User Reviews

for Montecastillo Barceló Golf Club, Cádiz, Spain

4.0 of 5 stars31 Reviews

5 Stars:
12
4 Stars:
10
3 Stars:
7
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
2
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 31 from 31

Wiesbadener4Daddy 17 Reviews

Unfair treatment to non Hotel Guest

Golfcourse is almost booked over Barceló Hotel Guest. Greenfee Players outside the Hotel are not well seen. Greenfee Conditions 120 Euro per Player. Buggy for 48 Euros must be booked if a Tee Time prior to 12 pm is wished.
Conditions are somehow funny, since you can book Double Room with Breakfast directly at Barceló for around 100 Euro, and Greenfee is included. So, it is definitely not worthy to play the course for 120 Euro, even with a discount of 50% with Golfhaftet.
Golfcourse conditions is quite good. Nice layout, difficult to walk due to long distance between Greens and next Tee box.

Ilgo 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top space but noisy

We took a golf trip to Jerez from Seville last Friday. Unfortunately, our Barcelo Hotel booked our T-Time for a wrong day, which the secretariat courteously resolved. A new tee time was organized for us, even though everything was fully booked. We really liked the space and the state of maintenance and would immediately be worth 5 stars. We were disturbed by the penetrating noise of the nearby racetrack (-1 star). Our English flight partners had played the place the day before without any noise. They had also carried their bags and had regretted it from hole 13 onwards. Recommend everyone to take the buggy.
Tip: have a look at the Race Track Jerez calendar before you go.

Translated by Google.

golfstar 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just great

We are here for the second time. Top facility.
Fast greens, well-kept fairways and tees.
All ponds newly created Great service in the golf secretariat and in the hotel.
Food is very tasty and the selection is great.
We will be back.

Translated by Google.

mawi66 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A spacious great place

This place is best to use with a card due to the long distances between the holes. Then there are great holes with a beautiful view and the hole 18 closes this place. It is also great that you can play from 12 clock for free if you are a guest of the hotel Montecastillo and only paid the card. Recommended all around.

Translated by Google.

gernegolf 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great winter golf

Played a total of 6x over Christmas Holidays 2018. The greens for this season a dream! Easy to grip on approaches and fast / directional when putting.

It was the season also a dirty because dirty spots, or damage of carts on wet fairways.

Platzdesign top, a lot of variety, birdie chances or Wasserstrafschlag lie close to each other. Despite the hilly terrain, there is not a blind blow, but many elevated and fun tees.

Over the Christmas season, the adjacent racetrack was not used.

Yes, not quite perfect as in Vorkommentaren running and only limited "running" (we actually always - and gladly). Not necessarily because of the height differences. But especially towards the end of the round, the paths between the holes become very long. If you are surrounded by cart-flights, or traveling with cart-flight partners, you may suffer a bit of the flow of the game.

Translated by Google.

Eschenried 74 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place with engine noise

Have space at the end of March played. I came across the Internet on offer, that you as a hotel guest from 12.00 clock play for free. The associated resort is really the finest!
Excellent Mietschläger and also place are in top condition.
Beautiful haircuts, well-kept fairways and fast greens - just as you like it.
Annoyed, however, on the weekend, the nearby motorcycle racing track.
The noise of the engines is infernal in some places and takes hours.

Translated by Google.

cernaruka 54 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent place with weaknesses

Played 11/2018 after a week of rain. Fairways in places very wet (here you should stick GUR, so you do not sink in the dirt). The design of the place is very nice, interesting and varied holes. Uphill downhill, for Fußmarode only with buggy (but does not do much if you only drive on the way). Ball washer without towel, some not well-kept Roughs in green surroundings, in short here the perfection is missing. Greens wonderfully fast and in good condition. With a hotel package certainly worth a stay, but disturbs the noise of the racetrack, although the bird life is very beautiful.

Translated by Google.

phil2004 20 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just 4 stars, but still good ...!!!

For many years I wanted to go to Jerez! In the case of Montecastillo and Arcos it would have been better 10 years ago!
When we disassemble Montecastillo I found the following:
- 5 stars for the Nicklaus design and layout!
- 5 stars for service and friendliness
- 5 stars for the greens
- 4stars for the game flow without marshal
- 2stars for care and appearance (foreign grass, catastrophic haircuts, just on the first 9 holes!!!, fairways just on the first 9 badly maintained, some very weak bunker care !!!)
- 5 Stars (Plus) for the Barcelo Golf Hotel,
great room and great food at half board (not in the rating, only the place ever)!
So summarized for me 4 stars, at Toppflege and foreign grass distance again clearly 5 stars!
You can still visit Montecastillo (Car booking, very spacious) ...!

Translated by Google.

golfstar 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Darting greens

We (handicap 10 and 17) played the course ten times in the last week. Initially, we noticed slight optical deficits. The fairways looked spotty. But during the week, the Green Keeper worked very hard on the fayways, greens and bunkers. The condition has already improved within a few days. From a playful perspective, we really liked the place. The topography of the place was very interesting. It was possible to reach the green with two pairs of five lanes with the second blow.

The greens were very fast. We were told the value twelve meters. We did not like the additional green fee of 18 € per day, which has been charged since 1.1.2018. In connection with the obligation to take a buggy in the morning, incur not inconsiderable additional costs per day. Also, 9 € are quite a lot for an ordinary drawing trolley.
The staff in the golf secretariat as well as in the hotel was very nice and helpful.

Unfortunately, we had the misfortune that a larger group of beginners constantly played in front of us. This group did not speak etiquette and also makes no attempt to let us play. So we were constantly playing more than 5 1/2 hours for 18 holes.
In connection with the good hotel was but a very nice stay. We would definitely come again.

Translated by Google.

Thomasbalu 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Once Upon a time...

During our stay at the resort in January we played the course about 10 times.
This course was once European Tour Standard and host of the Volvo Masters.
You can still tell from the layout today. From the length he would be too short for today's tour players. From the condition unfortunately not even more tournament suitable. The construction ruins are limited (Except for the area of ​​the hotel complex).
The nearby circuit and the associated noise level was not a problem for us, but of course that is very subjective. But in detail:

Layout:
5 Stars. Mountain and valley train, water hazards, trees, haircuts 40 meters above level, tricky doglegs.. golfer heart what more do you want. For the 2nd Nine you have to play 2 gorges. On foot, this means: walking twice through the gorge. Especially in summer, a cart is almost obligatory here.

lengths:
4 stars. The modern Golf has overtaken the place. 2 longer par 4 (390 and 414 m) are simply not enough. What the charm of playing for us amateurs but does not detract.

Care condition:
2 stars. 50% of the fairway overgrown with green grass. In addition, 10 percent of Kleefelder, 10% rough on the fairways. The rest ranges from gray-brown stalks to bare earth. The rough very uneven. Simply neglected. Everything a little grubby and run-down (Ball Washer wastebasket etc) The bunker very uneven, from very good, to sandpit or concrete, all there.

Care condition greens:
4 stars. In contrast... The greens! Lightning fast, loyal and almost everyone in good shape. I still can not figure this discrepancy.
Maybe all Greenkeepers were free in December / January.

Gastronomy:
4 stars. All in all, too, the ravages of time gnaw at many corners. But quality and friendliness are right. If not on the self-imposed 5-star level.

My conclusion:
Really great potential, but probably it is more economical to continue the low-cost operation. When I'm back in the area, I play the course, just because of the spectacular tees.

Translated by Google.

Jefe33 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Everything fits

Partly great tracks, fast greens, almost perfect. And yet the place is eating something of its former reputation. Building sins next to the place forbid it to give 5 stars.

Translated by Google.

tw08 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

If I could...

... I would also forgive seven stars. We played the course on 31.03.2017 and were enthusiastic about the design of the square. Also the maintenance state is in a class of its own. The greens are very fast and absolutely linientreu. It is to be allowed to putt a treat on these.
A cart is more here than recommended because the distances between the individual tracks are very long and overall very a lot of altitude must be overcome.
We have 4 green fees and 2 buggies paid a package price of € 298, which we considered a bargain for this great place.

Translated by Google.

Hobbygolfer 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

But nice sound

End of January Place in top condition.
Small disadvantage if one wants to run what is going but is effort, there are tee times until 11.30. Previously only with cart.
Price performance Sensational.
The only drawback to the 2.9 holes incredible sound due to adjacent to the golf course racetrack.
Otherwise, always happy

Translated by Google.

Tio Pepe 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hotel and golf course great!

The hotel is very good! The staff is extremely courteous, the breakfast and dinner varied and very tasty. The drink prices are really moderate.
We have the golf course maintained to be extremely nice and felt mid-October 2016th The holes are varied and demanding. Golf is really more sport: running on hard - but is absolutely doable! A buggy should really not be.

Translated by Google.

fairwayflitzer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top maintained and really exciting

The greens fast and the fairways neatly mowed without dry patches: Despite a fairly hot summer of course the end of August was in excellent condition! That's saying something in Andalusia.
Sure, the place is hard to run, yet we have seen repeatedly flights, carrying her golf bag. It is advisable to pre-book a buggy.
The crowd at the hotel was lifted - no raucous Englishman how anybody wrote previously.
From the hotel we can only report the best: very excellent staff, super-friendly and varied cuisine / buffet with show cooking. It was completely overhauled year only way to a good and redecorated.
A very relaxing holiday, as well as the racetrack has been used only on a Sunday for two hours.

Translated by Google.

dehnemark 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

An ambiguous impression

In this square already events on the European Tour were played, accordingly, it is quite a Champions Course. Unfortunately, trying to be the current crisis Lord by selling very cheap golf packages and then compensate by fees the balance here. This place is de facto not to run! Distances between individual holes is longer than the tracks themselves, to come stately height differences. Therefore, one may the required € 48 understood as classic rip-off for a buggy quite. Nonetheless, the individual tracks are really nice and offer some great discounts down from high above the fairway. However disturbing doing very well, the adjacent track, take the really any day noisy racing cars or motorcycles and to get to individual tracks very close.

Translated by Google.

Toms 19 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good place but

EUR 48,00 for a buggy are exaggerated.
The long lines of communication make it seem possible.

Course condition was decent, at 3 the water obstacle will be renewed right of the green, but that does not affect the game.

Translated by Google.

Conny58 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good design - low maintenance state

The place has certainly seen better days. Jack Nicklaus has done a good job and a specially built on the second nine challenging golf course. But by no means the equivalent of state care. The fairways were far the worst we have played in Andalucia this year. The exhibit reductions were partly not mowed and around the greens it looked partly terrible. Unfortunately, many undisciplined players have contributed by its conduct to the mäßgen overall impression. With the drive buggies just off the green border and in wet turf, should really be a no go but since no Marshall far and wide...
Conclusion: Too bad, we had expected more.

Translated by Google.

Robert0903 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Gladly again

For my wife and me was a week from 01.01.2016 to 01.08.2016 just awesome! Hotel grounds were nice, room cozy with views from the rooms on the golf course.
The staff very polite and courteous, even in the golf shop and the Caddy master very nice and friendly.
Golf course for us very demanding, and we have gone three times with carry bag and have found that it is much more relaxed with golf cart. Although quite good walk, but the paths and slopes between the discounts are still quite exhausting.
Condition due to the weather quite damp from the golf course, but still playing very well. Pinpositiionen be changed constantly, what the game can also be quite varied.
Conclusion: a perfect holiday week and we'll be back for sure!

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 354 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Challenges and lots of activity

The facility is located close to the motorway between Jerez and Arcos (from time to time are in "non-race days" times loud engines heard) right next to the racetrack of Jerez in the resort complex of the hotel complex Barcelo. Here the construction is not yet all ready built, or stopped, but that does not match the principle. The court presented itself to us on 24.9. in a lush green and in an excellent state of maintenance. The tracks are laid out quite presentable and crisp. There are 3-4 elevated tees with beautiful outlook and strong Carry lengths over abysses the higher HC likely present some challenges. Otherwise, the fairways are mostly open and with a strategic game you can also take the water hazards and well placed bunkers out of the game. We had a week before a starting time via e-mail (online booking is indeed offered, but does not work) reserved for 14:30 clock and that was a good thing. The plant has well received. Started is every 10 minutes in four flights. Playing with carts seem to be mandatory, and is also useful in the slightly hilly course and some longer routes between haircuts. As a non-hotel guest you pay to be green fee at the Caddy Master at the clubhouse office down next to the restaurant. The green fee was moderate and reasonable in our case 120 € for 2 players with Cart. We can always recommend a round here!

Translated by Google.

Golfmarquis 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just do not run

The course is 6200 meters long to play and still about 5 km runs in addition to addition and quite extreme uphill and downhill.

Invested in a cart because the last holes to get extremely out of breath.

Only the greens are very good, the rest leaves something to be übrig-

Partial extremely wet by constant watering and the fairways were better.

Translated by Google.

Torterminator 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

We were all very happy 8 golfers, breakfast left nothing to be desired, the dinner buffet is also OK for this price, overall impression very good price-performance ratio!

The place is exactly as described and if you were once on the track, the engine noise is no longer here!

Translated by Google.

megan134 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not only for mere golf hotel into!

This hotel is the worst 5 star hotel, where we have ever used. Raucous drunken Englishman lives in groups anywhere! The food one Katrastrophe! Service standard. The place is very nice and in good condition. Too bad this is so bad the adjacent house.
We were there October 13 and will again enter this hotel in any case. Too bad about the beautiful place!

Translated by Google.

Hubi 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Too bad, could be better

A huge pond at hole 10 is under construction. We played the course on 14/09/13. Greens and fairways in good condition, the golf desk is a disaster service on 19 Hole does not exist, after 10 minutes we went, the place is only worthwhile if you're just in the vicinity, around it has long been everything a dormant construction site, the noise of the circuit is simple nut corrosive, shame potential is there but not used.

Translated by Google.

Player77 19 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top Golf Course

Very beautiful and challenging Golf Course by J. Nicklaus. Depending on the skill level can be played on different teas.

Translated by Google.

brunobrodt 34 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Has its best years behind it

Have played the course in September. Sure of the layout of one of the best courses in the region, very nice view of the many discounts, but unfortunately we see ruined buildings and Baukrähne that disfigure the landscape. The place was partially hyperhydrated, you had to be careful that you do not slip with the e-cart and tip over. The clubhouse is closed, if you want something to eat or drink in the hotel you have to. Was safe once highly recommended who will not interfere in the ruins and Krähnen continue to find the place well.

Translated by Google.

golfisti 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top site of Andalusia

The pro shop is indeed almost impossible to find the toilets or changing from the last century But the place is world class and is the only entscheident, Great location, really play with buggy (especially with GPS 7 euros) We will definitely come again

Translated by Google.

GCB 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

An experience

End of February 2012 have played here. Although the fairways are still mostly brown - it is, however, that the Bermuda grass just is not growing. This takes a little more and needs higher temperatures. The greens were in great shape!
The course has a great layout and offers something for every golfer. Often beautiful views in the area. The distances between the holes are often very long and exhausting - a stroller is highly recommended.
Restaurant offered good quality at a fair price!

Translated by Google.

Helmut Binder 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

SO LOUSY GOLF COURSE

We played the course in February 2012. The fairways were all brown. No grass and dotted with Kaninchenkot. In addition, the animals have dug numerous holes throughout the course. The entire system is in a sorry state!
Around the square just ruined buildings and cranes and scrub and dirt are seen.
Shame about the very, very expensive green fee. I do not come back!

Translated by Google.

golffreund 118 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Must!

've Played regularly for 4 years this place. Beautiful grounds, very well maintained, challenging course, little interference by Fairway Villas at the edge even though the development is increasing and few tourists who want to try it sometimes... The individual holes are tw far away from each other so buggy very reasonable (pre-booking and ensure that the GPS system works, works when it's great! That). Restaurant is to forget most helpful for a drink on the terrace. So pack up and go sandwiches!

Translated by Google.

@Alexander@ 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Super great place

Played on 03.11.2010, the most beautiful place I have played till now. Great design, beautifully maintained, super fast greens and also the location and the extra-class clubhouse. Dan will place play again for sure. Buggy recommended because very spacious. Have fun!

Translated by Google.

Been to Montecastillo Barceló Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review