User Reviews

for Paradis Golf Club, Mauritius

3.7 of 5 stars21 Reviews

5 Stars:
4
4 Stars:
8
3 Stars:
8
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
1
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 21 from 21

Andrea P. 1 Review

Being a paying visitor if you are without a "reservation"???

I received a a very unpleasant treatment when I just asked to get into the club house to check out the course and club renting during my vacation in the island.
I did not stay at the Beachcomber hotel and maybe that was the issue.
Anyway, I was asked for money (25 euros per person) just to get into the club house, unless I called the golf manager for a "reservation" a day before.
I can understand when a golf facility is for private members only, but that was not mentioned anywhere.

K. Per 466 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Still great

6 years later - how has the place developed?
So I really liked the place again. I think the green fee for 2 people as a hotel guest with a trolley was around €65,— quite okay, and there was also water included.
Fairways were perfect, the large bunkers had a rather thin layer of sand, the greens were okay but not too fast.
Wide fairways, which unfortunately I didn't hit very often, and water always comes into play on some fairways.
Very tricky hole 9, the hardest hole on the course, a long par 4, with a long second shot over the water. In windy conditions, being ahead is almost a must. Hole 16 is also tricky, a relatively short par 5, but with a lot of water in play. Tactical play is necessary.

Translated by Google.

Berlin Golf Bear 108 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

If that's paradise...

Played on November 20,2019, HCP 12

… I want to see hell again.
Joke aside, the space is not bad, but I imagine “paradise” differently.

Even if it is located on a peninsula, the course is more of a parkland (or even better: palm land) than a links course. The majority of the tracks wind around an imposing mountain (which, however, is not in the game) - nice sight, but not long-lasting. Only on the last 3 lanes there is a little "Caribbean feeling" - palm trees, beach, sea view.

Many holes are simple baller meadows - as long as possible, place the ball so that frequent dogleg does not become a problem, pop the ball in front of the green (avoid bunkers, although these are very playable), pitch and putt. The "putt" is quite interesting - brisk greens with moderate undulation. A few holes are really tricky - sometimes 140m drives are required (from the regular men's tee) to overcome water, sometimes the holes are suddenly quite narrow, especially the par 3s. If you do not have the necessary length, you can also switch to the front senior teas.

The greens were in perfect condition, the fairways partly burned and with many bald spots. The stubborn semi-rough takes some getting used to for Central Europeans - the ball is often quite high, you run the risk of embezzling it.

A cart is recommended at the usual temperatures (30 °, 90% humidity) to anyone who has problems in such a climate - otherwise it will be a sweaty round.

A pretty nice place overall - only the prices are really "heavenly"! EURO 15, - for a small glass of white wine and a canned beer are already very steep. That would still be forgivable if everything else was really paradise - but it is not. In any case, I suspect that there is no busy road with the corresponding noise through paradise and that constant work on the square also makes a lot of noise.

Conclusion:
Gladly again, but only with a green fee discount. We had a hotel package, the round with cart for 2 people cost EUR 175, which is a bargain.
Almost 4 stars, 5 would not be attainable even with top maintenance condition, too many tracks are too boring for that. (In the "Golf Bear Ranking": 7 out of 10 points.)

Translated by Google.

Norbert130 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf

The golf course is very nice but greenfeezeiten are hard to get if at all as a hotel guest that you do not know from Belma Plage and le trefair. Should be considered when booking the hotels Beachcomber.
Holiday from 28.11 to 21.12.2019

Translated by Google.

K. Per 466 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place in a fantastic landscape

Well-maintained golf course in a beautiful landscape, very good greens, relatively fast but line-loyal. Greens not particularly undulating, rather difficult to read.
The fairways are varied, well maintained fairways, bunkers but getting used to, because quite hard.
I also liked the variety of trees and plants next to the tracks and not just the palm trees.

The place is not particularly difficult, with partly wide fairways, a hotel place.

The view of the lagoon and Le Morne, however, worth seeing.

The best I have the holes 4,6 and 16 liked.

Secretariat very friendly, the service after the game sensational, to the beer (that unfortunately I lost the load in) against my wife gabs "Spring Rolls" in the best quality and free!!!

Translated by Google.

JBr 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dreamlike golf course with a fantastic backdrop

I played the golf course in June 2017 and was thrilled. Both the view of the high mountain Le Morne as well as the sea and the lagoon are beautiful.
Very friendly reception at the reception and also in the golf shop. Balls for the driving range (about 40 balls) are available free of charge).
The tee-off zone is partly narrow, all fairways were in a top condition. Also the greens, which are partly very ondoliert.
The hole 4 is also a first challenge. Tee with a slight dogleg to the left, second (or third) beat over the bay to the green. The hole 8 is also located in the same way as the holes 9,10 and 13,15,16 lie directly on the lagoon bay. In strong winds, a precise play is very important.
The greens were all in top condition.
An absolute must for all golf lovers.

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 504 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good scenery but rather overrated total

Played on 18/04/2017. The flat 18-hole course within the Beachcomber hotel complex in the south of Mauritius is probably one of the famous places on the island that should have played 1x. More disappointed we were of them. The first 9 holes are rather Parkland character with little challenges, apart from the sometimes narrow discounts, even if you even have to transfer a water hazard here and there. Only at second 9 it goes along the lagoon. of course, is impressive the famous rock (Brabant) which always is a good photo opportunity. Still, not many holes are remembered us after the round. There are some large and well-placed bunkers, unfortunately with very hard sand. Although the course was dry, the balls barely rolled. The greens were mostly mild increases and overall, in good condition but a little too slow for our liking. Partly different types of grass on the fairway did not make the game more attractive. The holes along the sea offer some compensation for the front nine, which also go along the main road to the part. The least we liked the service. As a non-hotel guest it is advisable to reserve a tee time. This can be done until 48 hours before his scheduled game. I have done this by e-mail and got a confirmation for the 18.4. at 12:00 o'clock. So to get a start time was not really a problem and relations were not necessary. However, it was then informed us at the entrance of the plant that our start time had been the previous day. But we were then admitted thankfully anyway and then got a tee time at 12:10 assigned. My objection is that the error in the pro shop is (I had an email confirmation), was ignored. First, we wanted to play without cart and paid the "smooth" green fee for non-hotel guests from around 160 € per person plus 13 € for the drawn Rolly. then due to the heat we decided still to take a cart, there was not a bit to feel the wind on the court. Since there was no reservation code for the additional cost of another 13 € per person, which was not only. It was only when I offered cash it came suddenly. then for the small driving range we got on demand about 30 balls for free, you still would have actually have to pay. The cart then had GPS and two small bottles of water were also included. All in all we had feeling not to be really welcome. to greet each other on the court was among the players not necessarily common. At least the changing rooms were well cooled down in Next to the Hotel Golf area and you could showers. Ultimately, you do not have the space unconditional and play at any cost, especially depending on the place where you come from, the arrival on the highway and through the villages with substantial effort and expense connected. The scenery is impressive but otherwise?

Translated by Google.

Schnutzloff 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Totally overrated unkempt place

Finally, after two futile failed attempts in 2011 and 2015, we have succeeded with the help of Mauritian golf friends to play the Paradis Golf course at Le Morne on 22/03/17.
To have played what a disappointment, the first actual Signature golf course in Mauritius making the rounds on golf glossy brochures worldwide.
After 15 Mauritius Golf stays and authentic knowledge of all! Golf houseroom was Le Paradis is by far the worst place, with unkempt fairways and greens at a top price of about 150, - € !!
The whole golf course, sanitary facilities, lounge and bar area are also getting on in years (Eröffnung1992).
The Beachcomber (owner / operator group) should rise from the high horse, significantly invest and the international golf Open.
It very sad that this unique topographic location and nature in Le Morne Brabant now as unfortunately so much in Mauritius, no longer meets the required international standards.
Mauritius Golf travelers should better Anahita Tamarina, Avalon, play l ile aux cerfs above.

Translated by Google.

RLiedtke 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice!

I think 4 stars are appropriate here.
Good care (some fairways slightly burned), super greens, stunning layout with the mountain directly on the Indian Ocean, friendly staff, from Champions Tees not too short!

Only the high price (200 EUR pp) is a star deduction. But a very nice golf day!

Translated by Google.

golf-fun 29 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top!

Very nice place! From the back tees absolutely a challenge as so often there is a little wind!
Depending on the season is a Cart highly recommended, although brand new trolleys are available.

We have felt really good!

Translated by Google.

kuefy 31 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice place, some short holes

A nice place, clean and as you would imagine a place. Some holes are a feast for the eyes. Gabs deduction for the bunker in which hardly was sand. We also had some holes on the sea massive headwind, which should be common there and is not comfortable with time.

Translated by Google.

Michi_HH 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Our house Place was good

We visited in September 2014 Mauritius. We were 4 times on our, attached to the hotel space, on the go. Although the course is shorter than 'normal' and flat, often violent wind makes it sporty interesting.

The greens we found very good, the fairways with the sleeping grass rather aggressive. A somewhat messy blow costs not only a fast 10% of the length but a good 40%.

The bunkers are unusually tight. At the bunker edges and under the palm trees there were quite a few areas that were designated as ground under repair.

The length of some trains make the Par 'easy' and then leave but also fast times an unexpected birdie chance.

The Lord should definitely play of blue, the lady of red, otherwise it gets boring.

Service was always friendly. Even the Book of away places worked out very well. The trolleys partially ripe for disposal.

The tournament mode curtailed the free games (unlimited golf) the hotel guests. But this is rather something that relates to the actual organization Hotel as the place. Therefore, still 4 stars.

Translated by Google.

Wolf.P. 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Location and good price

We played Le Paradis in February 2014. The place is very beautiful, often right on the water with "paradis view". Nevertheless, I would not play it a second time, as there are much better alternatives. The fairways were good, the greens not so, the Marshall we have seen only once in the round...

Translated by Google.

bodenma 16 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Paradis feeling

We played the square end of January 2014. The place was in a very good condition. Tees and greens were great. On the fairways you are dealing with a very blunt aggressive grass.

The place is rather flat and is located on a peninsula in front of the mountain Le Morne. The fairways run again along lagoons and white sand beach. The paradisiacal scenery is beautiful and makes up for some wayward shock.

The service and friendliness in the office and at the start were very good.

Conclusion: Beautiful place, but a bit too expensive for green fee players. In Mauritius there are better places for the same money.

Translated by Google.

Spassgolfer71 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great layout, unfortunately, poor condition of the fairways.

The course has a great layout directly on the Indian Ocean with spectacular views of the Le Morne and is very well playable despite plenty of water and more than 70 bunkers for all handicaps. Particularly along the paths of the sea are a dream and forget the bad shots and shop to enjoy. Greens and tees in top condition, but the fairways were very dry and covered with lichens, which the fun of the game but impaired. Cart-to-date equipped with GPS and electronic scorecard. Nevertheless, the place can be run well because it is flat and palm trees provide plenty of shade. The reception in the clubhouse was very nice and welcoming and the staff very helpful. Another small gripe is the restaurant, since only very, very few sandwiches are offered as food, which is probably that the golf course is part of a hotel.

Translated by Google.

ggp 68 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A challenging game with a lot of wind

The course has plenty of water and lots of sand. But the real challenge is the unpredictable wind certainly. The tea boxes and greens are in very good condition. The fairways sometimes slightly brown. The holes are 12,13,16,17,18 oceanfront scenic and challenging. All in all a great place with lots of tropical ambience.

Translated by Google.

jghamburg 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful golf course

Admittedly, it is rather one of the worse in Mauritius. However, it must be said that all courses have an extremely high standard in Mauritius. Thus, this course was really nice! The place was not easy, as the Indian Ocean proves to be extremely hungry ball in the wind. When we were there in April 2013, the greens were rewarded in great condition and the place by great views of the mountains and the sea.

Conclusion: Only the other places in Mauritius play and then, if there is still time Le Paradis also a nice alternative.

Translated by Google.

Heiduckenkönig 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the worse in Mauritius

We played almost all the places in Mauritius. This falls over the other places already very much on and is not worth the green fee. Also, the service leaves to be desired compared to other places very left. The price for the buggy no water and no Coolbox was included. The staff also did not feel as if absolutely green fee players welcome. Maybe it's something different when you are a guest of member hotels.

Translated by Google.

Harkort 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice game

We were there in May 2012 10 days Dinarobin and have played almost every day. Green fee was included in the hotel - but then they have compensated by over-priced carts. Very scenic location in the Morne Brabant with several holes that go right along the beach. We had also found a very good maintenance condition - must surely sometimes be difficult due to lack of water, to be maintained.

Translated by Google.

plechingerc 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Including a great place

We spend two weeks here (end of August - beginning of September 2010). The reviews can be confirmed if the fairways are not great, but not catastrophic (generally ok with brown / bald spots). If you do not take too seriously his golf vacation, you can (with specified from the clubhouse Better Place) play nice golf. The greens are in very good condition. Some tracks are reconditioned (# 12 Par 4 put on short par 3), which is not so nice. As space in our Hotel Beachcomber Paradis golf course right outside the door is fully inclusive, every day I play at least 9 holes, which is really nice. I still have not played other places, but this place is so far below German standards, but still makes a lot of joy. Green fees but about 50 Eur he would not be worth it, but it seems that you do not go out there without a corresponding hotel.

Translated by Google.

jack200106 22 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Promised too much

The name promises more than the court is able to keep. The restricted space beneath the rock "Le Morne" was certainly well used by the designer. Interrupt Many palms / accompany the fairways, bunkers are positioned wise (not only in defense of the greens, also huge patches of sand and seagrass vegetation including tree to separate fairways). Large pool of water and a small channel, it is the play twice to enrich the system before it goes to the last 12 to 18 cars that abound in the bay of which is 16 to designate as a signature hole. Here the waters of the bay has to be played on the tracks 13 and 16 from women, men and Champions tee. Unfortunately, the place in no very good care condition (status February 2010, which in November 2008 /, however, was not much better otherwise). From there, guests regularly playing was noted succinctly: "it has always been so." The grass on the fairways is simple with "poorly maintained" to title. It is dry to brown and burnt in many places so that it comes to bald spots. The fairways are watered too little and thus have many dry hard spots, certainly a tribute to the exposed location of the golf course. The greens are in order and are apparently a more attentive care. The helipad next to the green of the 14 is not just an asset of the system. The clubhouse is large enough, the service friendly and attentive. For a guest player has all the necessary facilities (pro shop, shower, Cart, Trolley's) are available. The driving range is a little on the small side and is adjacent to the first 200 meters of the 1, but only by palm trees and not through a fence / power disconnected. Tee times are required and must be observed.

Translated by Google.

Been to Paradis Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review