User Reviews

for Belle Mare Plage Golf, Mauritius

4.5 of 5 stars35 Reviews

5 Stars:
21
4 Stars:
12
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 35 from 35

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Space okay, unfortunately no greens

Course maintenance is still okay, nothing has changed in terms of the course layout and please refer to the reviews from previous years in this regard.
Unfortunately, the greens, especially on the “links”, are no longer that great. While the greens on the “Legend” are fast and stable, although with some bare spots on the edges of the green, the greens on the “Links” are not attractive. Repairs were made with different types of grass, visually unsightly, but bare spots still exist. In my opinion, the greenkeeper team didn't do a good job on the "Links", which can also be seen in the green surfaces that are cut too deeply.
What a shame actually!

Translated by Google.

Taiga Wutz 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf at its finest

Have played both courses several times as guests of the Belle Mare Plage Resort. The service was outstanding starting with transporting golf clubs between the two courses, free range balls on all inclusive, drinks etc. Both courses in immaculate condition despite the heavy rain on the previous one. The Legend course is a bit narrower, so bring enough balls with you! The "Links" is a bit wider but playing some holes is no less tricky. Overall we really liked both places and will definitely be back!

Translated by Google.

sand30 117 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Two different places!

Both courses played in November 2022: "The Legend" golf course is characterized by many water hazards and is exciting to play with its differently designed holes. "The Links" golf course has nothing to do with the original meaning of a links course. The fairways, some of which are wavy, meander through bushes, shrubs, trees and cairns. The course is carefully integrated into the landscape. Both places were in good condition - the greens stay on track and not too fast. Ladies should play from the yellow tees on both courses to enjoy a more challenging golfing experience.

Translated by Google.

lunatic 54 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Two great places

Two top courses in very good condition. We liked the links a little better because it has a nicer landscape. The "volcanic outcropings" in particular are beautifully integrated into the course. Golf-wise, the Legend is probably a bit more challenging, as missed shots are penalized more often due to the increased water. Course condition was excellent, but as almost always you have to deal with the wind on the whole island. It's nice that there are caddies here who can accompany you on the round for an extremely reasonable fee and give very competent advice on the course and the greens. If you stay in the attached hotel, the green fees are included.

Translated by Google.

Rieger Gerhard68 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Maintained top

I can only agree with my colleagues, both courses are top and my favorite is the links. The name LINKS is very funny, it has as much to do with a links course as the lawn at Wimbledon has to do with football. Mention should be made of the employees, who are always very helpful and friendly on both systems. As a guest of the Hotel Constanzia Belle Mare, both places are free.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Still excellent!

The places are still characterized by immaculate course maintenance, although the two places are quite different, with the tee "white" = penultimate tee box being spoken of here.

Legend: Par 72, at only 5,654 m, but very narrow fairways, tricky, a lot of water involved, strategically difficult, knowledge of the course required. When it rains a lot, the place is under water relatively quickly. The course is flat, you can walk the course despite the great heat.

Left: Par 71, at 5,534 m, wider fairways, strategic play is also sometimes required here, as water often comes into play. Place much hillier and drier, condition is required.

Great fairways, difficult to play rough or the ball is difficult to control, greens are fast but relatively flat and not very undulating.

Translated by Google.

Jureno 29 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fancy

In our opinion, both places are a class better than Anahita and especially Ile aux Cerfs. In particular the links course, which (luckily) has nothing to do with a Scottish links course due to the lack of rough and with water and trees, is just fantastic. Heavily undulating fairways, extremely varied fairways, mountains of lava that line many fairways - simply sensational. We played the course several times and were totally thrilled every time.
The Legend Course has a different layout, but is (almost) as good. In particular, the numerous flame trees with their red flowers make the place unique. We have played well over 200 golf courses worldwide, but these two courses are among the best. Definitely not to be missed when you are in Mauritius!

Translated by Google.

Stableford 110 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend and links - both class!

I was particularly looking forward to the Legend Course. It looked more interesting in the photos. I played the first two rounds on the left - and was absolutely thrilled. After two rounds on the Legend the following days I decided to play the last round of the vacation on the left.

The layout of both places is interesting. The legend is somewhat more demanding and difficult, the tracks are often narrower. The link usually forgives more errors. Both places are well maintained. A lot of workers are everywhere working, mowing, mending... I found the greens of the links more neat than those of the legend. Service and friendliness exemplary everywhere. The Legend's signature hole, number 17, is more spectacular in the photos than in the original. Nice, yes, but nothing really special.

Heavy rain also partially blocked the Legend during my stay, while the left was still to be played with carts. According to legend, it's only a few meters from the Hotel Constance Belle Mare across the street to the clubhouse and the first tee. To the left there is a free shuttle from the hotel entrance every half hour and in 5 minutes you are there. Especially for the legend, but also for the links you should have enough balls with you. On the round, locals are waiting on the edge of the golf course with lakeballs. On the left I bought on the 13th tee, in the legend on the green of the 17. The balls were all in order and 20 pieces cost 400 rupees, around 10 euros.

Conclusion: I found the links (unexpectedly) more fun, the legend is a little more exotic.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Always happy

It rained a lot in the first week, then the legend in particular is very "wet" and then extremely difficult to play.
Thank god the places dried up quickly (great heat in January), then the balls roll again!!
Legendally flat, lots of water and tricky at par 72, the left more hilly, a little shorter at par 71, but also not easy to play.
Both places can also be covered on foot, but this time of year is extremely sweaty in this heat and humidity!

Fairways and greens impeccable, space well maintained, exciting layout.
Otherwise I refer to my comments from previous years.

Translated by Google.

George Mannix 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice - but cheap only for hotel guests

Have played both quite demanding places in the last few days several times. As a hotel guest is now with converted 15 € for each 18 lanes still cheap, otherwise like the other places in Mauritius relatively high priced. Both courses are absolutely worth playing - with some refinements such as water hazards and sometimes difficult to see 'fairways' and 'greens'. On the LEFT I would prefer the LEGEND, because overall even more spectacular and created with some height differences; especially the second 10 lanes are quite attractive and not commonplace. In any case, you should take enough balls and book in any case an e-cart or a (cheaper) caddy, which not only give valuable hints, but also can carry the equipment (otherwise very sweaty endeavor).
The staff in both places is friendly and accommodating. The care condition in May 2019 was impeccable; Clubhouses, restaurants and other infrastructure are nicely laid out and with adequate offer. Both places are heavily frequented so 'Tee Times' have to be booked.
Conclusion: unadulterated golfing pleasure in a tropical atmosphere, LEGEND 4.5 stars / LEFT 5 stars

Translated by Google.

Golf-Traveller 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Links Course excellent, Legend Course OK

In both places the service is excellent and the staff very friendly. The Links Course presented itself in top condition in August 2018, both in terms of the fairways and the greens. There is absolutely nothing to criticize and the green fee of 6,000 rupees (= 155 euros) is "well spent".
Somewhat different is the Legend Course, which has a very exciting and sophisticated design, the care condition - especially in terms of greens - but not the price of 6,000 rupees (= 155 €) corresponds (August 2018). Since I already saw and played this course in another - perfect - condition years ago, the overall recommendation is: Belle Mare Plage is always worth a trip with these two courses!

Translated by Google.

Whity 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

You can not imagine playing golf more beautiful

We were in March for 2 weeks only to play golf there. Recommendation early in the morning. It's very hot at noon. As Constance hotel guest is the green fee, the arrival and departure included. Also the cart, if the weather permits. Otherwise there is a trolly. But the two places are perfect even if it rains all night. There are a lot of greenkeepers on the way to keep everything in good condition. At the tee and also on the green, they are always considerate. The Marshall goes through and looks if you have enough water, which is inclusive. The caddies are helpful with many tips. Absolutely recommendable, also for high handicap. The clubs are cleaned and at the end of the round there is a refreshing towel which smells very good. The left is with less water but a lot of lava rocks. The Legend is awesome and the dream. Highlight is hole 17! We had a lot of wind and less balls afterwards. At the desk, the paintballs are cheaper to buy. ;-) The clubhouse sells beautiful fashion. Price ok. Everyone is very friendly. Thanks to Vick for "Nice shoot" and also to the team. Here you feel welcome.
We will be back!

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Definitely improved, ...

Opposite 2 years ago!
Legend 5 stars, for me better place, very tricky, lots of water, some very narrow fairways. Place dry, greens in good quality, relatively fast, compared to European grasses, the break is not so accepted.
The most beautiful holes are for me, the 4, the 6 and of course the 17, a par 3 with 145 m, across the lagoon.

The links did not appeal to me this time, but only because the greens were extremely slow and dull and the aeration holes were not filled with sand.
The place is a bit easier, but you should not underestimate it. Holes 2.6 and 18 were felt to be the fairer fairways, but pure matter of taste.

Translated by Google.

Junior 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A jewel and a special experience

Have already been allowed to play the Legend course 4x within the last 2 years. This place is excellently maintained - from the tea boxes to greens everything 1a. The layout is anything but bland - there are tracks that invite the attack and which ones ask for more "brains". Every hole has something special to offer, and it's not just going back and forth... and yes - you meet the Deer herd - and it's fun to watch them!
It is certainly one of the top places in Mauritius - for us it argues with the Heritage Course in the south for the number one.
The course is absolutely to go - recommend a caddy. Are super nice, kostenundlich and it makes walking much more fun.

Translated by Google.

Trifnix 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend and Links

We played both courses several times and had our enjoyment.
Long we could not agree, what place we prefer to have but then decided on the Legend. This place is a bit more sophisticated, because the fairways are narrower. In total, the holes are varied with more African feel. Both courses were in good condition and it has given us joy. According scorecard places are rather short, but play is clearly longer. In both places very friendly staff who were always ready to fulfill all wishes.

Translated by Google.

RLiedtke 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend: Well...

For me this place is overrated average!
Except for a nice deer herd bathing pleasure in the pond at the 18, the course offers little spectacular. Most paths run up and down, the care is OK, the staff we were friendly, but felt little attention

I think 3 stars are justified, then what something reflects the price / performance ratio. We paid as non-residents of Constance Belle Mare Plage 160 EUR; compare with our "home place" Four Seasons Anahita too expensive and does not come in the life of this place zoom

Translated by Google.

Kneubuto 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Bring enough golf balls

Legend Golf Course:
Beautiful place with many water hazards. The greens are generally in great condition.
Links Golf Course:
Very challenging course with sometimes relatively narrow fairways. The golf course is very good, "embedded" in the environment on both sides of Fairwys it has many beautiful mangrove forests

Both golf courses are right "ball-eater", we lost in the early rounds per place on average five balls.
The staff at both places very helpful and friendly.

Translated by Google.

ABL 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend and Links

Links - absolutely recommendable golf course, very nice staff. Does not necessarily ertwas to do with a typical Links Course but very gentle. Published shortly after the scorecard, but to play very interesting due to its layout.
Can you recommend.

Legend - Golf course was at first sight and taking into account that even last year the Champion Tour has played very well. And although links and Legend belong together, the Legend better days has seen. Looked kinda scruffy and the greens were not worth a catastrophe (partially sanded without grass and strong!) Was the price of about 150 euros per person.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend and Links, impeccable seats

Compared to last year the courses are much drier, which unfortunately is likely to adversely impact the Legend of the Green Quality since partially shaved, and the greens are just aerifiziert.
Laqout Legend perfectly, very close, but to play space perfectly.
Links somewhat lighter, but still very tricky. Greens a lot better than the Legend, but there are currently in place conversions performed.
For me, the 17 is my golf hole, a short par 4 with about 250 meters, where I could play an Eagle today.

Translated by Google.

anton-fritz 150 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Thing

We played both courses several times. Had a lot of fun and have the wonderful overall atmosphere very much. Since we had no rain, we could enjoy getting all holes. Great hotel and great seats. We will be back.

Translated by Google.

Bernhard 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf 5 * service

We have repeatedly played both courses in March 2015. Unfortunately, the seats were due to heavy rains not always or only partially playable. Va Legend is relatively fast under water and takes longer to dry. The condition is excellent place to the left. The Legend notes you that he is stronger recorded. We enjoyed our links made a lot more fun because it is much more beautiful scenic (beautiful views of the mountains) and also a few difficulties offers. Simply relaxing vacation Golf! The Legend made a very troubled impression on us. The tracks are usually very tight and you play in a tunnel of mangrove trees. Beautiful views of the countryside do not have. On the first round of the square is a Ballfressser. The service is available at both the top, on the left a trace better. For tee times you have to book themselves in any case before. However, these are then handled quite flexible and we had despite some limited play opportunities (often only 9 holes open) never had the impression that the courts are too full. We could always play smoothly.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend 4, left a trail better because...

This year, unfortunately, due to the many rains before our holiday departure, the Legend pretty, at least the first few days, was under water.

Legend: for me, the more interesting because much more difficult place. Narrow fairways, many partially invisible water hazards, fast greens - everything a golfer's heart desires (if you have enough mithat balls). It comes down to 15 tracks water into play, it is a must, the course to play several times so is to create this game strategy properly and thus make the right club selection - see eg railways 8.18, ...
Hightlight hole 17, a par 3 with a view of the lagoon.

Links: beautiful place, therefore easier to play with wider fairways and. Greens not quite as fast, the breaks are therefore not particularly effective. With 5,500 meters of white also not particularly long, Champion length 5.940 m.

Translated by Google.

matthias H. 31 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legends 3 *, 4 * Links

We played both courses more often and were very pleased. The service is excellent and very accommodating. Unfortunately, we were divided on the left and behind us as four hunts 10 doubles flights after.
Better book early enough start times, otherwise it can sometimes be no discount.

Translated by Google.

kuefy 31 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Links and Legend

Beautiful places, unfortunately, not yet been rated, everything was perfect - recommend to take caddies who know exactly where you hinspielt best. (Stayed September 2014)

Translated by Google.

Tommy_B 28 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf top class experience

I have played the course in March 2014 several times, which was also good. The place is not too difficult, but requires tactical sense. That does the uncommon enthusiasm could not be stopped. The place is immaculate condition.
The scenic charm of the place is decisively influenced by the many, and for some pretty treacherous water hazards. The highlight is the tee shot on the 17th hole with a water hazard. At this point, everyone should think of to cut off know what but about 150 m carry requires...
The service and the food are top notch.
The space is reserved exclusively for hotel guests mare Plage Belle and was underutilized particularly in the 14 days of my stay.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Legend - the water monster

Have today, "Legend" and were played off state very impressed.
Fast, low undulating greens that were difficult to read.
Maintained place, but with many water hazards - a terrible place that you absolutely have to play several times to find the right tactics.

Translated by Google.

adamscott 29 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Golf Resort! Legend 4, Left 4.5 stars

Have early December Legend, links, and Anahita played - all great places that would clear away loose 5 Stars in Dtl.

Place State:
Very good maintenance. On the Legend, the very coarse and dense grass around the greens around some getting used to. The practice facilities are very small, but in good shape.

Course layout:
The Legend is crossed by a lot of inland waters. Many holes are beautifully embedded in landscape and vegetation.
The green of 7 (Par3) is beautifully embedded for example by palm trees and water behind it. The 18 (Par5) runs two strokes along a lake, the attack with the 2nd Shock. difficult - with a little luck / bad luck is still living on the place wild herd to play :-)
Overall, the place is covered very tightly so that neighboring tracks are almost never seen, and you always feel alone in the square. Signature hole is the 17, a par 3, where you have to allude to the green over a stretch of sea - here you have a lovely view of small yachts and palm-fringed beaches.

The links (no links course) is min by shuttle in 5 to reach and even further in the hinterland. The terrain here is already much more hilly, which makes it more spectacular than the Legend. Actually I resist even more against carts, but in retrospect I was grateful for the mandatory use at 30 degrees upwards!
Again and again, spectacular holes out of nowhere, so it is difficult to single out individual - play itself is announced!
A few examples:
Lane 3 - Landing Zone = headland, then frontal water conditions green.
Lane 4 - dogleg right, after buckling extreme mountain on.
Lane 9 - uphill par 3 with onduliertem and strong hanging green.
Track 10 - par 5 that starts at a discount to 180m distant and considerably deeper fairway
Track 13 - with side anzuspielendem Peninsula Green (many balls you are lying there in the lake)
Track 17 - short par 4 over a huge gorge with possibility to Drive the Green
Track 18 - Blind right dogleg with double head water-obstacle

Gastro / Club House:
Both beautiful, the links still with spectacular views of the surroundings. Staff very friendly, one is greeted with damp cloths, the clubs are cleaned...

Overall Conclusion:
A super golf resort! Guests at the Constance Belle Mare Plage to play both courses for free - there will not be bored.
Since we have not played Anahita on our last day, however, and that was an increase again, there is a Mauritius-specific 4 - or 4.5-star ranking.

Translated by Google.

jghamburg 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The Best of Mauritius

Just great places...
There is nothing to complain about...
With the best places in which I have ever played.

Translated by Google.

Oldive 68 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

It's worth it...

Unfortunately the tracks were softened by days of rain and only open for a week each 9 holes on both courses. For the weather, the management can not do anything, but that hardly trolleys were already present (Cars currently banned, why cars were not allowed "on the roads," I is not explained).

The one on the Legend (I rather walk than to take a car) were duty caddies, given the jobs completely ok and reasonably priced (about € 7.50), why Range balls are just so expensive is simply rude. The friendliness of the staff was kept within narrow limits, as was the Condition of sanitary equipment (towels were "out" with the ladies toilet rolls were offered!).

The range in both restaurants is below average, but expensive. If you want a good laugh on vacation, should buy a Birdiebook, because it contains photos of cars with the distances from tee to green, nothing else...

Both courses are very well laid out and men with HCP should not be ashamed to take the senior discount for about 14, it was more fun and saves balls ... (But even so better take a lot of that cost very much new to Mauritius). The condition was poor, but the weather has hampered the work safely here, or impossible.

Felt I had given date 2-3 stars, but that is places in a few weeks probably not fair. As a guest of the Belle Mare Plague (recommended, but with restrictions), the green fee was included and I think you can play several times with enjoyment both places on holiday, when management would do its homework.

Anyone who has ever played but the place of Touessrok, will prefer to take a taxi into this "golf heaven" every day. Four stars are more than generous and who wants to do 12 hours flight for an expensive resort island should give the courts a chance. When you consider that the average income of people at approx 300 - € is, the feeling is not going to be "boiled" at every opportunity.

Translated by Google.

Heiduckenkönig 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful golf courses

We have repeatedly played both courses in January. The Legend is our opinion, more interesting and more challenging course. Who here does not apply to the tee the fairway, then has a lot to do. In any case, should be taken with multiple balls on the round. Especially nice is then a chat at the Halfwaystation with Davison. And all staff are very nice and courteous. The links but is also very nice to play and has a few very interesting tracks. However, this year the greens were in no sooo good condition. Nevertheless, you should have played both courses times.

Translated by Google.

golfer1001 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A must in Mauritius!

Simply indescribable to play these two places (The Legend, The Links) .. Amazing views, perfect location status, ...
More gibts not to sagenl!

For me as a 5 handicap player a dream! But also suitable for higher Hcp'er!

Thank you! We'll be back :-)

Translated by Google.

bogeygolfer 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Links Golf Course - Ladies Dream

The name is misleading: Although the Links Golf Course is located in close proximity to the sea, he has no direct contact with the sea and certainly no dunes. Instead, it is a well-kept and hilly parkland course with dense vegetation and many strategic water hazards.

Ladies dream: for them, the price is nearly 1,400 feet shorter and freed from many tricky obstacles. While the men as on 10 Tea and carry at least 150 meters accurate to beat a lake may refuse the ladies relaxed behind it.

Overall, a varied, challenging and smart athletic designter course of the highest quality, unfortunately, with a few blind holes. Tip: bring a lot of balls, because many large mound of lava stones give a little more over here. And the large water hazards not...

Enchanting view from the very pretty, thatched African-style clubhouse to the spacious grounds and the ocean! Very attentive and friendly service in the restaurant. Therefore one feels at the bar a bit like "Out of Africa" ​​...

Translated by Google.

Arni62 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful contrasting program

We were in Mauritius in February 2012 and have played 10 rounds on four "East Coast places' (Bellemare, Anahita Touessrok). The Belle Mare both places are well maintained, the staff friendly around and you could really complain about anything. Two very different places, and with vieeel Legend relatively flat water, the links to play more of a"mountain place" and from the front tees very short. The real character links we have missed something. We have stayed at Constance Le Prince, the right choice if you prefer a more quiet and peaceful. The free shuttle runs every hour on the hour at both places. Enjoyed the links course like better, but the deer were already in Legend also worth seeing! However, we are both (HCP 14 and 20) think that the Anahita Course was the absolute highlight of our Mauritius golf holiday! Since the Belle Mare courts simply do not ran. In our opinion: definitely play all three!

Translated by Google.

ramboramses 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Simply good

Since I have Eröffnug Legend and then also played one year left. Simply brilliant, start times, and other Caddy's no problem. The courts are getting better.
Living in Belle Mare Plage an experience, nice rooms, good food, nice places. "Blue Penny" expensive, but worth every Rupee (EUR) worth.
Friendly staff, with a high recognition factor.
Other sports activities (water) at a high level.
Worth mentioning is the atmosphere in the club house, especially in the evening at dinner when the Java deer on the 18th Faiway run.
We love this little Pardies, in November we will see everything again.

Translated by Google.

rseil 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golfing in Paradise

I've played in August 2009, the Belle Mare Plage links. Fantastic place, fairways are like greens mowed Roll is incredible, the greens are fast as you spile on a glass plate, water hazards, trees, lava rock, everything gives the place an atmosphere as you gulfs in paradise, green fee including e-cart with GPS included, cooler with drinks in the price is 95,00 EUR, place is worth every penny. Tee time was not a problem

Clubhouse just lovely, staff very friendly and nice, unfortunately the prices for food and drink salted.

Next year I'm going to play the safe place with even greater joy again.

Translated by Google.

Been to Belle Mare Plage Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review