club, is the oldest 18-hole golf course in the highlands of the island. Still, non-members can also play this course from Monday to Friday. Even players with a high handicap can try this course as it is relatively easy. On the weekends, the golf course is reserved for members. The temperatures are here a little lower as in the coastal regions and there is a chance of short rain showers.

The Course

18-Hole Course

Technical difficulty: Easy - Moderate

Scorecard
TeeParCRSlopeLength
Yellow (Men)72--4870 m

Visitors

18-Hole Course

Visitors are welcome Monday - Friday (except public holidays).

Amenities

Rentals

  • Clubs for hire
  • Caddy on request

The Club

General Information

Founded: 1902

User Reviews

2.8 of 5 stars4 Reviews

5 Stars:
0
4 Stars:
1
3 Stars:
1
2 Stars:
2
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Most Recent Reviews

K. Per 349 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Playing once is ok

Founded in 1844 by the British military, the course is said to be around 5,600m long. Why so? The printed score card is so wrong that one could only rely on the information whether par 3 or 4 etc.
The reception was very friendly, thank God a caddy was more or less forced on us, the fairways are lined up a bit strangely, or if they intersect, then you have to cross a street.
Poor course maintenance, tee boxes well, fairways not recognizable or only very bad, since the Bermuda grass was generally very high on the fairways. Most of the bunkers are very hard, others with a lot of sand. There are no water hazards. Greens from small to large, but quite slow compared to the other places.
Green fee around €40 per person, caddy €8 + tip.
Restaurant very friendly service, food and drinks extremely cheap!

Translated by Google.

smart-iron 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Neat place with good greens. Nice for in between

With hotel places by the sea one can not compare the Gymkhana club. This is about the game and not the trappings. I was greeted warmly in the secretariat and could play on Tuesdays without booked tee time. The caddy is obligatory and also advisable, as the route between the tracks is sometimes not clear at first glance. The haircuts are a bit worn, but on the whole ok. The greens are in perfect condition. I did not see any water hazards. The bunkers are easy to play and not a big challenge. All in all, I would recommend the club to people who like to work in the square between work. For tourists it is recommended to play the nicer places of the well-known hotels. Here in particular from the Belle Mare Plage and Tamarina Golf Estate.

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 435 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf without tourists

Played on 20/04/2017. The oldest golf club in Mauritius has 18 holes and is quite central just to the west in the middle between two larger towns below from Port Louis. One should have a good map or GPS to have the club to find because a sign we have not seen. It is clearly a members club, tourist track down here. You have to make the Nobel Hotel places a lot of compromises. It is a flat parkland course with virtually no water hazards or other challenges. Sufficient bunkers are available but unfortunately with concrete hard sand in it. The course is short, grown the trees and there are a few doglegs. some getting used to that a partly come out on the same track player contrary, since the fairway for example, of the webs is divided 3 and 4. FIG. Also to play a lot of roads along with the appropriate noise level. On the back nine you can still cross a street and plays along the eingezäumten Police Academy. The condition was a whole rather mixed, the discounts not cut, uneven and not very attractive. However, the partly strongly crimp greens were in top shape. As a guest player should advance to reserve a day, a start time. Weekdays can be played 7:30 to 13:00 AM. The playing for our start time at 11 am was manageable. The e-mail reservation through the caddy master was working properly. We were honored at the counter and some in the aging clubhouse friendly welcome. The very favorable indeed for Mauritius green fee equivalent to 48 € per person I wanted to pay by credit card. After a long march through all the offices of the club house one then a functioning card reader found in the restaurant. Don`t worry be happy! Guests must play with Caddy and the Polo is one course in the pants. Carts do not exist. The our assigned caddies were good and friendly, could be typing and make phone calls but then did not resist. The Caddyfee will cost without tip again converted 8 €, which should of course be rounded generous. A driving range does not exist! Finally safe to golfing experience with locals (the slightly better-heeled), but a must, it is certainly not here.

Translated by Google.

Been to The Gymkhana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review

See all 4 reviews

The Gymkhana Club

18 Loch

The Gymkhana Club

The Gymkhana Club

Vacoas, Mauritius

Tel.: +230 296 1404

Charakteristik

The Gymkhana, ein Privatclub, ist der älteste 18-Loch-Golfplatz im Hochland der Insel. Dennoch können auch Nicht-Mitglieder den Platz von Montag bis Freitag bespielen. Auch Spieler ohne Platzreife können sich hier versuchen, da der Platz relativ leicht zu bespielen ist. An den Wochenenden ist der Golfplatz allein den Mitgliedern vorbehalten. Die Temperaturen sind hier etwas kühler als in den Küstenregionen und es muss mit kurzen Regenschauern gerechnet werden.

Der Golfplatz

18-Loch Platz

Schwierigkeitsgrad: Leicht - Sportlich

Scorekarte
TeeParCRSlopeLänge
Gelb (Herren)72--4870 m

Gästeinformation

18-Loch Platz

Gäste sind Montag - Freitag (außer an Feiertagen) willkommen.

Ausstattung

Ausrüstung zur Miete

  • Leihschläger
  • Caddie auf Anfrage

Der Club

Clubinfos

Gegründet: 1902

Bewertungen

3.0 von 5 Sternen3 Bewertungen

5 Sterne:
0
4 Sterne:
1
3 Sterne:
1
2 Sterne:
1
1 Stern:
0
Eine Bewertung schreiben

Die neuesten Bewertungen

smart-iron 1 Bewertung

Ordentlicher Platz mit guten Grüns. Schön für zwischendurch

Mit Hotelplätzen am Meer kann man den Gymkhana Club nicht vergleichen. Hier geht es um das Spiel und nicht das Drumherum. Im Sekretariat wurde ich freundlich begrüßt und konnte dienstags ohne gebuchte Abschlagszeit spielen. Der Caddie ist obligatorisch und auch ratsam, da die Wegführung zwischen den Bahnen teilweise nicht auf den ersten Blick klar ist. Die Abschläge sind schon etwas mitgenommen, im Großen und Ganzen aber ok. Die Grüns sind in einwandfreiem Zustand. Wasserhindernisse habe ich nicht gesehen. Die Bunker sind gut spielbar und keine große Herausforderung. Alles in Allem würde ich den Club den Leuten empfehlen, die zwischen der Arbeit gerne auf den Platz wollen. Für Urlauber empfiehlt es sich, die schöneren Plätze der bekannten Hotels zu spielen. Hier insbesondere vom Belle Mare Plage und Tamarina Golf Estate.

reiner2304 328 Bewertungen

Golf ohne Touristen

Gespielt am 20.4.2017. Der älteste Golfclub auf Mauritius hat 18 Löcher und liegt ziemlich zentral etwas westlich mitten zwischen zwei größeren Orten unterhalb von Port Louis. Man sollte schon gutes Kartenmaterial oder GPS haben um den Club zu finden, denn eine Beschilderung haben wir nicht gesehen. Es ist eindeutig ein Mitgliederclub, Touristen verirren sich hier eher selten hin. Man muss zu den Nobelhotelplätzen auch eine Menge Abstriche machen. Es ist ein flacher Parklandplatz mit so gut wie keinen Wasserhindernissen oder sonstigen Herausforderungen. Ausreichend Bunker sind vorhanden allerdings leider mit betonhartem Sand darin. Der Platz ist kurz, die Bäume eingewachsen und es gibt ein paar Doglegs. Etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig ist, dass einem teilweise auf der gleichen Bahn Spieler entgegen kommen, da sich das Fairway z.B. der Bahnen 3 und 4 geteilt wird. Auch spielt man viel an Straßen entlang mit dem entsprechenden Geräuschpegel. Auf den Backnine überquert man noch eine Straße und spielt entlang der eingezäumten Polizeiakademie. Der Pflegezustand war insgesamt gesehen eher durchwachsen, die Abschläge nicht gemäht, uneben und nicht sehr ansehnlich. Die teilweise stark ondulieren Grüns waren allerdings top in Schuss. Als Gastspieler sollte man einen Tag vorher eine Startzeit reservieren. Wochentags darf man zwischen 7.30 Uhr und 13:00 Uhr spielen. Der Spielbetrieb bei unserer Startzeit um 11 Uhr war überschaubar. Die E-Mail-Reservierung über den Caddymaster hat einwandfrei funktioniert. Wir wurden am Counter im altehrwürdigen und etwas in die Jahre gekommenen Clubhaus freundlich begrüßt. Das wirklich für Mauritius sehr günstige Greenfee von umgerechnet 48 € pro Person wollte ich per Kreditkarte bezahlen. Nach einem langen Marsch durch sämtliche Büros des Clubhauses fand man dann im Restaurant ein funktionstüchtiges Kartenlesegerät. Don`t worry be happy! Gäste müssen mit Caddy spielen und das Polo gehört selbstverständlich in die Hose. Carts gibt es nicht. Die uns zugewiesenen Caddys waren gut und freundlich, konnten sich das Tippen und telefonieren mit dem Handy allerdings dann doch nicht verkneifen. Das Caddyfee kostet dann ohne Trinkgeld nochmals umgerechnet 8 €, was natürlich großzügig aufgerundet werden sollte. Eine Driving-Range gibt es nicht! Abschließend sicher eine Erfahrung unter Einheimischen (die etwas besser betuchten) zu golfen, aber ein MUSS ist es hier sicher nicht.

kuefy 31 Bewertungen

Muss man gesehen haben

Der älteste Platz auf der Insel. Ein netter Parklandplatz mit eigenem Flair. Es gibt keine Carts sondern nur Caddys, was mir aber sowieso lieber ist. Da der Platz und die Greens teilweise in Ausbesserung waren haben wir pro Person nur 2600 Mur inkl. Caddys, Lunch und Polos (Startgeschenk) bezahlt. Der Platz wird vorrangig von Mitgliedern bespielt, Gäste sind Montag bis Freitag willkommen. Das Personal war sehr freundlich.

The Gymkhana Club - schon mal dort gewesen? Berichten Sie davon!

Eine Bewertung schreiben

Alle Bewertungen ansehen