User Reviews

for Royal Golf Marrakech, Morocco

3.7 of 5 stars39 Reviews

5 Stars:
10
4 Stars:
12
3 Stars:
13
2 Stars:
4
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 39 from 39

Drewby 4 Reviews

Old Course needs upgrading

Old colonial style course. All fairways play through an avenue of beautiful old trees. Flat fairways, flat greens and bunkers you can putt out of don't make for an inspiring round of golf though. Its old style but could seriously do with a cosmetic update. There seems to be no shortage of money being spent on a new clubhouse. Hopefully some money left to spend on the course. With increasing competition from new built courses around Marrakesh I hope this one doesn't get neglected. AC PGA Pro

Danut Munteanu 54 Reviews

Good, but no high class!

I was preparing for a tournament in EGYPT, here in MARRAKESCH. I was preffer this golf course because I heard here was playing HASSAN II trophy. I was playing 3 days here, on the back tees. Except the ATLAS MOUNTAINS, there is nothing very special, there are a lot of orange trees and they have on old Course hole no. 15 (called BRIGITTE BARDOT) which is an average PAR 3 but very well guarded green, by bunkers, trees and hills. The green's speed is 9,5-10 feet. MENARA golf course is definitely more dificult than OLD COURSE first 9 holes...
Above all, they have a lovely girl on secretariat... RIME whom was like a fresh orange. Everybody else trying cheating, as all over in MARRAKESCH.
Tip : do not use nothing else than public taxi. They expect a little tip, but all others will ask you 3 times more money! Especially do not take taxi from front of your hotel! Even they looks like a public cab and have some authorization.

charly44 78 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The finest

It couldn't be better, the place is shorter but not uninteresting. Some fairways are narrow and the greens are extremely fast and well defended by punks, so precise play is required. The good care and the beautiful park landscape with top service round off a perfect day of golf. Playing here is really an experience and I can only recommend it to everyone.

Translated by Google.

g&c 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Oldie but goldie

Played on 3/9/2023. The buggies pre-reserved for our small group were not available upon check-in. However, a solution was found by the time the game started. The manager was hard-working and creative. We recommend playing with caddies anyway. Two caddies cost no more than one buggy and it is a pleasure to get to know the caddies and enjoy their service. English-speaking caddies ask if you don't speak French yourself. Otherwise it will be a bit difficult.
The course is pleasant to play. Green fairways, beautiful greens - a bit slower than the fast ones on the neighboring courses, so it's easier. The short fairways help to play a good score. Provided you stay with the tee on the often relatively narrow fairways.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 462 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Redesigned?

The place is almost unrecognizable. Apparently the fairways were laid out with a lush green lawn, the rough equipped with a lighter type of grass. Care 1A!
Yes, of course, the course is flat and not particularly long, an old parkland course with a beautiful layout.
Bunker with soft sand and very easy to play.
So we were quite amazed at how the old course has improved.
Greens not too fast but neatly maintained.
Clubhouse with the atmosphere inside legendary anyway.

Translated by Google.

Franziska_Roland 87 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Flat parkland

We Hcp 11 and 9 played the Old Course in December 2019 and now again on December 25th, 2022. The balls on the DR are free, but there are only mat tees. The lanes are flanked by trees, some wider, some narrower. Unfortunately, there are no course descriptions on the tees. Fairways were well overgrown and the bunkers were filled with enough light-colored sand, but often not fair. There is no water hazard. The greens were partly a bit brown, but cut acceptable and true to the line. It wasn't very busy that day, we walked through with hand trolleys in less than four hours. We're playing here again, although the street noise can be heard on one side of the square.

Translated by Google.

lunatic 54 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Unfortunately, only a shadow of the good old days

The place is in the autumn of 2019 still in a pretty bad condition. The fairways are partly barren, burnt or earthy. The bunkers only pits and between the fairways dams the water that is missing on the fairways. The greens are now pretty battered and unevenly fast. In addition, the flight management is catastrophic. The flights are sent to the pitch regardless of tee time. Flights with local caddy then suddenly cut in the middle of it in front of you on the track and the game pace is very slow, as players are left on the course that can not play golf at all. In the flight ahead of us, two ladies regularly took more than 10 strokes to get on the green. So each hole lasted almost 30 minutes before they let us overtake us after a lot of good persuasion on the 4th hole.

Pity about the great park and the sensational clubhouse. My tip plays next to the Amelkis Square and then goes to the Royal in the clubhouse for food and drink, to see the great atmosphere. It is not really worthwhile to play golf, as there are much better places in the region.

Translated by Google.

K. Per 462 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Where did the care go?

Superficially, the Royal is sensational, right parkland with old trees, well-maintained very nice clubhouse, but otherwise...?
Unfortunately, the place is in a very unpleasant state. Extremely many Kahlstellen, partly marshy fairways, you sink into the clay soil when you are off the fairways, so not worth 4 stars.
Greens are nice and fast, but otherwise...?
Only by the tradition one does not live.

Best fairways were the well-known par 3, the lane 9, supposedly modeled on the breasts of Brigitte Bardot and lane 13, the heaviest hole on the course, with increased tee.

Translated by Google.

kalle 731 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Royal Golf Course

At the beginning of February, the old Royal Marrakech showed his best during our visit. Already at the entrance gate we were on the right parking lot. Super ProShop, starter at the tea 1 of the Oldcourses (that's what he's called now, we visited the New Course after our round, he does not reach the Oldcourse in any way) and then we went on the front 9 on not quite perfect fairways. The great ingrown tracks are from the 8 then really contemplative and on the rear 9 already new fairways were sown, which were much denser and green.
In the evening sun, the ancient (certainly not spectacular) Oldcourse was a feast for the eyes! Noble, Reverend and despite the dense trees, very nice to play! For us a must if you live in the east of the city, 4stars earned!

Translated by Google.

Wopp7 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Unimaginative

Were here in Dec 18, unkempt fairways, 4cm!
Bunker from earth, many construction works, fairways to which one does not remember.
Only the 18 was ok, sand in the bunker, mowed, Grüna arrested but that must be.
Clubhouse very good, but we were here to play golf

Translated by Google.

Patricia - HH 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderfully green, unfortunately chaotic mess

For local conditions, the place is wonderfully green with many large trees, the pleasant shade donate, gorgeous! Unfortunately we had a total of 4x (!) Players in front of or behind us on our round, who did not belong there and came from some of the other 3x9 holes. When we asked the passing starter on the 13th, before these players came (who stopped us), we were told that he had caused the four-flight to start on the 13 because there was so much going on elsewhere. Sorry, but that's not royal and unfortunately spoils our rating for this place.

Translated by Google.

helmut pöttler 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Objective judgment:

I had the pleasure also to play this golf course (middle of March 2018).

The clubhouse:
Very nice. It is also great that you have places to eat at the "HOLY RACE". Furthermore great seating with views of one of the many putting greens, the 18er and the Atlas Mountains.

The space:
Teeboxen: very beautiful fairways: very beautiful and juicy green.
Greens: fast and very well maintained.
Bunker: very well maintained and well placed - for all HC classes.
Obstacles: beautiful well-kept water hazards.

Overall a must when in Marrakech.

Good caddies with knowledge.

NEGATIVE:
Only part of the night: hotel own place and therefore a reservation is possible at least 48 hours before.

Translated by Google.

Didi61 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Harmoniously

Good, the tracks are a bit short but the beautiful trees and the atmosphere of this club makes up for it easily.
If you want to enjoy golf and play a nice old course, here is gold right. And in strong winds anyway the first choice, as this is the only protected place.
Unfortunately, the tracks are quite comparable (even), so 1 star deduction.

Translated by Google.

cash_stetten 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf at it's best

Played on 2.3.2018 I Hcp 21 with my wife Hcp 26 We've rarely played such a relaxed round on a really well-maintained course without any restriction. You do not need a caddy.
Anyone who has something to complain about is not to help. The stupid talk of the place is not for longhitter I can not understand. Just leave the driver stuck and have fun.
Because he is guaranteed here!

Translated by Google.

Shank 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Only for the sake of nostalgia

In short, playful places are preferable. However, unlike all other relatively generous facilities, this facility requires precise ironwork. Condition leaves much to be desired, the new CLUB HOUSE (opening in April), however, is a showpiece. Staff very friendly. In order to play a classic old-fashioned place, the visit belongs to the repertoire

Translated by Google.

Georg Titleist 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old school golf

The tracks are interesting to play without water hazards and you can tell from the great trees, that this place has existed for some years. Unfortunately, the fairway was not well maintained and the new clubhouse is apparently never finished (driving range is also locked). For this you have to train Oh 9 (Rouge) involuntarily think of the lovely Brigitte Bardot ;-)

Translated by Google.

HPgolf 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Playing in the shade

10th Sept 2017.

One of the oldest places in Marrakech. Many trees line the fairways and provide shade for the old course (Vert et Rouge course). The course Vert was more varied and exciting than the course rouge. The course bleu, from the yellow tee is 200m longer, was closed due to renovations.
I played the course with a very good Caddy, Hassan. He taught me a lot and played with his help a wonderful day and 27 holes in 4.5 hours. A classic place from the sixties. The fairways are mostly straight and have flat bunkers in the landing zone and the greens are defended by bunkers left and right. Hole 9 (rouge), named after Brigitte Bardot, is the crowning achievement of a round of golf.
The driving range was closed because of the new building of the clubhouse. This is to be opened in January 2018. To play in a small chipping and putting green is available. A caddy is not compulsory.

Translated by Google.

Tommy_B 28 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf with a guarantee of pleasure

After playing several times the place in previous years, I was still curious... and was not disappointed. The original Old Course is newly divided into 3 9-hole courses with the new 9-hole course. I advise necessarily the original Old Course to play now the courses green and red. A wonderful, old parkland course in pristine condition care. Even on hot days to play because of the shady forest cover well. Whether with caddy or cart a game enjoyment especially for high and medium HCP. The caddies I experienced consistently competent.

The organization and the flow of the game are very good. The staff is very friendly and the new catering fine.

Conclusion: A guarantee for a very pleasant and relaxing day of golf

Translated by Google.

knube 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place with many old trees

Without Caddy (Trolley).
We played the course three times and never had to wait (good flow of the game).
Also one was not inclined looked at because you did not want a Caddy (as in other places !!).
The place is very well maintained and due to the many trees the tracks are lush and green, the greens were in good shape.
The place is relatively simple and can be seen on most tracks where you hinspielt which place would be somewhat more difficult if he had received from me the top rating.
Clubhouse and restaurant were also very good (great variety and well cooked).

Translated by Google.

zilkenss 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Magnificent old trees - beautiful place

The course is situated on the outskirts of Marrakech In the middle of old trees. The clubhouse is a provisional arrangement to a new location moved but that does not bother. Very ordinary gastronomy with good seafood - fresh sole at very pleasant price.
The place in very good condition - you play with caddy (200 dirhams) and has for a coach round vain. At least that was with Hassan that. The greens not too fast. The individual tracks quite challenging with some elevated tees. A very enjoyable round of golf. Always recommended.

Translated by Google.

helge2 21 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf enjoyment on sore beautiful parkland course

No Caddyppflicht (Trolley).
Here locals play!!!
Beautiful old parkland course between palm and eucalyptus avenues.
Fairways mostly just z. T. dry.
Greens in excellent condition hold good, not extra fast and easy to read.
Clubhouse by container optics influenced but prima Cuisine: Local and fish in all variations and fresh oysters, Fully Zeichneer wine and good price / performance ratio.
Who goes on holiday in Marrakech, this place should not be missed. (Hole 1 - 18. The new 9 not done!) Unlike some other highly acclaimed courses a round of golf pleasure for body and mind!!

Translated by Google.

Genießerin 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful old place

In my opinion it is the most beautiful place in Marrakech. Beautiful mature trees, the place in great condition, the Old Course (green and red) is really a pleasure. Menara, the new course offers a great view of the Atlas, but is not as nice. Service in the clubhouse is very good. The only minus is the clubhouse, looks like a container storage. There is also a Daily green fees is a great thing when you want to play more than 18 holes.
Any time.

Translated by Google.

gueheb 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Getting on in years

We played Red & Green Course, narrow fairways, very fast greens, the course requires accurate straight game, caddies are very different in quality, otherwise the price is nice to play

Translated by Google.

KASTÜ 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Too bad for every euro

Played in January 2015!
State of the fairway very bad.
Too bad for every euro

Translated by Google.

RLiedtke 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Well...

Travel time: in late December 2014 Hcp we were 7 and 36 To escape the beginning of the winter in Morocco D times what we both knew not to try. As a golfer is ideal for a week in Marrakech, because there are 8 places here and we could play a different course every day. The travel time (December 27th to January 04) is highly recommended, under Tags nearly 22 degrees and cloudless sky, only in the evening it is cool. Sweatshirt / sweater / windbreaker in the morning hours is a must...

Here is the review of played clubs from us, now Royal Golf de Marrakech in combination Blue (Menara) and red (Old Course)

Total investment / Layout: 4 stars
Condition Fairways: 3 stars
Condition greens: 3 Star
Driving Range: 2 stars
Clubhouse: 3 Star
Services: 3 stars
Pro Shop: 3 Star

Green fee 55 EUR per person; Cart 10 EUR per person

The place is probably really getting old. Flair and köngliches we have not felt. For layout: narrow, narrow and small greens - what you would expect from an old parkland course. Green arrow quickly (despite regular maintenance). Many unkempt areas both in and outside the fairway. All told, by round has already been fun, but we did not come down. Partly very confusing assortment of holes with unclear signage bezgl. The next discount (we had a few times Flights front of us, who had lost his way and stood on the wrong tee box).
Clubhouse is probably temporary as wood container, but plenty of tables to sit outside and enjoy the sun.

Translated by Google.

TanjaE 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not very regal

Yes, I can connect me with my predecessors.
The management chaotic, golf caddies not tested (phoned the tee!) Short, not very well maintained and quite boring space.
The greens were, however, in very good condition.
Probably the trees along the fairways provide shade in the hot summer is helpful but in December there are better golf courses around Marrakech.

Translated by Google.

tinolino 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Getting on in years

The old place has a beautiful old trees! Provides shade! Not very sophisticated, in a not so perfect condition and everything is a little messy (suddenly came to a youth tournament at hole 7). In the women's locker room a woman was on the floor, between the banks and prayed toward Mecca, the terrace of the club was anything but "regal". But we got from the operation even cooked a delicious meal! This is all good and romantic, just for the price is too high! 2 people, Elektocaddy, old bats, 18 holes: € 240. We received with press card 50% discount.

Translated by Google.

golfrookie 42 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

It's not all royal

Anticipation, I have here the beginning of March 2014 played my best round ever. The tracks are in time a bit bland and there is basically only just out, left and right are the trees and the tracks are a bit short. Always and everywhere working. This can be annoying with time. The caddy master was not really oriented, finally I played without caddy. Start times are not adhered to. In the restaurant, they have erred slightly when changing money, but not to my favor.
The tracks are fairly well maintained, the greens (like all in Marrakech) pretty fast. Conclusion: If you close all the other clubs has been through, then you can also play here.

Translated by Google.

Austriaco 27 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful and dignified Parkland Course

We played Royal Palm "Menara" and "Old Course (Return)" the end of February 2014. Due to its dense palm and tree cover of this oldest golf course in Marrakech is a real feast for the eyes and in hot weather enjoyable to play because shady. The place itself is not too hard and long, the fairways are lush green but sometimes quite narrow, the bunkers and tricky greens moved quickly and well maintained. Particularly striking is a par-3 with name "Brigitte Bardot", because the two hills before the green echoes the forms of their legendary bust size. One can not miss after the round to visit the beautiful restaurant garden with many beautiful orange trees and teak furniture. There it can be in the shade with a good bottle of wine or a beer brand "Casablanca" good reminiszieren on the round - the beverage and food offer is excellent.
Caddies by 120 dirhams the round are obligate, friendly and mostly helpful and earn an extra tip.

Translated by Google.

JFA 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Parkland à la Marocaine

9 October 2013 played, from yellow. If you do not want a caddy, but only trolley, you pay the same price (without tip ...). Space is very comfortable because it has plenty of shade and beautiful 'Parkland' trees. Of length and topography not challenging to play many chances par. Some greens in poor condition, but overall pretty neat place. The age of the place, therefore, provides a lot of charm, but quality of the lifts and irrigation also not great. The new 9 holes (with lighting) were not playable starter meant fertg built in about 2 months. If then play here in Marrakech and only have time for one round.

Translated by Google.

BW 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful trees

The place is easy to play, not very sophisticated but wonderfully with the many trees. The caddies were able to give good advice. Then you should also MAD 50 - 100 additionally give a tip.

Translated by Google.

huk 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful and shady

This place you have to play when it gets too hot, shade is always available. We played the course in March 2012. The caddies were good because we had ordered on this recommendation. But there are also other here! The club house is ok, the restaurant under the trees very pleasant. The driving range is not a hit, something far away (with transport). The driving range costs and also the additional balls!
The fairways and greens are good. The individual holes but a little short. Straighter which discounts one has little difficulty.

Translated by Google.

olaf 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Royal Course!

We played in early January and felt it from the Athomsphäre, topography, trees and em difficulty as the best in Marrakech. Long but also not easy fairways, but wuderschön! The driving range could be better, but overall real challenge!

Translated by Google.

URoMo 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A disappointment

I have played the square end of October 2011 (Menara / Koutoubia).
Of a "royal" place I expected more.
In a very small space 27 holes are crammed together.
After four holes, the course offers no surprises.
Somehow he comes in front of a neglected.
The equipment of my caddies, his trolley was miserable. Torn and knotted fastening straps.
Clubhouse at most average.
Too bad!

Translated by Google.

PGS 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great old place

Beautiful place surrounded by old trees. Not very long - but somewhat challenging. Very good Plegezustand.
We played two of the three rounds (Kutoubia and Menara) - these were pretty different. Good combination.
Caddies were seh nice - we had a lot of fun - then this is probably a matter of luck.

Translated by Google.

Michael Rolf 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Scenic okay, but...

We played the course in early February, 2011. The Royal is now over 100 years old - and it presents itself. Old trees, the greens well, the fairways a bit in years. The caddies largely passive, listless, sometimes cheeky - "a lady a coke costs for each caddy extra Champaign normal" - 100 dirhams officially, but alas, it's nothing additional!

Translated by Google.

mbarz 61 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Scenic

Of 6 courses played, this was the most scenic place.
Caddy is even good golfers and certain information. However, the behavior after payment of 100 DH was rude.

Translated by Google.

laura-sun 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Royal unkempt

Magnificent old trees and actually a fantastically beautiful place. However, it had been after the first impression feel a certain Phlegmadie there is pretty much in all the areas of the golf club. Fairways and greens in poor condition. The caddies, cockpit, are almost an impertinence, in old jeans they were bored during the discount under the tree. All in all very disappointing with strong green fees!

Translated by Google.

Sportfreund 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Royal Golf

A place that is almost 90 years old, gorgeous waxed, viiielen with tall trees, mostly wide fairways and small greens. The place seemed clean and was well worth a visit, even if the design is something quite antiquated.
Caddies are mandatory and costs about 11 €.

Translated by Google.

Been to Royal Golf Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review