User Reviews

for Samanah Golf Club, Morocco

4.3 of 5 stars28 Reviews

5 Stars:
15
4 Stars:
8
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
2
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 28 from 28

Drewby 4 Reviews

Nice layout. No wow factor

Not a big fan of Jack Niklaus design courses; pretty much the same the world over relying on wastelands and multitudinous bunkers. However Samanah is quite good. Nice shaping, well kept, definitely worth playing. Ladies ET venue so has some distinction. Lacks Wow. AC PGA Pro

Kersebo 1 Review

Nice course; awful rental clubs

Wife and I played from yellow tees 04/22 - we are seniors. Course in great shape and I think we were the only golfers with a morning tee time that day. Worst rental clubs we've ever paid for. Sets of Nicklaus graphite were the dirtiest I've seen from any club anywhere. Couldn't believe they don't even clean their own clubs. Otherwise, had a reasonable round.

gorilla 1 Review

Like being in Arizona

Samanah was my favorite course so far in Marrakesh. The greens were fast but the ball held well. The fairways, while dry (after all we are in the desert...) gave the ball good distance if you kept it in play. Still there were water hazards creating a challenge. Landscaping was beautiful and the clubhouse was modern, yet decorated in a chic traditional way.
Definitely will play there again.

Wildcard 6 Reviews

Jack Nicklaus - you can't be disappointed

This was my favourite course during my stay at Marrakesh, the fairways dormant and dry though. But guys, the greens where superb! It took me some holes to get around with them, fast and tricky to read, I guess they were around stimp 10 to 11. When you are a good player take the black tees, this is a a challenge to enjoy.

Welsh Wizard 1 Review

De-lux

I've now played all the courses in Marrakech. This is definetly the best. Fantastic greens and fairways. Stunning views not only of the mountains but of the villas as well. There is a little gem of a nine hole course about 5 km north of Samanah called Atlas golf. Only 9 holes but fabulous.

golffreund96 66 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very beautiful.

They were allowed to play the course a week before the PGA Champions tour. Accordingly, perfect course maintenance on tees, fairways, bunkers and greens. The fallow areas, which could be tidied up a bit, look sloping. we were two 3er flights, one caddy (pleasant) duty per flight, the 20 € were well spent. Very long connection routes. Overall a championship worthy place if the cameras are set up so that the desert through does not come into the picture. 0.5 liter soda for the round € 3. We really didn't feel ripped off. Price / performance ratio is right. Gladly again!

Translated by Google.

silke 63 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Little to complain about

Played on January 11th, 2020. Flat level course. Wide landing areas for long hitters, very fast greens, lush fairways and excellent bunkers to play. Little activity on the court. No compulsory caddy and free balls on the driving range. Only the flag position can be recognized with the laser. Magnificent view of the mountains. What did a prescriber mean by his criticism? Maybe his result.

Translated by Google.

Roland O. 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

We were at this facility at the end of December 2019.
Accompanied by a great caddy. The course is fairly flat and the distances between the individual tracks are not great. A buggy is definitely not necessary. The lanes are very well maintained, greens very quickly.
Nice club house and pro shop with friendly staff.
Would love to come back.

Translated by Google.

HC Hunter 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not again

Positive: space and clubhouse in order. Well playable. Women's tees extremely far ahead.
The forcibly allocated caddy is polite.
Negative: madness on arrival. 20 men talking to us in confusion. Forced to buggy or caddy at extra cost, although booked and paid for by Germany. No taxi but shuttle mafia with "nice" prices. Small beer 6 euros. We felt really pulled out. Better Belek again.

Translated by Google.

sand30 46 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Remains unpleasant in memory!

We played the golf course in mid-October 2019 and were not thrilled. The tees were in good condition and the greens were excellent. The fairways were hard and had many bare spots. The landscape around the golf course is not appealing and barren. Without caddy you can not play the course properly, as there are no descriptions of the holes at the tee, no birdie book and no devices for ball washing. The ladies tee is a "grace tee" that was obviously added later. Worst of all, however, this tee is officially not measured and the score on the score card (red) indicates the distance from the blue tee. We learned that after the round! Tip for the ladies: Play from blue!

Translated by Google.

K. Per 299 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Dream Place

One of the best places on the ground. The tee boxes are beautiful, limited with different colored grasses, beautiful fairways, bunkers with soft sand, greens arrow fast, undulating and great to putt!
Challenging layout of the fairways, especially when playing from the penultimate white tee. Course length of white at least 6,342 m long, at par 72!!

Gastro friendly, mitlerweile there are also alcoholic drinks

Translated by Google.

charly44 35 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place

Nice well-kept place. The greens are extremely fast. Layout somewhat bland without pitfalls, women friendly red teas very short.

Translated by Google.

Richtersibila 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top 3 in Marrakesh

Played Assoufid, Ourika, Samanah and Noria. I'm not sure if I should give Samanah or Ourika the topscore. Absolutely worth playing in any case. Exciting and varied layout, excellent condition in February 2018, greens fantastic, fast as pool tables, the ball does not stop rolling and then takes even the smallest breaks. Nice clubhouse. Caddy duty yes, but after the two were not on time, they let us play without.

Translated by Google.

justGolf 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good condition and fast greens

First played on 12.11.2017 at 25 degrees and bright sun. The freshly trimmed fairways and fast greens have pleasantly surprised us (12 persons HCP between -11 and -32). Of course, the fast and tricky greens were getting used to at first. The place is very fair overall. The specifications are a little too high (with HCP 17.7 default 22 ...). Not so fine are missing Ballwasher and the few existing were without water... There are also no discount tables (graphics, pictures, doglegs, distances, etc.) in the teas. Not always easy when the course is first played. The restaurant with a nice terrace and nice service is very inviting. Food and drinks absolutely adequate but slightly overpriced (small bottle of Moroccan beer € 6:00). Altogether highly recommended and for local conditions very good.

Translated by Google.

helge2 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the most beautiful places in Marrakech

Caddy duty with good advice (if you follow their instructions!?!)

Fairways very good. Undulated greens and difficult to read, super fast - perfect.
Teilw course. Very open without lateral. Fouling.
Vorgrüns newly edited, therefore with sparse grass. (Pitch + chip almost impossible) Beautiful clubhouse terrace currently no liquor license. Therefore, almost empty. The flights come from the round, take a seat and order continued after attempted Ghen... The place with the greatest future potential.

Translated by Google.

gueheb 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Best place in Marajesch

Have now played six of the place, Caddy mandatory wsren but nice and ok. Super manicured fairways and undulating greens extreme fast little water, many bunkers but this courage proper sand.
Each time again to recommend

Translated by Google.

KASTÜ 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Every time again

Have played the course on January 24,2015.1 week for the ProGolf tournament.
Green fairways and the best in Marrakech.
Unfortunately Caddy mandatory. We had no luck with the caddies.
Ability to clean the ball before teeing was not possible.
Therefore only 4 stars

Translated by Google.

RLiedtke 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

TOP - a must in Marrakech

Travel time: in late December 2014 Hcp we were 7 and 36 To escape the beginning of the winter in Morocco D times what we both knew not to try. As a golfer is ideal for a week in Marrakech, because there are 8 places here and we could play a different course every day. The travel time (December 27th to January 04) is highly recommended, under Tags nearly 22 degrees and cloudless sky, only in the evening it is cool. Sweatshirt / sweater / windbreaker in the morning hours is a must...

Here is the review of played clubs from us today Samanah

Total system / layout: 5 stars
Condition Fairways: 5 stars
Condition Green: 5 stars
Driving Range: 5 stars
Clubhouse: 4 Star
Services: 4 stars
Pro Shop: 4 Star
Caddies: 5 stars

Green fee 60 EUR per person; Caddy 15 EUR per person

Samanah was on our journey of 4. Played place - and the first real highlight! From A to Z everything was great - Nicklaus Design comparable to courses in Arizona and Pam Springs (where we were at the end of September) and bad in any way. Top fairways, very well maintained, no bald or brown spots, super greens ondoliert, and fast - but fair. Many holes with spectacular views onto the Atlas Mountains. We also completed many houses on the edge of the fairway and inhabited (American example of community golf clubs) interfere in any way these super round of golf.
Place is certainly not easy, you have to hit a good ball to hit the right spots in the fairway. Nicklaus typically many Bunke and well-protected greens. A great place!
Caddies at its finest - not only the normal Caddy tasks, but also (really good and useful) tips for momentum, position and movement, they really deserve an extra tip!
Very nice clubhouse terrace with very good food and friendly service.
Conclusion: Definitely play!!!

Translated by Google.

BRUNO 31 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Come on fun when you play well!

This is a "tip" to my "prescribing", which has obviously confused and Gary Player to Jack Nicklaus. The place is great and also play very nice, also the trip to Marrakech is cheaper than to Arizona. All (reception, caddy master and service in the restaurant) were friendly and helpful. My Caddy - obviously everyone has the caddy he deserves - was great and also my teammates (with and without Buggy Caddy) support. The building ruins on the 1st Holes: well, yes but I will not collect there. , , , On the back nine are the villas OK! In Spain this is so! If already in Marrakech, then this place is a MUST! (Caddy Zara - I do not know how he just writes itself...).

Translated by Google.

tinolino 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice!

A very nicely kept place! A great service! But expensive. For 2 people, electric cars and rental clubs: about 220 €. With journalist's permit half. Again at any time!

Translated by Google.

Wolfsberger 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Makes no fun

The layout of the place is very good, genuine Garry player style. You can tell that here is no money, the course maintenance is neglected, everything looks very unkempt, like the buggies, which are seemingly never cleaned. The first 9 holes are surrounded by derelict buildings, which leaves an impression troslosen. Too bad, because originally a luxury resort was planned here.

Translated by Google.

Austriaco 24 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful golf course at the foot of the Atlas Mountains

We played Samanah the end of February 2014 and loved it. Even the entrance is spectacular with its great landscaping. The course itself is flat, generous and expansive. Striking are filled with white sand bunkers and sand-colored houses with their front gardens, which are in a generous distance from the fairways. The fairways and greens are really well maintained and visually in striking contrast to the white sand bunkers, and the sand-colored but pretty gardened waste areas. The restaurant and terrace are welcoming and nice, but the staff was somewhat indisposed. The caddies (150 dirham) are out in the carriage of golf bags is not really helpful and give one or two times and false advice. This great golf course you should - when in Marrakech - but be missed. The nearby Atlas Mountains with its snow-capped peaks are a worthy setting for this exceptional golf course.

Translated by Google.

TomGolf 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Unfortunately, the caddies are a nuisance

The positive votes of the previous reviewer regarding the course can I join without reservation. Unfortunately, however, are only a few Cart's available. Do not you get, you have to rely on caddies. Trolly's there are none, not even for the caddies. The wearing the bag. Also without straps! Why? I've been thinking a long time. Presumably, they are a sorry do. Then more tip. The caddies do not understand a lot of golf, but constantly give advice all the time, black uninterrupted play old balls in the pond (with the club's players), etc., etc. In short, from 3 hole would you most like to smoke on Send the moon. That is very unfortunate.
Conclusion: It is essential when making a reservation and an immediate Cart reservations. Then there's a nice round :-)

Translated by Google.

Villa Doce 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent Golf overlooking the Atlas

This course is beautiful, it is a "desert golf", the advantage is that it is not crowded. The views of the snow-covered Atlas offers a magnificent spectacle. You can also look at the site and rent villas on site. www. samanahcountryclub. com

Translated by Google.

huk 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream

I have played this course in early March 2013. By far the most challenging and most beautiful in Marrakech! I would prefer living around the square in one of the numerous villas. Long beautiful tracks alternate with challenging par 3 holes. Very fast greens, good sand in the bunkers (which is not always so in Marrakech) and very beautiful natural water hazards. The wind from the nearby Attlas or from the stony desert, wearing his contribution to the difficulty.
A nice club house with great terrace and good food.
The staff consistently friendly and helpful. This starts at the driving range and the large training facility.
Golf is so much more fun, a dream!

Translated by Google.

URoMo 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A "must"

I played the square end of October 2011.
The Review of Victoria I concur.
Who wants to play golf around Marrakech, must have this on the agenda.
I would add that the clubhouse has in its architecture I really liked. The food and service were great.
Therefore, 5 stars.

Translated by Google.

Viktoria 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sophisticated

Samanah is worth a visit. The course presents itself very American, offers beautifully bound water areas and is quite long. When the wind still plays along, a real challenge. The greens are ultra fast and undulating. Unfortunately, the fairways were during our visit in October, almost on the border, Marrakech has a dry year behind! The caddies are very hard, but sometimes a little inexperienced. Since hardly any shade is available and the distances between the holes are rather long, you should rent a cart.
The club house is ok, the staff and the service friendly.

Translated by Google.

mbarz 54 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Best Place

Very physically demanding course in excellent condition maintenance, quiet atmosphere (few players) The green fee of 800 DH has paid off (otherwise in Marrakech DH 500).

Translated by Google.

Been to Samanah Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review