User Reviews

for The Crete Golf Club, Crete, Greece, Greece

4.0 of 5 stars20 Reviews

5 Stars:
11
4 Stars:
5
3 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
4
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 20 from 20

haveclubswilltravel 3 Reviews

The beautiful Crete Golf Club

As a friendly warning this course is now closed since mid October 2014 until next October or whenever. Saying that, it is really a fine test of golf but not for the beginner unless your a golf masochist. While not a long course (unless your play from the gold tees) each hole is novel and unique with blind greens, heavy rough but wonderful greens and well-kept fairways. Your drive down the middle is rewarded and most shots to the green will stop. Putting on the outstanding greens is true with the usual breaks but no surprises. I believe the 6th hole par 3 across a ravine is the most exciting but followed by the number 1 rated, par 4 - monster. (it plays longer than it looks) I've been told the renovation will eliminate some of the difficulty and increase playability for beginners but truly hope they do not spoil this fine mountainous course.

Lorna Godwin 1 Review

Just Back from Crete Golg Club 10th Oct 2012

Loved the course, fantastic setting amongst the mountains. I play off 21 handicap and found the red tees gave me tomuch advantage on the guy i was playing with. Therefore played off blue and blacks. Probably the best golf course ive played to date. All holes memorable. The 11th has the best views ever. Par 3 across a revine awesome. Cant wait to go back. Only draw back very quiet and too expensive to play there often. I have a house in Crete and would love to play golf there in the winter.

Bukci 1 Review

Almost excellent

I have played this course at the beginning of September - high season of tourists spending their time on beaches. The golf course was almost empty (Sunday morning), driving range was completely empty (Saturday afternoon) - I expect that the most of visitors come in winter.
The weather was perfect, few degrees lower temperature than on the beach and neverending wind coming from the sea. I expected that buggy will be necessary because of temperature, but reality was that it is necessary because of hilly terrain.
The course is not long, but it is really hard. There is fairway, semi-rough, sometimes rough, but when you shot a little bit outside, you can say good bye to the ball. Almost no outs, but searching for the ball is very difficult outside the fairway.
You will not see the sea (or I did not), but the land-views are one of the best.
What I liked: The crete is waterless land, but the course is in very good condition. Fairways mostly perfect. Nice toilets on each 9. Greens are "clear". Difficult, but for me easy to read. Hole 6 - wonderful par 3 shooting over the valley. Hole 13 - very difficult par4 with unexpected last 100 m (you will see the flag from 80 meters, not earlier).
What I did not like: It is not excellent, there are places on the fairways that "are not fairways". roughs are sometimes several centimeters, sometimes not (not speaking about the semi-roughs). Slightly higher prices - e.g. 10 Euro range fee. On almost all holes (except 3-pars) you do not see the flag - because of hilly style. No map of greens on scorecard (pin positions).

D_G 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Must play in Crete

HCP 14: I was allowed to enjoy this course twice in April. Welcome is professional. 10% discount due to the right hotel after reservation no problem. With Aegean boarding pass, there would have been 15% extra. GF is appropriate, not only because of the lack of competition on the island. The place is hilly. I wore my bag and saw many walkers too. In the summer but probably only Cart is recommended. The layout is always varied. You look forward to every track - at least if you own a Birdiebook (expensive but good). My favorites were hole 6 PAR 3 with the super view from the tee, hole 11 with the mega view over the green (the birdie felt so good) and the 18 with the drive to the clubhouse / hotel. Game partners had rental clubs: looked ok.

Translated by Google.

Elisabeth & Hans 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Varied place in top condition

We played this place for 1 week at the end of September and were always looking forward to the round. The place is in perfect condition (after this hot summer!), Varied and with a wonderful panorama. The greens are fast and challenging. The service is excellent (drinks and snack on the round, cart with bags is ready, thugs are cleaned, everyone is very friendly). From the front desk to the restaurant "Roman one"!

Translated by Google.

Pregitzer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great course

Very well maintained and challenging golf course with fast greens. Pleasant coworkers.
It was a pity that my tour operator did not want to take our bags from the airport to Blue Sea Beach, 30 km away. We should book a private transfer for 340.- € for 30 km. Unfortunately, only 5 golf clubs were rented out of 5 rounds of golf.

Translated by Google.

S.B. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic place in top condition

Really nice 18-hole course. Partly very challenging holes, hilly course and nice view, especially on the back 9. Well maintained club house with good food and delicious cappuccino. Friendly and helpful staff. We will gladly come back

Translated by Google.

DJW 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Highly Recommended

Great golf course, overlooking the sea and the mountains.
Although the par 4 are relatively short (about 300 m), the course is quite demanding. Narrow drive landing zones, slopes and very fast greens make a round of golf an experience. In combination with a good service (drinks and food during the round, carts with the bags are already prepared, all staff are very friendly and accommodating), the great view and the interesting, varied holes I can only recommend the place.

Translated by Google.

Lierschi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Summer golf of the finest in August 2017

Very nice area, well maintained and at these temperatures.
The service around the golf club is great, the Greeks are simply a very hospitable people.
However, one should drive with a golf card, zero shadows are available, and the heights between the holes are not without.

Christian Liersch

Translated by Google.

Response from Fragkiadaki Katerina of The Crete Golf Club
September 4, 2017

Thank you very much for your compliments. We are delighted to welcome you at our course again. Best regards, The Golf Team More

Thank you very much for your compliments.

We are delighted to welcome you at our course again.

Best regards,

The Golf Team

tee 11 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fairway meet

Hello together, the place is in a top condition when you consider the weather conditions even extremely good.
Only I am this Rough overhauled not accustomed and so do not come with this clear, now I understand the pros on the tour how difficult some locations are to play. Unfortunately it costs now 85 € and 35 € a car, which is a pity but the place is worth as I've already experienced quite different. Have fun

Translated by Google.

swissgolfer2 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Varied course in very good condition

We played several times this place during our holiday.
The place is very well maintained and is in perfect condition. The holes are varied and not easy to play, even if no water hazards are present. Also the staff is very accommodating and friendly

Translated by Google.

bachus 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful grounds

We have nearly played an 18-hole round a week, every day here. The place is very interesting in great condition and again and again. The service is excellent, from the front desk over the course catering to the restaurant.

Translated by Google.

Golfkreuzfahrer2 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Finally opened again

Course is in excellent condition since 01.10.9 hole playable from 09:10:18 hole playable We played 3 rounds a 18 hole on the 1st nine.
We were satisfied TOP. The place was somewhat "mitigated"
The fairways are lush and green and in very good condition. This was also one of the Green why we hardly lost balls. Before the reconstruction, the balls are usually bound in the left and right of the fairway existing stone deserts. Congratulations great solved.
Unfortunately, I can only report on the second nine that the 18 green now no island green is more. Clubhouse has new setting all very friendly.
Management German speaking and how the rest of the staff friendly and accommodating. The place is now part of Aegean Airlines!

Translated by Google.

timton 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Lifelong Crete frustration

Only one Heini can leave a comment so when a lifelong frustration arises because of a golf game did not take place. Rarely read such a pointless comment.

I only wish that the operator of a Web page to read like this such comments and optionally deletes.

Translated by Google.

heini 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Attention all golfers: Stay away from Crete!!!

After spending five years ago a great week with three rounds of golf on the only 18-he of the island, we wanted to repeat the year and have even persuaded friend to come along. My buddy has taken 3 weeks prior to arrival on the club website fancy a nice game. At the hotel, we have filled out a voucher form, unsheathed the credit card and the lady at the front desk called in the meantime the club to after a tee time and learned on this occasion that the store has closed one year for renovations. Meanwhile, it is also read on the internet. Supposedly want to make the place suitable for touring. I'm just wondering which tour. Of course, this catastrophic policy information leads us to lifelong Crete frustration, you can certainly empathize with how it is when you would be on a golf vacation and instead, every day has to stare at another monastery not to go gaga at the hotel. The rating for the 9-hole alternative Porto Elounda, we played once, you can read there.

Translated by Google.

Grossteinberger 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Space for renovation geschlosseh

We were in October 2014, the PLACE:

Everything was fine. But now the place is rebuilt and closed until September 2015. Please inform on homepage.

Since this is the only major place in Crete, not to recommend a trip for golfers to Crete at the time

Translated by Google.

Rika 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Out of season!

We were there from 15:02. to 7:03 at the Village Heights Guest! The hotel promised us discount green fees at about 5km. remote Crete Golf Club!
The hotel was fine, but could we not offer any deals on the golf course, because they were ruled by very own rules.
It is working very diligently on the golf course!
Today we were in the afternoon for a small fee a small 9 hole round (hole 10 to 18) make extra because we had played in the morning with a full green fee under unbearable excavator noise!

Only in the first week of hole 1 were to play to 9, then were blocked due to construction! (Baggerarbeiten!)
Hole 10 to 18 we played each 2x in the next 2 weeks! (Quite a lot of construction)

The golf course has spectacular views and is demanding!
You can take great photos, but not to focus on!

Try it in another season!

Translated by Google.

MADDEGRIEK 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Much too expensive

Price quality is not in proportion! .
Golf alla Greek?

Translated by Google.

TROUFFET 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Terrible

We arrived at 7 with the price of our tour operator. They refused this rate and we have paid the price with max rent bags, shopping balls and tees. Not a euro discount... No senior rate... Nothing...
130 euros per person (with car) for a journey to the pretty picture but almost as blind holes...
Maintenance of ground zero: no grass, no sand in the bunker, green cheese grater.
This is my first anal Golfing...
To avoid...

Translated by Google.

Response from Mrs. Zarifi, Manager at The Crete Golf Club
October 8, 2013

Dear Mr Thiery Roufett, We are very sorry to read that during your visit on 26.09.2013 you did not find the course to your liking, especially so as since 2012 it is an official venue for the LET… More

Dear Mr Thiery Roufett, We are very sorry to read that during your visit on 26.09.2013 you did not find the course to your liking, especially so as since 2012 it is an official venue for the LET Access Series and the condition of the course is regularly monitored by LET officials. The Crete Golf Club is always open to constructive criticism; however you did not give us your feedback of the condition of the course while still visiting the premises and therefore we can only assume that your comments have to do with the fact that you did not receive a discount on your Green and Rental fees – which in any case you were under no circumstances entitled to. For those who understand, Tour Operator Rates are exactly that: The commissionable rates that Tour Operators receive when selling Green fees and these are not available to individuals who arrive without a reservation through a Tour Operator (we were very surprised that the agency you had NOT booked through had even given you a copy of the rates that were meant for them alone)!
As to your last comments, it is sad that a Golfer of your age and playing level uses such language when referring to the Gentleman’s game of Golf – even when disappointed by his gaming experience.

teetimeone 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golfing with friends like home

We were amazed at how good condition the place is the end of December. Best-kept greens and great course something for serious golfers are still playing here until the end of February and enjoy the stunning views of Loch 10th The club management and greenkeepers, Pro extremely friendly.
We say here once again thank you for the hospitality shaft.
Angelika and Uwe

Translated by Google.

Been to The Crete Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review