User Reviews

for Avalon Golf Estate, Mauritius

4.4 of 5 stars16 Reviews

5 Stars:
10
4 Stars:
3
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
1
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 16 from 16

Golf-RR 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great experience

Played a round here on November 21st, 2023. Very friendly reception. Cart (included and necessary due to the sometimes long distances from one school to the next) is available, Cadymaster accompanies guests to the reception. Since the course was quite well played, we started from tee 10. So we were able to play a great round in 3 hours. Some spectacular holes, relatively wide fairways but still varied. The greens are in good condition, although not the fastest.
Rackets are cleaned and loaded back. The ride from the hotel to the golf course was also organized by the golf course and was very pleasant. Driver told us a lot about Mauritius and was entertaining and educational. All this for free when you stay at Shanti Maurice. really amazing

Translated by Google.

RON 2 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautifully overlooking the Indian Ocean

I played GC Avalon today with HCP 15.2, at the end of April, i.e. at the end of the rainy season.
Yellow haircuts with 5820 m are long enough, no tourist haircuts.
Rarely have I met such friendly staff, from the Caddy Master to the ProShop.
The place is a dream, fairways well maintained meander all the way to the Indian Ocean. The greens are very well maintained, lightning fast, 9 stipmeter, very easy to read.
Even after recent rains, no excessive wet spots, large chip, putt and practice area.
Great restaurant with incredibly friendly service

Translated by Google.

harley 46 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf course in the mountains

Despite a tee time booking in June 2022, in November 2022 we were pushed in somewhere between a short-term private tournament of a golf travel group. After we got there we were presented with a fait accompli.
The course has the signature hole with lane 4. The fairways with a view of the Indian Ocean are beautiful, the uphill fairways are also well integrated into the landscape, but no comparison to the Heritage Golf Club not far away. Often, to get to the tees, you have to drive along the streets where new villas are being built. m
The architect of the clubhouse has placed an unattractive concrete block in this otherwise beautiful Mauritian mountain world.
In my opinion, there are certainly more spectacular golf courses in Mauritius.

Translated by Google.

georgemannix 63 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Last Chance Harvey

Have played the course several times in the first half of May 2022. Getting started was relatively unspectacular. At the latest on hole 4, however, the 'golf turbo' went off and we experienced a number of beautiful holes with unique selling points (gorges, water hazards, etc.). Very nice vegetation, which will come into its own over the years - especially as far as the many palm trees and ferns are concerned. The Indian Ocean can be seen in the distance from almost all of the tracks. In front of it is the lush green of the wide fairways, which are easy to play on.
The course, which opened in 2015 and is of medium difficulty and equipped with a series of smaller chicanes such as slopes and bumps, wins above all through its good maintenance condition, fast greens and excellent sanitary facilities, which are well distributed along the way. The unattractive main building is quickly ticked off if you focus on golfing. Unfortunately, the inland and higher course is relatively far away from the hotels on the coast. You need at least a 30-minute journey by car. As it is located in the highlands, the temperatures for playing golf are more pleasant than on other courses in Mauritius.
As almost everywhere on the island, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Conclusion: All-round successful golfing fun that you can confidently do to yourself several times. Rating 4-5 stars and increasing. We will be back!

Translated by Google.

ela 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Must not necessarily be

Very well-kept beautiful place. Depending on where you come from, a little out of the way.
Very wide fairways. You don't lose balls here. Once played it is enough. There are no really spectacular holes. Mauritius has nicer and more brilliant places.
ela

Translated by Google.

K. Per 464 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place with great greens

The very well-kept course impresses with exciting course design and spectacular holes. I particularly liked holes 4.7 and 10!
Hole 4, a short but tricky par 4 (238 m long) tee at lofty heights, is particularly attractive.
Very hilly space, the only drawback are the long distances between the fairways, buggy is therefore a necessary evil.
Greens impeccable, undulating, fast and on track.

Very nice staff!

Translated by Google.

MiJor 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place - fair - with sporting challenges

Very well maintained golf course with great views and very friendly staff.
360 m - great panoramic view of the sea and the mountains of Mauritius.
On the one hand, he forgives many - wide fairways - on the other hand, you often have to play on larger ditches - great challenge in a sensational landscape.
Without cart, unfortunately, it is not - but the prices are fair.
We have 150 € for 2 persons including cart and transfer! (from Telfair / Awali) paid for 2 people.
A great trip worth it.

Translated by Google.

Vocalis 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

In lofty heights with fantastic views

So far, the place is still in a fairly lonely height, ie little development and lots of nature, which leads to relaxed laps. The views are sensational, the place very well maintained and something for every level! Shantys Resort offers anlimited Green Free. The shuttle takes you to the reserved golf cart after an interesting 20 minute drive and a beautiful day begins! Everything is right here!

Translated by Google.

Spring Martin 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place

Not easy in the wind.
Very courteous staff.

Translated by Google.

Franziska_Roland 87 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Modern place

We, both Hcp. 10, played the course on April 13,2018. It is a beautiful and well maintained place, laid out on a high plateau. The temperatures are about 4 degrees lower than on the coast and it always blows a wind. The fairways are relatively wide and also nice for less good players to play. Hardly any water hazards. A cart is recommended because the paths between green and tee are considerable. We paid a total of 5800 MRU incl. Cart and pick up from Telfair Heritage in Bel Ombre. Incidentally, the clubhouse is very modern with great views of the sea. We can highly recommend a round.
Ge paid

Translated by Google.

matsem 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice golf course and great service

I played the course twice in March 2018 and had to say everything was just right (service in the clubhouse, condition of the place and the buggy, the green fee of 75EUR was there - all 1A). Since there was not much going on at the time of the year, I was able to start playing immediately without prior notice. The course is not as demanding as other courses in the area, due to the constant wind, but you should not underestimate it. He was definitely fun for me and I would play him again anytime!!

Translated by Google.

hosenmatz 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very neat place

Played on 02.12.17. Space is very well maintained, great fairways, which is an appealing challenge for everyone, since there is always at least a light wind, which makes it very pleasant in the temperatures.
Beautiful view, some spectacular fairways over gorges or into a valley. I would play again at any time.
Cart is a must. We did not want to, but in retrospect were glad, because the paths between individual holes were very far and the temperature in Mauritius nunmal also slightly higher.
Was fun.

Translated by Google.

JBr 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top Golf Course

Spectacular!
This golf course was only opened in 2016 and is located at about 360 meters above sea level at the highest of all golf courses in Mauritius.
The course is very beautiful, technically challenging with many challenges and with a precise and long tee.
In wind (sometimes occurring at this altitude), it becomes sometimes difficult. For beginners maybe too difficult.
The price includes the buggy.
An absolute must if you are here on Mauritius for playing golf.

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 504 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worth a visit

Played on 16/04/2017. The still relatively new 18 hole course in the south of the country within the inside of Mauritius, in the immediate vicinity of one of the biggest attractions, the Grand Bassin is created mostly flat. It has from most tracks, due to the higher position, overlooking the sea. It is recommended that a cart, because the distances between the tees are sometimes a bit far apart. After nine holes you will not come back to the clubhouse! The lanes are usually open, trees little present. It is to play some small and large canyons. For entry to golf in Mauritius is very suitable Avalon, not so much going on and you can take your time. Camera not forgotten. On one of the PAR 3 a few monkeys in the game look very attentively. The tracks are generally very appealing created with not too great challenges. Nevertheless, it has everything the golfer need. The condition was perfect. The greens could be a little faster, but by a lot of rain in the days and nights before the place was overall very wet. With the Cart (incl. GPS and two small bottles of water) was allowed to ride only on the trails. Service overall was great. In the parking lot, the bags were removed and taken to a cart. It was brought to the driving range, where the balls were of course included with the room. In large modern clubhouse / pro shop you were greeted warmly. The green fee is to be described in comparison to the hotel golf course by the sea with about 90 € per person and cart as relatively cheap. With hotel cooperation there may still be a discount. One wonders, why a golf course was built here, as there are hardly any hotels nearby. Also, there are "still" no construction activities for villas or similar. So to play in absolute tranquility and nature plus usually almost alone. Although we had reserved a tee time for 13:00, but did not feel that was necessary. The rounds in Avalon is recommended in any case, if you have a car. The combination with the visit of Grand Bassin makes sense!

Translated by Google.

Backtee67 35 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Something young

March 17, the court has the makings of a really good place. But he is still too young and the Greens no 4 yet * worth. Yet he is the layout, the clubhouse and training facilities much. For us (Swiss Singel Hcp) it was an hour (Hotel Dinarobin) Driving worth. We can recommend the place highly, especially since we were completely alone and the climate at this altitude very comfortable and the view is great.

Translated by Google.

viennapoint 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

New place in Mauritius

On 04/22/2016 I played, opened in December 2015 Golf Course. A place where high Hcper will have a joy. The first 2 holes are like highways, free ride. Balls you can lose no here, unless you can not get over the gorges of 2 holes. Players are expected something special disappointed. The place is very remote, about 1 hour from the hotel Dinarobin, inland. Green fee price with Cart approximately € 73.- All in all, the journey is not worthwhile.

Translated by Google.

Been to Avalon Golf Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review