User Reviews

for Chaparral Golf Club, Málaga, Spain

3.9 of 5 stars42 Reviews

5 Stars:
14
4 Stars:
14
3 Stars:
10
2 Stars:
3
1 star:
1
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 42 from 42

Czexican 133 Reviews

Great layout, horrible quality

Spain golf vacation 1/5. Coming to Costa del Sol to play some good courses. Always heard about Chaparral GC, like one of the best, what a bad surprise for me, layout nice would give 5 stars immediately, however quality very poor. Its easy to find all courses here with navigation, so we arrived on time to quite a big parking lot, fast check in and waited for our tee time. We hit the training areas first, driving range is ok for beginners, you are hitting of the mat. My first exclamation mark pop up when I seen practice putting green, that was something awful, turf with bad spots. So we start to play, as I said I loved layout so much. Tee boxes were uneven with almost no grass at many of them, fairways were probably the best parts there. Greens were each with different speed, many had aerification spots, many of them mold, only some of them were good. Once we reached 9th and 10th hole we had nice view on construction next to holes and mouth full of dust. I understand they cannot stop it, but the price we were charged does not show any sorry discount for that. So for me this course is no go till all this is finished and quality will go up again. All the par 3 there are very nice holes, would say signature holes for me.

Andrew Petersson 1 Review

A must in Costa del Sol

Fantastic golf course with great views. Very friendly and helpful staff as well as a valuable pro shop. A must for any player!

Karenrg 1 Review

Golf in Costa del Sol

A good course, up high surrounded by a pine forest. Great food, good value and fantastic staff.

wllmpettersson 1 Review

Coming back to Chaparral

We played last Summer and coming back this year, we were positivly surprised. Clean, well maintained and overall a very nice day!

Michael White 1 Review

Fantastic location

Today we played Chaparral. Very nice staff. The course was fun to play with nice view.

AndrewChris 1 Review

A paradise in Costa del Sol

I have play the golf course today 28.03.2018 and it looks fantastic with great views, relax and incredible weather. Staff were helpful and nice.

Artur D. 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place

Beautiful course, various building works, visible on some of the courses outside the course, but not so disruptive that you would be playing on a construction site. The courses go through beautiful landscapes and the whole game, including the driving ranch, is perfectly organized. I booked online weeks ago and was repeatedly reminded of my appointment by email, asking if I needed anything else for my game. The course is as described by the previous speakers.
At the end of April 24, fairways and greens were in very good condition.
We'll definitely play again.

Translated by Google.

C.S. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

It used to be a beautiful golf course

We have played the course several times over the last few years because it is very varied, well maintained and set in beautiful nature.
Of course, it is still varied and well maintained. But at the moment it's a horror to play there.
The construction work around the square is crazy. There are only a few fairways left that are not affected by this. And the earth movements that you see everywhere bode ill for the future.
The construction noise on some railways is already unbearable.
Playing on a construction site isn't really nice.
It's a terrible shame that this place is also being completely developed. It's a shame about the beautiful nature. We can only hope that the houses/apartments will at least be sold and that ruins will not be created.
Very nice, time-honored clubhouse.

Translated by Google.

Hessengolfer 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Really nice!

The range alone suggests something extraordinary... the course is extremely varied, well maintained with a landscape that almost only has ups and downs. Exciting! Halfway on the 8th came just in time! The only reason I don't want to give full marks is because the place challenges first-time visitors' luck due to a few blind holes and the restaurant was very full and therefore the service took an extremely long time. But 4 stars are absolutely appropriate! I will gladly come again!

Translated by Google.

Oldive 68 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful place, excellent condition

A very hilly landscape that makes the buggy compulsory for mere mortals. Virtually every hole is different and there are a great many that could be considered signature. Partly blind haircuts that make the course unsuitable for beginners. Pretty outskirts. The condition was the best of 14 played courses in March 2023! The only annoyance: 10 of 18 lanes were buggy on path only. You shouldn't have a mobility problem... Hence a star deduction. Very friendly staff.

Translated by Google.

Jürgen1946 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A great development

We have been playing this course once a year for several years. It is very gratifying how this place has developed - that is, improved. (Even if the arduous journey and the intensive construction work on the outskirts never ends) Caddy master and pro shop are exceptionally friendly. The course is in really good condition and the new halfway house shows an effort to keep evolving!!

Translated by Google.

KHZ 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

No place for players who prefer a fast paced game.

The place is always a challenge and overall in good condition. There would be nothing to complain about if it weren't for the endless waiting times at the tee. At tee 10 we gave up after 3 hours of play. Although a maximum playing time of 4:30 hours is printed on the score card, we were told in the pro shop that a playing time of 2 1/2 to 3 hours was intended for 9 holes. So the course is not for golfers who prefer a fast game.

Translated by Google.

Axl69 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful and varied

Overall, a fair and easy to play place. With HCP 18 and 28, we had the feeling that we could cope with the pitch, we can't blame it on the pitch if it didn't work.
Overall, you should be able to assess the uphill and downhill game well. We don't share the confusion of previous reviewers, everything that awaits you is logically recognizable, even if you can't see it.
Only the 16 and the 17 are either luck or you should know the place well and be able to play very precisely. Impressive, when the ball lands in the middle of the green and rolls down 20 meters, you'd think you were backspinning like a pro.
The course is walkable in terms of terrain if you are fit, however the steep paved sections with soft spikes are quite slippery.
Condition not perfect, but neat, the greens are rather slow and therefore they take rather little break.
Conclusion: Worthwhile, we'll be back.

Translated by Google.

thola 168 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A bit of a cumbersome experience at the moment

My "pre-evaluator" expresses his displeasure with the previous reviews of this place. I suspect that he played the course for the first time and can understand a little his displeasure.

But! El Chaparral is hardly love at first sight. You have to know this place in order to love it. There are too many blind spots, too many corners influenced by the wind, too many traps in which the balls simply run away. Once you know these places, the design of the place (at least for me) is extremely exciting. Every time I'm in the area I play the course with more or less joy...

At the moment, getting there is particularly difficult. As a result of construction work you have to fight your way up in a murderous zigzag. The car is then breaded (covered with dust) and is looking forward to a visit to the car wash. On the course itself you only notice something of this construction work on green 9 and tee 10, which has little to do with the golf course itself.

The fairways are just about okay, but in good company with many other clubs in the area. Water has apparently been scarce in recent months, so the grass is short and the soil is hard. On the other hand, the flow of the game is currently quite okay, as there are no four-in-one flight after four-in-one flight.

My recommendation: If you only stay in the area once and never again, you'd better look for another place. I definitely recommend a visit to all others.

By the way: I always go with a trolley. It is quite exhausting, but doable. And very soon they should also have e-trolleys in the club ;-)

Translated by Google.

drfritzmaier 265 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Incomprehensible!

The above ratings are incomprehensible to me after several hundred courses played:
Here, a golf course was pressed into a completely unsuitable area in order to increase the value of the urbanization.
Relaxed golf looks different. Cart indispensable!
The welcome and a few nice views, as well as the proximity to Malaga airport, were positive. If you also include the construction cranes, the dust and the noise, actually only 2 *.

Translated by Google.

HubertM. 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Demanding and well maintained

Once you have found your way there (construction site, detour, don't trust your GPS), all you have to do is enjoy a course that is great for the hilly landscape (buggy is highly recommended!) And is challenging for golfing, but fair. For our next trip here, he's at the top of the list! Unfortunately we had to do an absolute cold start because of the difficulties in getting there, but after two holes the tension subsided and we were thrilled. If you prefer "flat and easy", this is the wrong place.

Translated by Google.

peter CH 253 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hilly, difficult and bumpy.

An extremely hilly golf course that challenges you technically and tactically. failure and any dispersion are brutally punished. this place is hardly feasible on foot.

basically i like such places very much, but the state of the place was rather neglected, at best acceptable. the greens were very dull and bumpy and so hardly playable. for 90 € GF this is not acceptable. without these flaws it would be a 5 * place.

the greens are played blindly on two tracks. you have to run forward to know how far the shot is, where the flag is and whether the green is clear.

the 19th hole can be recommended from a culinary point of view.

Translated by Google.

Mue 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Demanding, hilly course with one drawback

Wonderful, not very easy place. Often tees well above the fairway or green. One drawback: the players: in the afternoon the greens resemble a crater landscape, as unfortunately too few players remove pitch marks at all.
And currently: ATTENTION: Note the directions in the mail, as normal access via GPS is blocked (construction site holiday homes). Paying attention too late gave us 30 difficult minutes.
The club's restaurant was very friendly, the food was very good.

All in all: more than worthwhile (if you know how to remove pitch marks)

Translated by Google.

golffreund 218 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Swiss made?

Thanks to Tigerline and thola for their reviews on Alhaurin, they made me rediscover Chaparral today instead, which didn't go well in my memory from 6 years ago. What a change - optically I often asked myself whether they ski here in winter and thought I was in Switzerland. Also and especially with regard to the condition of the course. Apparently the owners (still the same according to Starter) have made money. Today the course showed itself from the best side: perfect tees, perfect fairways and the grass type (?) Somewhat atypically slow greens. You shouldn't be scared: this course is playable, never unfair, even if it's not a ball field. A demanding course with large differences in height that have to be mastered up and down. A few blind strokes are included, but because of the very long connecting routes you should rent a cart anyway (was included in the GF for 59.- per person today (!), So you can drive up briefly and see how it goes on - and possibly 6 € in Invest the good but expensive birdie book. Here, too, there were unfortunately some holes with yellow markings on the blue tees, which often does not make much sense, because the drive is then a little too far and ends up in places that the very good course architect ensures In short, one of the best and most well-kept courses in the area. The converted 17 is one of the best holes on the Costa del Golf. Only the access is difficult, construction work is blocking the upper road from Mijas, so you have to come from Benalmadena Take the exit shortly before Cala de Mijas, which is NOT signposted to find the entrance, which then leads through a lot of construction activity.

Translated by Google.

CD 19 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hilly top course with well-designed holes

Played on 4.3.2020 -
Double-decker driving range, great putting green, almost everyone drives on the course with e-carts, so unfortunately little attention is paid to a problem-free route for trolleys.
Overall, the course is in top condition, the very good greens in the afternoon have been somewhat affected by the players' lack of repair work.
Very varied holes, beautifully integrated into the landscape, no easy back and forth. With the online Twilight tariff, great value for money!
A real recommendation!

Translated by Google.

Golf4fun 131 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Varied

Nice varied place. Care condition absolutely fine. The course offers some very nice views of the sea. Otherwise great in nature with lots of pine trees. Buggy recommended due to the height differences.

Translated by Google.

thola 168 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Well maintained

And once again Chaparral played. The place has survived the summer well. Visually, fairways and greens look almost perfect. If you take a closer look, you will notice that the greens are slightly green in color, but this does not really affect the game quality. Nevertheless, the nursing activities since the beginning of the year are paying off!

I have not been in such good shape for a long time, if at all, ever experienced it. Okay, if you are next to the fairways in the semi-rough or rough, this depends as always very treacherous. But just in this place is straight game anyway advantageous...

At this time of year, almost all places in the area are only weakly visited, so that we also came here with two in a buggy in just over three hours :-)

Translated by Google.

Majoney 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Exciting place, great service

I had the misfortune to show up in Marbella in the rainiest week in years. So I had to break off, inter alia, due to a heavy thunderstorm on 18 November the round in Chaparral after 8 holes. The service here has impressed me very much - not only that I was offered as a replacement immediately half the price in a later round, also the entire dealing with me as a guest was warm, helpful and very personable.

The place is very interesting - everyday holes alternate with absolutely tricky beads. I like hard places, and I like it when risk rewards, but can also be bitterly punished. Me Chaparral, I have been able to make numerous such risk / reward decisions. The Back Nine have challenged me even more than the first 9 holes, with the 17 as a highlight (not just geo).

The course is hilly and relatively narrow, but well playable with birdie book and clear head, and is not boring even with multiple visits.
The condition was good, measured by the many heavy rains of the previous day even impressively good.

Translated by Google.

urime 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

No recommendation

We played this course four people, the staff was very rude, the carts would be made available to us only at very short notice. So that we could start later than our tTeetime. The Marshall gave us a lot of pressure, although no flight was visible in the back, that was very presumptuous. Actually, the place is great, but we would not want to play here again due to the facts. Also we would say, very bad...

Translated by Google.

Rhöngolfer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

El Chaparral - we are thrilled

We "discovered" this course in July 2018 and are thrilled with the overall package "El Chaparral", the first impression is really great, clean, mostly covered parking areas, a smile from the Caddy Master as a welcome, the entrance area to the Proshop and Restaurant underlines the value the whole area, the pro shop is well sorted and the staff very friendly, one speaks partly German and we felt from the first moment as welcome guests. The driving range is spacious and well maintained, the putting green as well. Although it is a few meters away, but we have with this size and the condition very much accepted. The buggies were in prime condition, the staff so friendly and uncomplicated that nothing stands in the way of a nice game in the run-up.
The course itself is "tricky" and it is an advantage to be able to hit a ball straight out of the box :-) but that was with notice. The care condition despite midsummer is more than OK. The haircuts, especially in the men, are sometimes a challenge and not every green is easily playable. Overall, the round of golf is exciting and has given us a lot of fun.
The clubhouse / restaurant is also in a class of its own. The terrace with a bar area invites you after the game as well as the restaurant for a great evening. Service and kitchen are excellent and the price / performance ratio is very good!
All in all, we were so excited that we played the course again after a few days and certainly not for the last time!

Translated by Google.

schell51 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Chaparral

Like every year with my husband we play chaparral and as always excited.

But this time the place is especially green!

Translated by Google.

thola 168 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Quality rising

Before the heavy rains in February / March, the course was hard and littered with bleak spots and patchy greens. The sixth round of this year was now the highest quality. Fairways were fuller and the greens are slowly getting neat again. Unfortunately, there are still too many bad (that's ok) and slow (not at all) players here, so the round lasts too long.

Translated by Google.

RalphK 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very neat

We played the course in late February 2018 and can not follow the bad pre-rating. Despite long drought, the condition was good except for the heavily used deductions. Other places were like concrete, here you could play safe because of the narrow tracks in the forest properly.
If you are not here right now, you have to bring a few balls to survive the round. The price-performance ratio fits. The staff was very friendly and tried hard. We like to come again.

Translated by Google.

Kudu46 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

No more

Tees lousy, fairways well! Blind holes, canyons and the rest Actually, all the ground in repair, Vorgreens catastrophic, greens unacceptable Too bad for the beautiful clubhouse and the very friendly staff in the shop, restaurant and caddiemaster.

Translated by Google.

Swiss Lefty 22 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Love-hate

Do you like a lot of forest? Prefer narrow fairways and not always viewable Greens? If you rest important?

Yes? Then El Chap is a must!

Translated by Google.

kalle 745 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very small

A real, very close forest course on the Costa del Sol. Haircuts poorly maintained, rest ok! Greens were very good! But very hard ... !!!

Translated by Google.

derBremser 20 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Again and again, great place, in rather bad care condition

We (HCP 5 and 9), were on 7 February at the beginning of our golf vacation in El Chaparral. The site has a great layout, nice and beautiful Gastro and a good pro shop. The green fee was good Buggy 54 € incl., But unfortunately the reductions in poor condition, the Grün's part were unfortunately. The place was very crowded, and accordingly a long round about 4 hours 30 minutes.

Translated by Google.

MSchulz 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

More difficult place in a very modest maintenance state

Following a recommendation we played the golf course today; after track 6, we have terminated. The space is extremely tight, precise play is announced. With Handicap 4 and 5 but that was less of a problem. The most reductions were blocked due to reseeding, the fairways in a modest condition, the greens were a disaster. Partial repairs, partial vacancies without grass, etc. Regardless of the fact that at the tee time - we no one has drawn attention to this situation Reservation, has not yet happened to me in 23 years golf world as an unkempt place. Due to the location would be out of the system much more to do! Apparently, however a large number of green fee players is more important than a well-maintained complex. Once and never again.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 466 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Close, closer, Caparral

I can only agree with the previous reviewers, one of the closest places I've ever played. As the Course of white, at par 72, only 5,650 m has, we have, HCP 8 and 9, decided to play this course of white!
While it was not an error, but without knowledge of space, it is brutally difficult to score here.
Partially secluded fairways and greens.
Very nice the 11, a bobsled run uphill, par 5,443 meters in length!
Greens in perfect condition, some fairways are off state of improvement!

Translated by Google.

golffreund 218 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very special

It's like being in the Alps on a 100 years ago by British-scale Course... Cheap Internet green fee € 58 with shared buggy, also has many other, especially Scandinavians tightened. When I was still playing with the first ball on the 10th hole, I had planned to be put into the forefront of my criticism. Even were the next teeing off 2 balls. Forget the so. It is an incredibly tight-scale forest / parkland course. (Reminded me of the first 9 of Son Servera, but still close). Tee-zone country rarely wider than about 25 m. Par 5 with Doppeldogleg built like a bobsleigh run, etc. I liked it, my wife did not. In any case, it has 6 x par 3 where you can practice from yellow to 150-190m long, permissible scattering angle approximately 10 degrees bds, presenting's not because gorge... just what special play once and then go elsewhere out. English pub in the clubhouse is alone worth the journey, the Quality of buggies (absolutely necessary) not determined. Brake test at delivery!! rather trade wenns seems sensible.

Translated by Google.

haudrauf 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Crowded and poor maintenance condition

We (2 men, both 11 HCP) have played this course on 01/04/15.
The place was very busy so we had to wait on every hole. The difficulty level is high, especially if you play the course for the first time.
Because so many greens and fairways are shaded the grass is partly gone and earth is revealed.
Overall, there are better places in this region.

Translated by Google.

Berlin Golf Bear 108 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Terrific "bent" space

Played on 03.20.2014, HCP 13

Wonderful, unfortunately, very much frequented place. Even in the middle of the week of 4-Flights were started close together, which brings with it a certain pressure. According starters the place is always so busy. The pre-booked Cart (recommended due to the extreme Hügligkeit the site necessarily, if you are not endurance athletes) let himself only muster 10 minutes before the T-Time, so came up right at the beginning a little hectic. However, the abundance is the only drawback of the place - which in turn speaks for the quality of the system.

The tracks are wonderful in the hilly, wooded terrain into "woven". The whole place is located in a lush pine forest, it is really quiet. There is only sparse "edge-building", the few houses are very far away from the fairway and are exceptionally pretty to look - no unfinished buildings!

Again and again spectacular elevated tees that make the landing zones appear even smaller than they actually are. Unfortunately, this also brings some blind shots with it - some is hard to see where the train actually runs further. A reasonable score can be (if at all) only be achieved with adequate space knowledge. In the pro shop, the acquisition of a birdie book is recommended - makes sense since there is no telling-giving deduction tables.

The greens have to be. Part in several stages, with hard to read breaks and designed so that they are playable often only from one side - very difficult to impossible if you landed on the wrong side of the green.

The condition is - especially in view of the strong frequency of the place - very neat. Not perfect, but good. The greens look a little "rough", but are very fast and largely faithful.

The service pro shop, starter and restaurant is friendly and efficient. A small bottle of water is included in the entry fee and the supply Scart one has offered us more food at least three times on the round (at modest prices).

Conclusion: A wonderfully relaxing, original place for a moderate price - absolutely play when you're in the area (and can live with a moderate score). Quiet also take a detour - it's worth! Smooth 4-star (the "Bear Golf Ranking": 8 out of 10 points).

Translated by Google.

Tigerline 55 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Played in August 2013

WOW, what a place.
If you have a day is where you are not just hitting the balls, you have a problem.
Very hilly.
A nice clubhouse. Cart is mandatory - without you can not manage the place.
A real challenge.

Translated by Google.

kiwi 22 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Herrausforderrung

We also had attracted the offer, 2 green fees with Cart..
It was worth it in any case, as we now know...
Before it but it came about but we were booked with two German-speaking Italians in an airplane, this fortunately knew the place already by repeated play. The whole place is characterized by hilly terrain on which the ball can roll to God knows where..
On the ground 10 discount on the access road must be - because our seniors companion had suddenly to do New Year's Eve preparations...
And we had to leave again on our seven senses, there is no Hinweiß the discounts on the web course - this can be a booklet with 6 euros to buy!
Even a little bit tired, it now goes back to the 17th.. the discount is good, still rolls right into the bushes - where there is already a whole nest balls. After the drop, you can now try up the canyon, or to suggest the trees. From here to play on the green, it requires not only the concentration but also the ability, in our case, of happiness. If you hit it to the powerful auftuende rock wall in the background, it's all over anyway!
As I said, it was worth it in any case...

Translated by Google.

thola 168 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One for the Money

I have seldom played such an exciting landscaped space. The most part very narrow fairways are almost on every hole a beautiful challenge (playful and scenic). Who plays the place for the first time, probably paid a lot of money teaching - especially among the numerous existing "blind" areas. Accurate knowledge space increase the enjoyment. Unfortunately, neither the handicap requirements nor the flow of the game are controlled, so that must be reckoned with very long playing time (we had almost six hours). The cheap green fees (low season: € 65 including buggy, which is highly recommended) probably attracts all year round at very many golfers. Fairways and greens were accordingly only a sufficient condition. Driving range, pro shop and club house make a good impression and look inviting. When Caddie Master lockers are available.

Translated by Google.

Romanzabal 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Well

The place is nicely laid out and has its charms. Unfortunately, one or the other path that is barely or not playable, as track 8 (can be beautiful track on the video on the homepage of the facility): You beat out a swath into a slope, the roll off almost every ball to the right leaves. Should he remain are random, they still have 160 meters over a large tree from the slope. Perfect would be a 240-meter slice here. I can not unfortunately.
On the 17 of the rocks looks behind the green safe from beautiful, the blow a bit too long, the ball bounces back quickly 30 m...
For us, not again.

Translated by Google.

hasadi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic property

At 8.4. I played the course, booked through hotel incl GF Buggy € 80 absolutely gerechtferigt.
The entire system is perfectly maintained, the service and the staff very helpful. The tracks are all very spectacular, varied and perfectly in excellent Zusatand the greens.

Will play this course again when I'm on the Costa... and the selection is so large. In addition to La Reserva on my trip the most beautiful place.

Translated by Google.

Been to Chaparral Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review