User Reviews

for Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, Vila Nova De Cacela, Portugal

4.8 of 5 stars41 Reviews

5 Stars:
36
4 Stars:
3
3 Stars:
1
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
1
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 41 from 41

JoJo 28 Reviews

Top top top

Unbelievable beautiful course, extremly well maintained, fast and difgicuilt greens, monster bunker, some of them 3 meters deep, tough bermuda fluff grass arounf the greens, lot of water, superb driving range.
Great experience!!!

JoJo 28 Reviews

What a treat

Lovely course on the Algarve. Every hole an enjoyment.
Excellent condition for fairways and greens.
Staff extremly friendly and helpfull.
Difficuilt to play for high handicapers.
Unfortunately you need to take a buggy.

marianne dk 1 Review

What a lovely day in March

Was recommended Monte Rei, thank you very much! Early tee time then delightfull tapas were included.
We 2 girls with grey hair played from silver tee - our best golf at the Algarve coast - and we will be back next year!

Krister 2 Reviews

Best in Algarve & Portugal, and top in Europe!

Let's start with the most important: MR is a great golf course! Challenging, hilly, varied, mint condition! Then in addition, outstanding practice facilities (come early so that you can use them!), club house, shop & facilities in the same league, and then a fantastic restaurant!
What then makes Monte Rei one of the best in Europe is that you feel very welcomed as a guest, and even as a mid-handicaper. The course, the practice facilities and the service is all there for you. It's not an exclusive club where you feel you are intruding, or isn't really welcome. MR is world class!

Harry Hall 19 Reviews

Don't miss this.

If you are in the Tavira area this is a must play. It's a cracking layout. Challenging but very playable. Everything about the place is top notch. Highly recommended.

tom weisskopf 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream

A real world class place!
With that, all has been said!

Translated by Google.

Toms 19 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

To be better should be difficult

... from check in to the end everything was perfect.

Thank you for this wonderful golf day.

Translated by Google.

MAJ 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream

Tranquility, lots of space, great service and a really far above average layout in nature. This is how playing golf is fun.

Translated by Google.

Oesigolfer 40 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just gorgeous

As part of our stay at the nearby Robinson Club Quinta da Ria, we played the course in the spring of 2016-2017 and 2018 - and each time we were again very pleased with space and organization. This is simply highly professional - from check-in to e-carts, marshall, starter, driving range, etc.
The course itself is crisp, not easy to play, and unfortunately not playable without e-cart. But still a pleasure - the different lanes really make their mark, every lane is completely different, most of the time you feel like you are traveling alone. The paths between the tracks is long (therefore e-cart duty), but are rarely seen other golfers.
The price is of course high, but if you know that they are not really dependent on green fee players, you understand that.
In the clubhouse one expects a name plaque after the first two rounds - but from the third on there is no more.
All in all a fantastic place, the green, the white bunkers, the blue water and the wonderful sky - a madness. Should one play, if one is already in the proximity (no 10 minutes by taxi from the RC Quinta da Ria!) Another tip - since the area is elevated, it can be much cooler than on the coast, take appropriate clothes!

Translated by Google.

sand30 27 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf-class

We played the course in early June and it presented itself in a great condition. The greens were fast and line loyal and the fairways were well maintained. Since each fairway is located in a small valley, you can see neither the players in front nor the players afterwards. This creates an atmosphere that is otherwise only available on private golf courses - this is certainly a special feature in Portugal!

Translated by Google.

klaus bode 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just the best!

This place MUST be played! From the top reception service to the great practice facility, the manicured fairways to the lightning-fast greens, it's THE golfing experience par excellence! We booked the Twilight Special (155 €) and were received as the Kings. The place is hard but fair. Every track in another valley so you play the course almost alone! Pure enjoyment! Be sure to play!! sfallssspispielen!

Translated by Google.

OPA JOHNNY-der GOLFPLATZ-SAMMLER 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Must have played!

I was able to play the course for the second time in 2 years in January. After s. At the time on the first lap "it was really hard for me", this time I had a better grip on the place. If you know the challenges facing MONTE REI and can adapt to them, then this place is really fun.
I will come back.

Translated by Google.

Response from Darren Griffiths, Director of Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
February 13, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience more the 2nd time. Please come back and see us soon. The Golf Team More

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience more the 2nd time. Please come back and see us soon.
The Golf Team

Golfbaellchen66 56 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Could not be better

I played this place 2x (2015 and 2016). € 180 Greenfee sounds a lot first, but are absolutely justified by the perfect service and the sensational place.
The bags are loaded onto the Buggy's by Club employees, the staff lead the players onto the driving range, turn the buggies into the game while you're playing, and then I'm back to guide the players to tee 1, explain the downpour and to say goodbye to the round. On the 18th green you will be received again, receive a reminder and the clubs will be cleaned.
At this service every top club has to be measured.

The course itself extends over many small valleys, you hardly see any other group of players, feels like playing the course alone. Each fairway is an absolute unique.

A place that you must have played.

Translated by Google.

Response from Darren Griffiths, Director of Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
February 13, 2018

What a review, many thanks. Please come back and see us soon. The Golf Team More

What a review, many thanks. Please come back and see us soon.
The Golf Team

Enjoy Golf 51 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just great!

There is hardly such a lot of nature around the golf courses in the Algarve (including the corresponding tranquility). And such a successful mix between wide fairways and permanent challenges not (demanding drives, deep bunkers, a lot of water in the game and so on). In addition, shortly after Christmas, the care condition was 1a. Unique to the region is the service level (from valet parking to racket cleaning and personalized souvenir plaque). In short: super place, largely untouched nature and excellent service - the absolutely best far and wide! Worth every penny.

Translated by Google.

Rodigan 41 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top service, top place, top price

We played the course in November 2017 and can certainly confirm the quality of service and space.
Whether this is worth more than € 200, depending on the tariff, everyone has to answer for themselves.

The whole service from the arrival, over the care on the range, to the care on the round and afterwards is absolutely top.
At the start we were offered uncomplicated earlier to start if we wanted, so we would not be stopped too much behind several 4-flights.

The Marshall was always present and offered us as a 2er Flight to worry about let us play through, if we were too slow.

The course itself is located in the hinterland of the coast in a slightly hilly area, which also determines the layout.
Again and again you have tees on a lower fairway or a green, it is uphill to play.
Again and again views offer in the surrounding countryside, which is still largely undeveloped here.

In November, the place was relatively dry, so it was often difficult to calculate the roll of the ball without knowledge of space.
The greens were sent fresh, but still fast and faithful.

As mentioned in other reviews, one should not take the score under these conditions too seriously and simply enjoy the place.

The club restaurant has been seen elsewhere cozy. The food was delicious and the service without exception friendly.

Conclusion: Play, if you can get over the height of the green fee.

Translated by Google.

Birdie Hunter 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top of Portugal - Best in Class in Europe

I played the course on Friday 25 November 2016th Everything, absolutely everything here is on absolute highest level - from the first to the last second. More, there is nothing more to write.

Translated by Google.

Response from Darren Griffiths, Director of Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
November 28, 2016

Birdie Hunter, Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you back to Monte Rei very soon. More

Birdie Hunter,

Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you back to Monte Rei very soon.

Magic1 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Money matter PLatz have to play

I played Monte Rei on 11.02.2016 for the first time. Must say this, I played not so many international courts.
Was by far the nicest golf course. Each train had a special view. By width of the fairways can be played with a higher handicap space.
Service topp. Man is the practice area, brought tee and also picked up.
Restaurant I can not comment because I have only a little drunk.
Who is in the area, and prepared 190 € incl. Card and balls for the driving range to invest, this should do.
A fellow Pro was also on the round and is just as excited about this place.

Translated by Google.

Anja81 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worth every penny!!!

We (Hcp 0 and 11) have played the course in October 2016th Who is not willing to pay 190 EUR for a round of golf, which is to make it from the outset and not play the course and then evaluate bad because of the green fees. For all others: The place is worth every penny! We have for our money a fantastic service (super friendly staff, the bats were cleaned before and after the round, the carts were loaded), latest carts with GPS, water on the course, Titleist ranking balls, 5-course tapas menu get in fantastic condition after the round and a golf course.
The design of the golf course is fantastic, very many discounts from top to bottom with wonderful views. The fairways allow the ball in play to retain, yet strategic game is required because of the many well-placed bunkers on the fairway and around the green. The condition was perfect.

Translated by Google.

gorillero 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great day

As the title says. We have been received surprisingly warm (considering some comments). At the friendliness and professionalism of the staff can not be faulted. The restaurant we have not tested, but the rest was definitely on a par with 5 star. Buggy with GPS, fast greens, manicured fairways, good Rangers, always new and surprising paths and viewing angle, no stress. We would go back anytime.

Translated by Google.

Rich 30 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Terrible

A place that can just be desired and certainly one of the best in Europe. For 5 star. Anyone who thinks that it does not depend on him 190 euros Fee (and play golf), should enjoy the space. Personally I feel such prices just as embarrassed the arrogant behavior of local staff by the way as well. 4 star deduction.

Translated by Google.

Response from Darren Griffiths, Director of Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
February 13, 2018

We do not like when a custome leaves Monte Rei with less than 5 star service. Please can you send us a review of what happened to you on this day to golf@monterei. com? Regards The Golf Team More

We do not like when a custome leaves Monte Rei with less than 5 star service. Please can you send us a review of what happened to you on this day to golf@monterei. com?
Regards
The Golf Team

Anakin 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place - Restaurant NEVER again!!!

Have now played the course for the 2nd time.
Great tracks, very nice design.
But Expensive but it's worth it to play there.

Only the restaurant sees me defninitiv NOT again.
Have there last week gegesen a Ceasa salad and smiled at me about food poisoning. And the top management of the club sweeping the sometimes loosely from the table - along the lines of - you can have is indeed brought anywhere - not in our - as weak as that!

Mail communication attached:

Hello,

We spent yesterday 18 holes with a group of 6 people coming over from the Robinson Club.

After the round we ordered some food in the bar.
I got a Caesar salad - first it came with no sauce at all ?? !! ??
After complaining I got some some sauce.
The taste what morethan bad -anyway I ate it Because I was very hungry. After returning to the Robinson I started to feal sick!
The hole night I had to vomit and had high feaver - the typical symptoms having a food poisoning!

For a location you like to represent I would expect a lot higher standard and food qualify did alligns to did vision!

Very bad, as I had to cancel our workout and the 18 holes. Not what you want just having one week off!

Regards

___

Thank you for your email Which has received my full attention.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of the food served in our grill restaurant. I Will certainly discuss this matter with our boss and we will review the quality of our caesar salad All which is without a doubt one of our most popular dishes.

On the food safety front, I would like to enphasise did we have a HACCP program in place for many years now (hazard analysis and critical control points - a systematic preventive approach to food safety), we are audited on a regular basis by a certified company and we always achieve very high scores on our program. I manage the resort for 8 years now, we operate three different restaurants, and I am proud to say did we never had a case of food poisoning. Our grill restaurant is open all day, from breakfast to dinner, we served a high number of meals during the day you visited us (including a few caesar salads) and we have not heard of anyone else mentioning a similar trouble. I do not question the factthat you got sick but it may havebeen Caused by manyother reasons besides the food you ate at Monte Rei.

Again, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant, and please accept my apologies for this experience. I hope this incident hasnt tarnished your trust in our services and, shoulderstand you choose to visit us again, I Will certainly make sure you are very well looked after and did you change your opinion about our gastronomy.

Looking forward to hearing from you and hopefully to welcome you back to Monte Rei sometime soon.

With kind regards,

Salvador Lucena
Director Geral / General Manager
salvador. lucena @ monterei. com
Monte Rei Golf & Country Club T. +351281950950 - F. +351281950951 - www. monterei. com - Sesmarias - Apartado 118 - 8901-907 Vila Nova de Cacela - Portugal

Translated by Google.

Pinseeker 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Should be played

Expensive, but leaves little to be desired. Service & Clubhouse attention. The first nine holes start something rude. Not really easy to play. The second nine holes are visually a hammer.

Despite the relatively high green fees this course should be played once. It is actually in a good collection.

Translated by Google.

Antakur von Bitvelt 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place, but...

Now have played the course several times in tournaments. Undoubtedly, the design and landscape is truly amazing. If you should only evaluate the games themselves, the site has certainly deserves 5 stars.
However, there are a few things that I still look at something personally Rating reducing.
1. It will be, even if no one else is to see on the court, beaten hell-bent to play quickly. It is even compelled to leave out a hole and a hole continue to play forward (in the tournament !!!) 2. The price of 190 € for a round of golf - when you play four are the nearly 800 € - I find the rest for every place in the world too much. I have never paid for - I will never!
If it had not been included in the package, I would have missed this place for sure!
3. The prices in the restaurant are "outstanding". A sandwich for more than € 10 - drinks at a huge price. As one goes after the round of fun.

The place is "right in the middle of nowhere" - one imagines that there that one is the center of the golf world. I'm really machined, how long it takes until this very nice place befallen the same fate as Quinta do Vale.
One has to remain with its pricing demands on the carpet - then come back visits!

Translated by Google.

KlausG 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

If on the East Algarve: Be sure to play!

Monte Rei is in the mountains, taxi about 8 km / € 15 from the Robinson Club Quinta da Ria.

With over 30 HCP I was very skeptical to play the course at all, online is yes then "of red" is recommended. I paid the full 190 EUR and finally played on the recommendation of the representative of silver in the late morning.
A par, bogey, 5 double bogeys. 12 Balls to 4 holes lost.

You are very welcome, from the first moment.
Locker rooms and showers are very noble.
Driving Range is generous. Birdie Book (per lane 2 pages) and scorecard also at its finest. Walls of toilets lined on the court with corten steel.

On the site:
A ride on the cart for a green to the next tee are already tens of meters. You drive a piece in the cart in the mountainous countryside, then again around the corner and once again a completely new outlook does a great car to.
Conclusion: the Tip of the employee who has guided me to the DR and sent to the court "enjoy your day" (despite high handicap) was spot on. The scenery is great and the tracks are as beautifully tricked by the layout.

Tee times are every 12 minutes - in principle can already be seen in the DR and no man on the pitch perhaps far away times a cart. Now and then a boarding Scart passes. 0.5 ltr. Soft drink Euro 3.50. In Cart "only" 0.5 liters per person. Water.

The flags can be seen dark blue and something bad in accordance with the corporate identity of MonteRei.

The Experience and the whole package is simple customer oriented 100%. This includes the welcome after 18 and presentation of a "Monte Rei" pendant engraved with the first and last name, and then clean the bat.

The 190 euros only visually Quinta da Ria expensive-even costs to Cart 130 euros and then there is the token for the DR balls on it. But there is the clock for 10 minutes and it will always 4p Flights collected.

Translated by Google.

manfredf 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A top spot!

Both the design, from the maintenance state as well as from the service of the very friendly staff ago.

highly recommended!

Translated by Google.

kalle 405 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

World class Nicklaus!

Surely one of the best courses in Europe! What a design, what a perfect state of the whole area and what a fantastic golf course! With me personally Monte Rei is behind Praia del Rey and Oitavos Dunes number 3 in Portugal!
Every tour golfer must have played this course once!
Thanks Jack!!!

Translated by Google.

Bunkerqueen 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Championship Course Suspects

Have the Course end of May played as part of the "East Algarve Trophy". Very impressive ... ;-) bunker... landscape and the scenic views, a dream. It is repulsed a lot of "up". I think it's great. This gives long drives,-D, also from Ladytee.
Best-kept condition. Top attentive service. Walk is not desirable.
Where else can you please get Titleist practice balls and teas:-D.
Would definitely play again.

Translated by Google.

LongDrive 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the best places

I played the course in November 2013. The place is simply a dream. Here you should look less to the score, and rather enjoy the scenery. Marshal and support on the course are excellent.
At this time the service was acceptable in the clubhouse. A waitress was busy with a group, and further employees were unmotivated at the bar I will come back again.

Translated by Google.

2 Lefties 43 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent

Played in March 14 as the Twilight, absolutely great! Unlike other courses in the Algarve Monte Rei is definitely worth its price! We will play again here. On the score, you should pay less than the surrounding area. Beautifully nestled in the landscape.
Very attentive starter, leaves before 4-2er, despite the reverse start time for the fun of golf remains in the foreground.
Price of 135 € Twilight seems high, but everything is already included (Buggy, Driving Range bat brush, etc)!
Great Golfing Experience

Translated by Google.

JB aus B 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A real experience

We stayed a week at Golhotel Isla Canela (see separate review) and have visited this facility based on the reviews. Did this the early starters offer used (135 EUR incl cart and BREAKFAST). Were overall very impressed, great service class and the place really a great experience. The individual tracks are not mutually visible, thus you get the feeling that the place belongs to one alone. Overall very good maintenance, overall very demanding but very fair as a place. However, one should have Hcp 20 or better for the course really fun. We loved the round at any rate was a lot of joy. If you are in dier region, you should allow yourself the space in any case.

Translated by Google.

Walchwiler 59 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Restaurant disaster

The course is varied and demanding. The staff was very nice. The restaurant you should leave out so as not to spoil the beautiful golf experience.

Translated by Google.

Response from Salvador Lucena, Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
December 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your views here on 1golf. eu which I have already shared with our team. It is great to know that you have enjoyed your golf experience at Monte Rei. I am, however, very sorry to… More

Thank you for sharing your views here on 1golf. eu which I have already shared with our team. It is great to know that you have enjoyed your golf experience at Monte Rei. I am, however, very sorry to learn that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We do try very hard to provide the best possible service in all areas of our operation and food & beverage is no exception. Perhaps you could send me more details about your experience i. e date of your visit and problem (s) experienced so that we can address the issues and improve towards the excellence that we permanently seek.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Salvador. lucena@monterei. com

stefanT 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place, if the score is a matter

Have played the course in mid-June, fairways were unfortunately very hard and sometimes brown. I honestly expected more after the reviews. Scenic really very beautiful, you have the feeling that you hit down into a new valley at every tee. The tehre for ball losses are manifold. One can in the vegetation and the water look really pay, otherwise you need despite good car, 5 hours You have to know the place to get a good result. Driver can be left in the car.
But the service is adequate for the price, 190 - with cart and range balls. Once play but enough for us. HCP 9-16.

Translated by Google.

Tomboy 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worth every penny

Twilight had from 15 clock played for 135 euros you had offered me in hindsight I would have paid for 190 euros when you consider what you pay for in the Emirates... just awesome.

Translated by Google.

golfblume 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super space

We were in February 2013 with a group there. It was an experience of a superclass. Place was in a super condition, staff was very friendly. If we are back in the Algarve, we will certainly play this course again. Highly recommended!

Translated by Google.

Federer 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A sensational unique

Unique place, best service, gorgeous scenery. A masterpiece by Jack Nicklaus.
High green fees from 135.00 to 190.00 € incl Cart is justified.
Who is nearby and has a handicap under 24, this experience should not be missed.

Translated by Google.

Tommie 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Brilliant job!

Apart from the fact that the job is really top (super grass, no two holes the same challenges everywhere and still plenty of opportunities to score well) it is primarily the atmosphere and the staff that makes you feel like a king. A day of golf to a party and that they understood here. Absolute must!

Translated by Google.

PeterP 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream for every golfer

We have been in October to play twice the pleasure this great place. It is a dream in every respect. Service, range, course and restaurant are unique. It has a lot of fun to play on this system.
We'll be back.

Translated by Google.

Hewo 77 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The golf experience of the superclass

I hesitated for a long time to play this course, as the Green Fairy with 135 € is already high. I have not regretted the decision. The place and the overall ambiance is pure luxury. On each track of this place, I was happy to foil over this perfection and a game without the next flight in Back.

Translated by Google.

Engelhardt 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Unique. An experience forever.

Probably the best place in Portugal. Play it. In the afternoon for 135 euros, including buggy and driving range balls

Translated by Google.

eliseo70 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Outstanding - that's top golf in Portugal

We were four of us - and all of them rave about today - for hours.

A super layout, almost insane bunkers, the greens fast and true - every golfer here comes swarming into the long hours and be amazed. And then, this ingenious service - always friendly, helpful and not intrusive staff.

Monte Rei has to be called more than it earned in the same breath Valderrama, Kingsbarns, Turnberry & Co..

Ahh - there was the price of 190 EUR - no one thinks about it more when he has once experienced Monte Rei. In addition, buggy, balls on the driving range and other small items included.

Translated by Google.

golffreund 118 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream

I played the course once over 12 months ago and still think about it. Perfect service, A star worthy club restaurant, and a place that meets EVERY claim. The whole thing is expensive but worth it, who is near here should have played this course once. It could not be better.

Translated by Google.

Been to Monte Rei Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review