User Reviews

for Royal Óbidos Golf Course, Óbidos, Portugal

4.6 of 5 stars39 Reviews

5 Stars:
27
4 Stars:
10
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 39 from 39

Rudi 25 Reviews

A true gem!

I played this course in the most dreadful weather conditions in January, with constant rain & fog, but it was one of the rounds I had most enjoyed ever.

The course is a true gem, built into the hills with a lot of imagination, setting up spectacular holes, with quite many shots over water or to island greens.

If you are around, a must play! Thanks Seve!

Rodigan 63 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fun

As one of the top 3 courses in the Praia d'el Rey region, Royal Obidos is definitely fun to play.
Not all holes are equally demanding, so that you can relax a bit so that you can concentrate fully on the next hole.
The holes where water comes into play are definitely challenging and offer lots of exciting pin positions on the green.
In between there are always great views of the landscape The condition in May was great. Both greens, fairways and tees were in immaculate condition.
After the round you sit very comfortably in the clubhouse with a beautiful view over the square.
Definitely worth playing.

Translated by Google.

Seybrew 58 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not quite to

Without a doubt this is a pretty good golf course, but it lacks that extra something to be a top place. Fairways and greens were much better on other courses in the area at the end of February and the layout is not really great either. In my opinion, the repeatedly praised "view" is not decisive for the rating, but even that is only in the upper third. As with any course with a hotel attached, you are better off with an early start time to avoid overly long lap times

Translated by Google.

giovanni 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Attractive, varied

Played at the end of February 2022. Condition: great. Greens: great. Gastro in the clubhouse: very ok. The only enemy, if there: wind. Otherwise both rounds very much enjoyed!

Translated by Google.

Jefe33 78 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Number 3 in Obidos

Number three but still good enough for 5 stars. Great views of Obidos Bay. I think holes 2,3 and 15 are the most beautiful.

Translated by Google.

FrankH 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Was already better

Last year I would have joined the choir of top ratings - not this year.

Scenic, challenging, well-kept - yes, that's right. But:

The place is being rebuilt in such a way that it is no longer possible to drive all longer tracks with a buggy. That leads to running from the path to the ball and either having three clubs with you or being annoyed that it is the wrong one. So back again? No, because the next flight is already coming from behind. So it is improvised. Not really great. Folks, it's okay if the place is just for walking - I prefer to run anyway when the place allows. But then not everyone talks about a buggy!!

Due to the conversion work, there are also many smaller construction vehicles on the way. The construction workers hit me several times - stupid and dangerous. I don't want to talk about the noise.

It was similar with the greenkeepers. The fairway was mowed or the green was watered in full calm between the flights. Sorry, you can also divide it up so that you maintain the back nine in the morning and the front nine in the afternoon. You don't have to mow 6pm at 2pm when the 10am flight arrives.

Why don't I think it's all great? If my ball hurts someone, I'm responsible - not the construction worker or the greenkeeper, no matter how stupid they act. And if I want to play golf on a construction site, it's cheaper too.

Conclusion: We felt a lot more comfortable in Praia del Rey and West Cliffs.

Translated by Google.

pathfinder 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Ballesteros legacy

I played the course 2017 with my son. Now again in 2019.
My enthusiasm is unbroken, what a place. Great condition, few tourists and some spectacular holes. A small downside, at the hotel they start to build new apartments and you look from space and sometimes on the shell. Still worth a trip.

Translated by Google.

kalle 570 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good!

Clubhouse and food top!
Seve has built a beautiful and interesting golf course at the end of his great career. Before Bom Sucesso the No. 3 in the golf Mecca Obidos...! Beautiful designed fairways and top greens are located high above the Atlantic, which is also seen by a few fairways. For me 4stars, but you should not overdo it, such a place can be found in Portugal relatively often..., if you are in Praia del Rey, you should definitely put Royal Obidos on the golf program...!

Translated by Google.

drfritzmaier 232 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super

Totally varied, sophisticated fairways. some beautiful views of the sea. E-carts necessary!
Good condition and nice clubhouse terrace.
Almost 5 *! (but in my eyes a little less pristine nature like the neighboring West Cliff course.)

Translated by Google.

apradie 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A magnificent field

A magnificent field.
Difficult, varied, with very fun holes and difficult holes.
You have to know how to handle many sticks in the bag.
The clubhouse can be improved, especially the possibility of smoking inside a closed terrace so everything stinks of tobacco.
The treatment is friendly and professional.

Translated by Google.

Golfbaellchen66 58 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Challenging

I played this course in March 2017.18 impressively heavy and challenging tracks. Many of them are remembered for a long time because they are really beautiful, creative and sophisticated.

The course has really taught me humility - but also the ambition to come back and deliver a better score.

The star deduction of the perfect 5 is for the weak offer in the pro shop and the lack of a halfway house / buggy bar

Translated by Google.

Maximilian Weiss 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice place...

... could play this great super maintained course! Can only recommend this place to play. Very varied and wide tracks. Therefore a card to recommend! Who knows how to place his balls well has a simple game :)

Translated by Google.

Sauer 44 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Severe space

In July (rainy weather and wind) challenging place not only because of the length.
Very interesting topography A buggy is recommended, some distance between the holes.
We were very pleased with the location and the condition.
Restaurant with nice view, good quality of the food

Pro shop very nicely sorted

Translated by Google.

Tito 60 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great and challenging course

The place can be described in three letters, just WOW.
A great design place with unbelievable variety in train design.
Moreover, he is in a perfect state of care and has a very good gastronomy.

Translated by Google.

Saarbrigger 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place also for players with higher HC

We had the pleasure of playing the pitch yesterday. Despite our higher HCs (26/36) we had huge fun. The course has various challenges, but also gives the one or the other bad blow (not always). The tee-offs, the fairway and the greens are superbly maintained.
The view is also nice, although Westcliffs could not be surpassed here. Westcliffs was also much more beautifully built. But we had more fun here!
With loaners you can choose between steel and carbon fiber bats... great! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The prices in the listing do not quite fit. We paid 50 euros each in August. The restaurant offers nothing to mention.
Conclusion: We were here for golfing and it was a really nice golf holiday!

Translated by Google.

pathfinder 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

What a place, bravo ballesteros

What a place you have to play. Long but always fair. The greens are found in this quality almost anywhere in Europe. We played the pitch twice in June 2017, and I think you have to look for a long time to find a gem. Luckily, no houses have been built, which will hopefully remain so for a long time. We were almost alone in the square and there you have to ask how long they still endure. Nevertheless, who is in the area, should play the place.

Translated by Google.

Papillon029 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hammerplatz

Have played this place today in strong wind.
- Environment / Outlook: HAMMER
-Plat state: Perfect
-Topography: Always new situations and challenges. Very interesting.
-Organisation: On the square and secretariat very good
-Essen: no idea, kitchen was closed on Tuesday at 1700?
We were also the only one in the club house and the place was strangely also almost empty.
-Tip: Better with ECard. 40 euro a bit steep.
Would play this place again in the golf package.
G. Grommes hcp 4.8

Translated by Google.

Jose Bü 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Remarkable Golf Course

Remarkable Golf Course Earnings before starting, in every respect a top spot.
Very fast and very well-kept greens.
From each fairway has fantastic views, either overlooking the beautiful sea or in the first nine holes of the lagoon or the beautiful vast hinterland A lot of water, each hole has its individuality, sophisticated and sporty. The staff very friendly One of the most beautiful squares in Europe.

Translated by Google.

J.H. 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Twice but enjoyed by rain

Challenging - played by white, so I was not too fast the Caddy Master - place in good condition and lightning quick greens - has made huge dpass. Thank you Seve for the place.

Translated by Google.

Dottorebernardo 44 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Built Discerning place without regard to the landscape

The site is located approximately 3 km from the coast - is therefore "by definition" no links course - in a former, now completely deforested pinewood. The result is that one is constantly exposed to the unimpeded whistling over the complex wind.

The well manicured fairways have an interesting lines and are equipped with an astonishing amount of water, sufficiently provided many bunkers and very fast greens. The driving range is reasonable equipped, just as with many golf courses such as the GC Praia del Rey groups occupied.

It is amazing that the neighboring plot as great Golf Resort should arise and the entire pine forest is again cut. The ongoing construction of the associated infrastructure is more reminiscent of the motorway construction as a future tourist resort.

Translated by Google.

Response from Eduardo Johnston da Silva, Director of Royal Óbidos Golf Course
July 28, 2016

Dear Sir, I thank you for your review and the favourable comments on the golf course at Royal Óbidos. However, you statement that a "pinewood was completely deforested to build the golf course" is… More

Dear Sir,

I thank you for your review and the favourable comments on the golf course at Royal Óbidos.
However, you statement that a "pinewood was completely deforested to build the golf course" is totally incorrect.
In fact, the original plot was a eucalyptus forest. Only eucalyptus trees were removed to build the golf course. Great care and expense was taken by the proprietary company not to remove or damage any of the existing pine trees. The few wild pine trees you saw on the golf course are the only original trees that existed on the original plot. The golf course layout was adjusted so that these trees were incorporated into the layout, at considerable cost and great concern regarding environmental issues.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Royal Óbidos and hope you will choose us again in the near future for your golfing holidays.

Kindest regards.

Eduardo Johnston da Silva
Golf Director
Resort Commercial Director

Armin 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super design

Here you have felt this, that a professional was at work. Every hole is a new Herausvorderung. Super Care state. Horny Driving Range. Great clubhouse. Hallway restaurant perfectly. The greens were erifiziert and sanded 3 days ago. There were an additional 10% on the special offer of 99, - 2 green fees including buggy.. We have never played so cheap on such a great place.
Hope the vision with the houses on it.

Translated by Google.

Gauri 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Interestingly place that still has a bit of age...

Course: varied Pfelge: good to very good greens: quick Birdiebook: should future downloadable in yards and meters have difficulty: for hitters ideal Clubhouse: modern, with huge windows Service: very friendly (like all Portuguese) Conclusion: the place can be repeatedly in a week playing (like me) view: it is produced currently, a second 18-hole course (and 3-par course)

Translated by Google.

streuhund 33 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A must

One of my top courses with perfect layout and Superpflegezustan.
At the weekend a little crowded and begun construction but otherwise just a dream

Translated by Google.

DosEquis 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Ballesteros last masterpiece

Not far from Praia D'El Rey is this demanding to be played square with a beautiful Driving Range (50 balls 5 euros). Secretariat good, very good birdiebook!
Place turns away from the spectacular 2nd hole (par 5 - green for hitters in 2 strokes reached at lake crossing 240m Carry of highly elevated tee) of Obidos Lagoon to. More beautiful holes follow. On the sea side of the square holes are the class 12 (interrupted Fairway), and 14 & 18 as a dogleg left with peninsula-green (par 4 or 5).
All around are currently still no houses built, I could well hide; Courses without adjoining houses are dearer to me anyway. Course is walkable, od in heat. Poor condition with Cart.
Restaurant "The Legend" is good.

Translated by Google.

UWV 66 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place, good service

The place is just great. Very well maintained, great fairways and well-organized flow, even if one is queuing starts on T 10 to T 1 no problem. Rapid flow of the game. Friendly staff and great clubhouse. Service and price / performance voices. Also the golf course owned Hotel "Evolutee" is great, friendly staff, great service and good quality. The sushi is great.

Translated by Google.

AndreasPees 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Maintained top

More maintained can not be a space. Very nice place and a good alternative to the spectacular Praia D'El Rey

Translated by Google.

Tee19 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top-conditioning - Top Service

Normally we do not write reviews because much is still perceived very individually.
But the last (rather moderate) Review on this golf course and the hotel has us an animated post a review.
We were for the second time for a week at the Royal Obidos course and in Evolutee hotel.
To put it just to take:
- The golf course is laid out perfectly and nicely landscaped.
- Very nice clubhouse with a view over the Atlantic Ocean and the golf course
- Organization and club management are prima
- The hotel is a boutique hotel with quite unconventional and successful design; Service and kitchen are ideally
- To the golf course around a lot of building slots are created (for Golf Villas); Golf course and hotel are part of a larger project. We enjoyed the optically not really bother.
Finally: Golf course and hotel, also in conjunction with the nearby golf course Praia del Rey, are highly recommended in our view.
And we will come back.

Translated by Google.

Berlin Golf Bear 90 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sporty Hui - Scenic Ugh!

Played on 25 and 26.03.2015, HCP 14

Rarely have I felt torn when evaluating a square back and forth.

Anyone looking for a really great golfing challenge and focuses on the sporting aspects of the game, this is the one just right. The layout of the tracks is very interesting - each track offers new challenges. Hard, undulating fairways can not guarantee that this country balls stay there - often jump or roll it quite far, are partly not stopped even by very closely mown Semi then disappear in the uncomfortable tight hard Rough (difficult regain and even harder to play) or equal to one of the many, many water hazards. These also come directly into play again and again and require strategic decisions (present, play around, attack?) That do not easily fall due to the rather sparse distances. Gusty wind comes also into play, the score achieved slightly dizzying heights and then want the turnovers are not inferior too!

The greens are hard and very fast! Also high front the green balls played bite not necessarily pick up speed and disappear behind the back of Puttfläche. But playing VOR green is not always the best choice - the greens are usually increased, so that the ball will not run up, but are previously remains or comes even rolled back. Blessed is the man who has mastered the manicured back spin! The condition of the greens is top - the fairways not - here is lacking in many areas of sufficient grass, so you have to play as hard wood. The bunkers are not particularly nice because rather uneven - while you sink down with the feet almost to the ankles in loose sand, the ball is on a covered only by very thin layer of sand, concrete hard place (or vice versa).
As I said - challenging! Place knowledge may help calm would be nice...

If someone looks for a relaxing holiday round in beautiful scenery, is definitely the place to go wrong! The front nine are quite scenic OK - pine forests on the edge of the square, nice broom bushes everywhere. Two Par3s are optically really pretty, a Par4 can keep up, the other tracks are so-so. Unfortunately disturb always stony, sandy scree optics.

But the rear Nine: Disaster! There's nothing "Royal" - except perhaps clubhouse and hotel, the omnipresent sit majestically as the winner of the architectural competition for the ugliest shoe box above the plant and are really visible from ANY point of the first 9 holes of. Furthermore, you play between screes and along roads whose ugly modern acorn-shaped lanterns are also disturbing eye-catchers. A single view of an old tower through a forest clearing auf's distant sea is rewarding.

The place is moderately hilly, but the paths between the orbits are partially arg long - who does not need it really athletic, a cart should take.

The service (ProSop, caddy master, starters, restaurant) is very friendly and efficient.

Conclusion: Generally overrated. For Layout / sporting challenge indeed smooth 4 stars, for landscape / beauty but not more than (because of the acceptable front nine) 2, for the Condition 3 - for a total of 3 (the "Bear Golf Ranking": 6 out of 10 points).

Translated by Google.

2 Lefties 44 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice, but...

The Plat is varied and in very good condition. Despite the sand greens are relatively fast. Toilet and water dispenser well located.
What we liked less, the rush to the best of times, and the end of February! With the start from 1 and 10, there is automatically a scrum after 9 holes (much more than on the Praia d'el Rey !!). We have a couple loose played 9 holes in 1h30min, then 4 he aground at 10 on the recently launched 3 times flights. The fact that these 3 hours for 9 holes used one seemed to bother (except the many flights hinendran).
The restaurant offers a great sheltered and heated terrace; can outside the fierce wind still be heard. Enjoy Your Meal; apparently also offers a dinner menu.
Total Praia d'el Rey along with a must.

Translated by Google.

astramaris 27 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super Site

Varied course, the beret holding another difficulty in every hole! Super views!
Good book, but not as crowded as Praia d'el Rey... And a lot cheaper. Ergo: the better alternative!

Translated by Google.

the dutch 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Play absolutely

Forget the thankfully not built villas. Each step on the fairways and greens is worth it. Everything is top; service, lay-out, furnished bunkers, super fast greens, seven holes with water, high / low and low / high par 3 tee box. 2 times 2 times means play great golf... with great views of the sea

Translated by Google.

DelPiero-10 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thanks Seve!

Royal Obidos is a great golf course near the city of Peniche. Now there are next to Praia d'el Rey makes an excellent second course of this area more interesting.
The whole complex is very well maintained, clean fairways, the greens perfectly stable and very fast.
It is a very varied course, which calls for a fair while and is for all leagues. A wonderful course built into the landscape with hills, water and other obstacles. Just as a golf course should be! However, should the viewing distance and height differences do not underestimate (eg from green to tee hole 1 hole 2). Overall, I recommend wüde a golf buggy, he erleichter the round but a little.
The club house is beautifully located and offers a great view over a large part of the course.
Conclusion: The place absolutely worthwhile goal, even if, in my view Praia d'el Rey in this area is still the measure of all things (sorry Seve!)

The often-mentioned construction site disturbs golfing a bit. In the current economic situation, the remaining buildings would still take some time (first showpieces are in preparation). And even when it is finished built-up, then this course is not lined on each train of holiday homes.

Translated by Google.

SpassGolfer 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent golf course!

The Royal Obidos is a wonderful golf course. We played the course mid-May.

The whole complex is very well maintained, clean fairways, the greens very wonderful tracks properly and not too fast.
The architecture is spectacular place well managed, which means it is a very varied course that is fair and still calls for all playing levels. So hitters can overcome the obstacles and risks weaker players on the fairway remain until the risk is minimized. No level playing field with ups and downs on the fairways, but a wonderful course built into the landscape with hills, water and other natural obstacles. Just as a golf course should be!
The club house is beautifully located and offers a small and tasty selection of dishes. With great views here tastes the beer after the round very well.

Conclusion: Anyone in the area is, for this place is absolutely a worthwhile goal.
The often-mentioned construction site disturbs golfing a bit. In the current economic situation, the remaining buildings should also take some time. And even when it is finished built-up, then this course is not lined on each train of holiday homes, which should not restrict him in the appeal. (HCP 10 player)

Translated by Google.

Tiger1 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thank you Seve!

Have played the square end of May 2013:
Fascinating golf course, good service, nice clubhouse!
In a few years, when all the villas here, ... will probably be the among the best in Portugal, if he does not already do that.
Moreover, even super manicured fairways and fast greens incredible!

Translated by Google.

silke 70 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Dream place?

I could play this course last week.
The view of the golf course with the prepared development is truly frightening. Hopefully keep the planned houses a real distance to the fairways.
Apart from the holes 2 to 7 one has meisst really a fantastic view of the sea. The greens are quick as lightning, and only when you have the ball they strum up a chance to hold.
Despite the young age of this place has been a tight fairway. Very rich alternation layout.
Rangers have the Spielfluß good in the hand.
The location of the clubhouse simply superb, an unforgettable sea views.

Like the two other courses nearby as well, this also has no information on distances to the obstacles on the tee. Specifically, in the second This hole would be more than desirable.
General: part of it have distance between hole and the next tee in it.

Translated by Google.

adamscott 29 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Absolutely amazing!

We stayed here end of February and have played all three courses in the vicinity. This one is the best! Please do not be put off by the lack of development!

Place State:
I've never played those fast greens! Smallest irregularities lead to extreme breaks. On 10 Green had virtually been repeatedly seen our balls in the hole before they came rolled past us...

Course layout:
Ballesteros has delivered a masterpiece here. From this place, opened in 2012, you will certainly hear a lot.

Chill comes in 10 of 18 courses of water into play, mostly just before and after the green. Since these are so extremely fast and hard, it is incredibly difficult to get hold of the ball.

The first 9 are not visible from the clubhouse. After a moderate 1 shows the place already on Tee2, a Par5 with plenty of water, his teeth. The following is a par 3 with a peninsula green. En these two additional holes are second to none.

9 The second view from the club house of not so spectacular, but not later than the second Hole (Tee11)'s back is rock hard and the water will not disappear simply following - better times to pack a few more balls.

Clubhouse / Catering:
Super stylish with a nice terrace including a sensational view of the square and the Encircling the water 18 Green.

Directions:
1 hour north of Lisbon and value every minute! 2 other top courses in the immediate vicinity.

Overall conclusion:
The best place I have ever played! Ringsrum a villa development was prepared, road and parking are already there. Even if the above does not look nice when you arrive at the place that is quickly forgotten. Trees were here instead of prepared plots 6 star would be invented!

Translated by Google.

Greenhopper 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great course

What a great place, one of the best places I know! Only believed to occur on a construction site (it is also built), but if you play on the court gets it with nothing more. The staff are all very friendly and attentive. I can only advise every golfer to play this course, it will be an unforgettable experience.

Translated by Google.

Bäcker 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sensational meadow

Royal Obidos is probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever played. Top manicured fairways and super fast greens. The railway Are beautifully landscaped and very varied - some with sea views. Also the staff at the club and the restaurant are very friendly and helpful.
This place must necessarily play when you are in the neighborhood!

Translated by Google.

golfi 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Dream place with great views

If one comes up the Sraße and the system sees it is first frightened, lots of sand, made roads and no building except the clubhouse, but in this desert is a really great place. If you stand on the court and play, one sees relatively little of this remote area. The site is located on two sides, off operations with views of the lagoon of Obidos and magnificent views of the sea. The road from lane 1 to lane 2 is very long and tiring, but then it goes.
At the end of the round but we know what you did. If you do not like running should definitely take a cart. The fairways and greens were in great condition and speed of an arrow. Of the railways will not be bored on, with some crisp par 3 and water is in play. This makes it really fun to play and it is required. The space should be more than 1x play, great combination with Praya del Rey. Definitely book a package, otherwise too expensive 100 € on weekdays and weekend 120 €. The club house is very modern and is slightly elevated, with great views of the grounds and the ocean. All very friendly and relaying. We played the square 2x end of April 2012.

Translated by Google.

Been to Royal Óbidos Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review