User Reviews

for Golf Club Grado, Grado, Italy

3.8 of 5 stars38 Reviews

5 Stars:
9
4 Stars:
19
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
6
1 star:
1
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 38 from 38

GolfingSteve 1 Review

Great setting and a course that will certainly improve.

Located on the shores of the Adriatic, which is a joy, there is a wild feel about this course and a timeless quality that makes for a links-style atmosphere to the place. And do not believe it is any pushover because it most certainly is not, right from the opening hole: a 171 metre par three over a very large lake to an island green reminiscent of the Players Stadium Course at Sawgrass, Florida.
With fairways snaking through numerous water hazards and thick rough all sort of options lie before us, and sometimes a medium iron or rescue club off the tee will pay far bigger dividends than driver. Stand out holes include the 12th, a 517 metre par five into another island green and the superb 17th, a shorter par five of 470 metres with water all the way down the left and a good deal of sand and jungle on the right.
And having plotted your way round- this is no course for beginners- make sure you enjoy some of the magnificent food available in the clubhouse restaurant. The greens still need work doing on them as do some of the fairways, but overall this is definitely a four-star experience. In time it could get even better.

Markus von Steiermark 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Need for improvement

True about the duck manure, the course needs improvement in every aspect from tee to green.
Flowers and herbs on the tee, fairways very soft after little rain the previous day, otherwise acceptable but sparsely overgrown, lots of intermittent water in the second cut.
Too many small bald spots on the bumpy greens, making it restless.
The price is probably also determined by the costs, at 80 euros, this place certainly has friends.

Translated by Google.

Response from Marko Prekic, Club Manager at Golf Club Grado
August 7, 2023

Dear Markus, Thank you for your review. The golf course neighbours to a natural reserve so there are periods where there are more ducks and geese and where there are less. We know it is a nuisance… More

Dear Markus,

Thank you for your review.
The golf course neighbours to a natural reserve so there are periods where there are more ducks and geese and where there are less. We know it is a nuisance but we cannot do anything about it. We just have to remember that we are guests in their house.
It is not true that there was a little rain the day before as you could see the water was overflowing the lakes and canals. Actually it rained every single day in August for a total of 91 milimeters (only on Friday (4.8.), almost 40 ml).
The bumpy greens are a result of high temperatures during the night and high humidity and in Italy it is forbidden to use pesticides on golf courses so summer is not the best condition for greens. Actually July and beginning of August are maybe toughest months with November for golf maintenance.
I am not trying to make any excuses as there really are none, just trying to explain.
Oh, and yes... we have a lot of friends which like the location, the people, the course, the food... that's it.
Thank you once again.
Best regards
Marko Prekic

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A real idyll

The course in Grado, which we have known and played for years, divides the minds because of the legacies of the various geese, swans and ducks. We are of the animal-loving kind that doesn't see this as really disturbing, because the many young animals are incredibly cute at this time of year. And the wheels of the trolley and the soles of the shoes can be cleaned afterwards. In addition, the goose droppings allow "better laying"...
In terms of golf, the course is very versatile: This time, after the excessive rainfall, all the water hazards were packed, some new ones were added and the ball was lost accordingly. There was also a fair amount of wind on a few days, in short, the course showed its teeth. By the way, the signature hole (PAR3 with island green) has been set to di 1 again, which the Garmin devices don't know yet...
We agree with the outpost: Good care, very friendly secretariat, accommodating green fee policy (ladies day, seniors day, fairway to hotel, discounts for various Gradeser hotels). And the Al Casone is top-notch anyway, the only downside is that the service slacks off on days with more than 10 guests.

Translated by Google.

ManKom 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Tip Top

I played the course on 05/19/2023 and can not understand the rating of my outpost. Rarely played such a well-maintained course, as some Austrian clubs can learn a lesson. Greens as fast as an arrow, fairways top and even the bunkers were all recalculated by the greenkeeper in between. The wind and the water hazards that almost always come into play do not make the course easy. Except for the greylag goose droppings, it is also pretty idyllic to watch all the animals! Reception was also great, my partner was also deducted 10% from the green fee even though she does not have a Strawberry Tour card. In addition, €80 is a pretty fair price, comparatively cheap compared to Austrian prices.

Translated by Google.

Hans-Juergen.Klees@t-online.de 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not worth the money!

Official green fee 80,-, a cart 45,-. The place is not worth this money!
The entire golf course is littered with thousands of geese and ducks, with muskrats jumping across the course. The fairways are already "second cut" elsewhere. The greens are not on track because there is too much foreign grass and not well mowed.
I played on April 27th and 28th and gave up the remaining 2 times.

Translated by Google.

amical 113 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice….

So the reception was very friendly. The lady spoke Italian, German and English. The place was very good by Italian standards. The greens were also very neat all in all a recommendable golf club

Translated by Google.

g&c 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Pleasant, relaxed golfing

As guests in the affiliated Tenuta Primero resort, we could walk the few meters from our deluxe cottage with the bags to the golf course. Green fee price €60 for residents. That was a relaxing journey. The place made a neat impression, even the bunkers around the green. That is rather a rarity in the Italian courses. We played two very relaxed and nice rounds of golf on Friday and Saturday morning. Without waiting or pressure from behind. Beautiful and directional greens, relatively short par 4 even allowed a pleasing score. A few balls should be in the bag, because the driving zones are narrow in places and water hazards require a few ball donations. Especially in the summer months, when the heat was over 30 degrees, it was unusual and not very customer-friendly that the earliest possible start time for guests was 8:00 a.m.
The food in the clubhouse was really good and inexpensive. We'll be back for sure.

Translated by Google.

ösiandi 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Where the wind blows

We played the course on Easter Sunday afternoon and were actually alone on the course despite the blue sky and sunshine. Maybe it was the wind. Grado and the golf course are just by the sea. We always had a very stiff but warm wind in our face. Luckily on this day mostly from the front or the back. Due to the wind 3 club lengths more or less were often challenging.

With a green fee of €80, the facility is certainly not one of the cheapest in the region. The first impression of the driving range was therefore disappointing. There is room for improvement here. Nonetheless, it serves its purpose.

But the golf course met our expectations. A great facility. Visually more of a links course. Hardly any trees and absolutely flat. Water is involved in many ways. Especially with the strong wind. A wide variety of birds (geese and ducks with chicks, herons and all kinds of other seabirds) could be observed on all courses. Some would complain about the bird droppings on the fairways and greens. This didn't bother us and didn't hinder us either. The greens were normal fast, in really good condition. Unfortunately not always true to the line. We missed a few balls.

The information regarding theft described in other reviews cannot be confirmed. But it is conceivable that this could happen.
Unfortunately, we cannot rate the gastronomy. We would have liked to have tested these as well. But we would have been the only guests in the restaurant at 6pm. So we preferred to look for another alternative.

All in all a facility that we will visit again in the coming years.

Translated by Google.

Golfspielerin 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice golf course- BUT watch out for thieves at hole 7-9

A very nice golf course.
But please watch out for thieves who come out of the bushes on the lagoon side and want to steal valuables. Very frightening. There is a small warning sign at hole 8 and today on November 10th, 2021 we were almost robbed. Never leave the golf cart unattended.

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good complete package

Our pre-poster must have had bad luck, except for the goose droppings, we felt the place completely different: impeccable organization, everyone friendly, great gastronomy.
And lots of cute young animals on the square, young swans, young ducks, nutrias, turtles, even deer! Anyone who cannot cope with it is out of place in Grado. And the course is always challenging...

Translated by Google.

charly44 73 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Loveless

Unfortunately, I can only give 2 stars, apparently the word has not got around that a golf course does not only consist of fairways and greens. Reception unfriendly, signalization not available, outside the fairway there is no maintenance so you won't find a ball. Hundreds of geese shit the place, is more than annoying.
The only positive thing is the new e-car. Actually, I've never played such a careless and unkempt course.

Translated by Google.

puschtrapaar 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf in May

We (my wife and I) were in Grado over Pentecost and played 18 holes.
Fairways and greens were very well maintained. Of course there is goose droppings on the square. But hello - where else can you see so many beautiful birds up close on the square? We golfers have not booked nature for us and should respect the animals' habitat. So I don't understand some of the comments here.

The food in the restaurant was great!
The service was also very friendly and accommodating. Everyone seemed happy that it was finally starting again.

So we'll be back.

Translated by Google.

Response from Marko Prekic, Director of Golf Club Grado
May 26, 2021

Thank you very much for your kind review, we do our best to clean up what the birds leave behind but in rare occasions it is not possible. Now that the season has finally started we will have a few… More

Thank you very much for your kind review, we do our best to clean up what the birds leave behind but in rare occasions it is not possible.

Now that the season has finally started we will have a few more workers on the golf course and this will help us to maintain the golf course as clean as possible.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit in Grado.

Hope to see you soon again

Thank you

Marko Prekic
Golf Operations / TeeTimes / ProShop

Oberdrautaler 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Place top, rest folp

Place well cared for like seldom, that's it.
Restaurant manager was visibly overwhelmed with a celebration and took out his displeasure on the guests. That was more than unfriendly, how one enters the outside area of the restaurant without knowing and not knowing and immediately being hissed at... Apart from that, the gentleman apparently does not need to wear the MNS protection in such a way that it also has an effect! In the pro shop conditional friendliness, but very passive behavior and in response to questions it was generally argued that everything was different in times of Corona.
We were a 4-flight and we will now avoid Grado golf-wise, but continue to honor this beautiful city and enjoy the excellent cuisine. There are enough golf courses nearby with much friendlier staff, so considering the prices we don't have to accept such derogatory treatment there.

Translated by Google.

Günne 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

Did the place on 22.10.2019 played. The greens were in great condition and not easy or boring. The fairways are well maintained. The place is not so long and very shallow. Some of our balls have swallowed that much water. We had a sunny 24-day dream day in late October. Come again. The clubhouse is also worth seeing.

Translated by Google.

golfnarr1 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Join us fully in the previous review

Space has become increasingly positive, have played here for many years. Fairways and greens in very good condition. Always a challenge.

Translated by Google.

ringore 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Re. Za

I read the reviews, well. We have been at least 1 x in Tnenuta Primera for 16 years and play golf every day, have gone through all the highs and lows, but okay the geese they are there, you can not do anything about it. The course has developed into a positive in recent years and is a challenge in every skill level. We and our friends can only recommend the place. Also price performance is. OK. The cart could be a little cheaper. This time it will not work but next year like.
Marco thumbs up.
Renate Z.

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Play the course

... in strong wind. Anyone who notes here that the place may be a bit boring or not too heavy may like to try it in strong winds. You will be surprised what the place then "can" ... We are here regularly and are happy about the good condition of the place, almost no duckfuck this time, the nice reception and the first-class. Restaurant. Only the here often mentioned pro is still laughing in the basement and the range is very poor.

Translated by Google.

RobSa 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic location, good place

One thing first: who bothers duckfuck, may not go - even on the greens were numerous piles to find. BUT - you get used to it. Nature just! Otherwise relatively well maintained, demanding, but not extremely difficult to play. Even in high heat relatively green and great location next to the lagoon of Grado. Be sure to use a cart - or only play 9 holes and the abbreviated version - the distances are otherwise great. Nice explanation in the office (in acceptable English). Very good food.
Gladly again, if I'm in the area.

Translated by Google.

Response from Marko Prekic, Director of Golf Club Grado
August 21, 2018

Dea RoBsa, thank you for your review. We understand the nuisance caused by the geese and we try to do what we can but there is a natural reserve near the golf course and as you can imagine the geese… More

Dea RoBsa, thank you for your review.
We understand the nuisance caused by the geese and we try to do what we can but there is a natural reserve near the golf course and as you can imagine the geese come and go.
Anyway we hope you enjoyed your round of golf and your food.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Small weaknesses

... but otherwise always gladly. It is the overall package, which makes Grado so recommendable: Beautiful place, good organization and very good food. The place is not exhausting, you can well scorn, no malice, only the necessary striking length on some holes can make difficulties. And this time is pleasing: almost no goose in the square. We keep coming back...

Translated by Google.

MikWei 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

OK

The problem with the goose is unfortunately correct, but the place is not playable.
However, a high precision is required for long strokes. If you do not at first find the first cut you can hardly find his balls again, if they are not lost anyway in the abundant murky water.
A slightly fashionable scent because of the many brackish water is over large parts of the plant, but is not dramatic.
Fairways and above all the bunkers are in no good condition. The greens are not a feast for the eye and also not fast, but nevertheless quite good to putt.
Despite two island greens, the playgrounds in total are relatively unimaginative.
Because of the suboptimal condition, there was a 10% discount.

Translated by Google.

JoGl 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fresh goose in quantities

Have played several times in the past years, but just as much geese as ever before - with their ambitions. Supposedly the geese are already there all year because because nature conservation area. Brooding obviously also because we have also seen small geese. It was rather a slalom race, because not only at the fairway, but also at the tee-off and sometimes even at the green lay gesekot. With golfing games, there is nothing to do, so soon I will not come back. Nature conservation or not, then you should return the golf course of nature.

Translated by Google.

JT STA 27 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Were it not for the many gray geese

We've been playing the place now for several years. Particularly challenging is the long alleys and the many water hazards.
If not from year to year increasing population of gray geese would be a nice place, spread their feces throughout the course and forcing a permanent slalom run. Here the operator should consider how it can deal with this situation.

Translated by Google.

Response from Marko Prekic, Director of Golf Club Grado
April 25, 2017

Dear JT STA, Thank you for your review of our golf course. We are very aware of the problem that we have with the geese. It's a serious problem that we are trying to solve. Thank you once again… More

Dear JT STA,

Thank you for your review of our golf course.

We are very aware of the problem that we have with the geese. It's a serious problem that we are trying to solve.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you soon on our golf course... and without the gray geese.

Best regards
Marko Prekic

Augustiner 69 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Lagoon Golf

We had previously played already often there, the place has improved. The smell of the sewage treatment plant next to was gone. Whether that is sustainable remains to be seen. The site has several locations (plugged Blue) in repairs, which did not bother us. The wildlife is phenomenal, but this too much bird droppings leads (feathers and feces).
Next to me sat the tee a nutria. The coypu swimming around quite Grado in the channels. The service at the reception, bar and restaurant was very good and friendly with a good price / performance ratio. This is the proud Italy not always so.
It has, if one is on the accompanying campsite, a green fee discount. Witzig by bicycle to golf.
The Filght bunched up back there before us played 2 Italian couples and members. The women is clear duration phoned. But they skipped then even a hole to air make for calls. The but of about 60 J. old gentleman on the tee-tee hole 16 even 5 min telephoned, unusually for Italy not connoisseurs. He was visibly uncomfortable but we wait to see on the bench next to him to finish. Ars vivendi halt.
The island green is now set as a high light at the end of the hole 18 and a bit out of the river. Several elderly ladies complaining because the 90 m? Carry not create and therefore the hole can not play as a par 3. The then simply took the old unmarked tee. From late afternoon the Mosquitos, no wonder come with so much water around drum. Also at the campsite. The was then sprayed thank goodness. Everyone contributes Autan with you. The spoil much. Just so no 4 stars. Nevertheless, we will be back!

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent

The course is from one year to better care, we can only praise. Heuer due to the rains, all the water obstacles are over full and little more developed. This one is really required. But you will be compensated: droll fauna of place and this year really on star level: The restaurant. We have throughout Grado (and we have eagerly examined!) Nowhere found such quality at this price-performance ratio.

Translated by Google.

golfrookie 42 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

All good

In December 2015, we have recorded the space. generally the place was well kept. The fairways and greens were in pristine condition. The place is not easy to play and devouring some balls. The staff at the restaurant and pro shop very friendly. the pro is a boorish Klotz and has no manners; at least not with non-Italians.

Translated by Google.

kalle 709 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Water Features

Grado is not an easy golf course!
A lot of water comes into play!
The maintenance was OK, the layout it is! A good golf course!

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Every year a bit better

Practically every year we play a few days in Grado. And you really experienced a small increase from year to year. This time the place was very well maintained despite miserable heat, the reception on the ball and the restaurant is a hit anyway. Unique Grado is particularly attractive because of the fauna, in the spring because of all the pups (coypu, swans, ducks, geese, turtles). And the many turnovers because of the treacherous water hazards you verschmerzt also...

Translated by Google.

cernaruka 56 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic golf course

The site is located in a lagoon and is therefore safe for Central Europeans something special, the greens roll true, the condition of the fairways is very good, coypu and the rich bird life are another asset, the restaurant is very good, the ladies at the reception perfect, Odor I could only make short at a single point, the birds must stop once and do not have any public toilets. So love again or even play more often!

Translated by Google.

anton-fritz 150 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

All good things come in threes!

We have been playing here for the third time and the first time to experience no unpleasant odor:-) Apparently there is a wind direction (that also have friends experienced at any other time played here), which from wherever, a foul smell a part of the course is blowing. Some holes are really great and interesting to play. But all good things come in three. We will not come back.

Translated by Google.

michaelkurt 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

After 10 years

In recent 3Jahren a marked increase in the overall quality of the course is to feel just so on. The Secretariat is well prepared and we feel very comfortable. Thank you for the long good care, your Koflers

Translated by Google.

hansiburli 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf fun in the lagoon

A long course with very varied tracks. Not easy to play, partly narrow haircuts, well-defended bunker or water greens. Only the four island greens are amazing and require deliberate and tactical game. When you get to the greens, nothing is a given also: accurate putting is required. We were there the end of April and the place was bursting with green and was very well maintained. However, you are not alone and must fairwais share with many water birds, but that's also natural. Our dog found the place in any case totally exciting. A Wermuth drop it there, however: The restaurant is the very last. The drinks range is ok, but we we had to pay 14 euros for a simple tomato soup, was a pure rip-off. Too bad, the otherwise I would have given the place 5 stars.

Translated by Google.

Marisa 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top Golf Course

Very nice, well-designed golf course. Much of reeds and water (enough balls mitnehmem!) But still to play fair. Probably not recommended for beginners because there are too many play around water hazards.
Only 4 stars from me because the staff in the Secretariat's not really nice to recommend no interest to a hotel and a young lady who is only interested in her gum in the mouth.
Regardless, the place is great and the pasta perfectly afterwards!

Translated by Google.

volleytommy 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place with bird cattle

Have played the course in spring 2012 and were quite happy with it. Place was quite challenging because water comes into play on almost all holes. Staff was friendly and very hard: we had a tee time booked but then turned out only spot that was scheduled at the same time a tournament. BUT the staff then pushed in between us and we were allowed to play yet.
The only drawback: Because of the water it has many ducks, geese and other waterfowl that reside on the court and leave their mark there that are not very tasty ... (!)

Translated by Google.

Eisi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place with smears

Had several rounds at the end of July 2012 - despite intense heat - played very well maintained 18-hole course. Fairways and greens were great. Disadvantage: sprinklers begin to rain without warning. At 37 degrees not unpleasant, but sometimes very disturbing. Bunkers were tw. beinhart. The place is altogether a challenge and not for beginners. Plenty of water and reeds. Warning: Do not book the 9-hole executive course. 15 EUR to ask for this field is a joke. About partner hotels for EUR 40, - to buy a voucher for the large square hole or 18-2x9-hole. Next Warning: In golf restaurant one looks in vain snacks. Eating there is only a large scale and must not be the same after a round of golf. Conclusion: For experienced golfers the place because of its lagoon location is certainly an experience.

Translated by Google.

ingli 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not for beginners

A beautifully situated and well kept place. The staff is friendly and pleasant atmosphere. The place is beautifully embedded in the landscape. The greens and fairways are in good condition. The many lakes and lagoon this place is very hard to play for beginners and tend not to recommend, otherwise this place is for all Divisions challenging and can therefore only be recommended.

Translated by Google.

PS 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Location status

I've played in the past 5 years there. In the meantime, the place was not well maintained which is probably also be traced back to changing responsibilities and a catastrophic storm in 2009. But this has changed very positive in 2o11.
The service at Al casone is sometimes a bit hesitant.
PS

Translated by Google.

Dutzel 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

State Grado Golf Course

We were with a small group of 4 years ago. According to the unanimous opinion of the court was then in a very unkempt condition.

Mitgolfer love, write me your opinion (info @ amk-behrendt. Com) because we love once again want to go to Grado, thank you

Translated by Google.

franz.laut 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful experience

The golf course is well maintained and the staff is very friendly.
Outstanding service in the suite and club.
Rooms spacious, clean, overlooking the MArine.
The price is cheap and the food top class.
We were there from 19 to 22 October 2010 and look forward to the next time.

Translated by Google.

Been to Golf Club Grado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review