User Reviews

for Golf Club Castelfalfi, Montaione, Italy

4.7 of 5 stars45 Reviews

5 Stars:
35
4 Stars:
6
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
1
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 45 from 45

Paloma 1 Review

Challenging golf not to be missed

I am lucky enough to play this course on a number of occasions and highly recommend it. A friend of ours, who plays off scratch, and enjoyed a couple of rounds with us, compared the condition to be "as good if not better than Augusta" (he plays there regularly).

It's certainly a challenging course many a lost ball! The staff are very helpful, excellent customer service.

I have fallen in love with this course. Not to be missed.

MDW 8 Reviews

Castelfalfi

Very mixed reviews from our party. The rough was absolutely penal so any stray shots were history and given its length, it is very challenging. The 18th is very tricky to work out first time even after studying the strokesaver. Other holes look to be jammed into the landscape giving that "tricked up" feeling. Good condition. Buggy mandatory. Very welcoming.

SRO 5 Reviews

Tough course - great scenery

Played both Mountain course and Lake course in october 2012. Mountain course is a tough course in hilly landscape. Excellent conditions when we played. The greens were lightning fast and fairway/tees superb. Would recommend this course. It is a tough course and it is highly recommended to hire a golf car, as it is 6200 m from yellow tee and you will have to get up some steep hills to tour tee shots.

Frank B 4 Reviews

Nice course

Although I played at the end of summer (11 Sep) the course was in excellent condition. Very hilly nicd and challenging course!

fred80 1 Review

Getting better month after month

I played the course the weekend of its reopening, and what I have to say is that the course showed potential but wasnt good enough... slow greens, and some dry areas.
Then I was able to play it in mid October, 45 days later, and I have to say that the course was lush green, grees were absolutely perfect.

My thought on it was that they decided to open a little to early and the course wasnt ready jet...

Give it a try if you happend to visit Tuscany.

Fred

Hopsy 1 Review

No value for your money

Played this course on September 13th 2010, just a week after its reopening after the remodelling.
Pros: Nice landscape, beautifully blended in holes.
Cons: Slow greens, brown fairways, course in desolate general condition.
Conclusion: Nice Tuscan golf course, that is if you do not mind to pay EUR 60.- for a course that is in bad condition. Definitively not your choice, if you want value for your money.

Regards,
Manuel

parfive5 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the best in Italy

The driveway to the place already reveals a wonderful view of what to expect: a dream place, well maintained, sophisticated, interesting and fair... and all this in an impressive landscape.

The clubhouse for years - and for at least one - is a construction site - does not detract from the overall impression.

The place may be a bit off the beaten path, but it is always worth it and has left a lasting impression - at least for me.

Translated by Google.

martins 42 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf at its best

Great design, beautiful views, up and down, in short a perfect golf course!
Top condition, (unfortunately) the rough still very high, so better stay on the fairway. :)
Definitely worth the trip.

Translated by Google.

Dennis1956 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not easy, nice course. A special Tuscan golf experience

As in Montecattini, Terre Dei Consoli and Castel Gandolfo our dog was allowed to accompany us. That's why we chose this place for our Italy tour.
Already the journey is very impressive. The reception in the office very friendly. The clubhouse (for us this is not so important) is still under construction, but the rest of the area is very good. For us, the provisional was sufficient.

We played the Mountain Course. Challenging! It is recommended to rent a cart or at least an electric trolley. Condition of the place excellent. The layout of the 18 holes is varied and requires strategic play. You have probably played the course several times to achieve a good result. We had a very nice golf day! On a next Italy trip, we will gladly come back.
Dennis, 4 May 2019.

Translated by Google.

thomikite 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Cu soon

Very well maintained and top facility. The partially but longer paths between the tees I sometimes perceived as a sightseeing bonus... but all in all, a little more time than usual must be scheduled on both courses. Very pleasant atmosphere but I am looking forward to the new clubhouse where certainly a little more culinary a la Tuscany can come into play. Only there is still a lot of room for improvement. I (we) like to come back... oh yes a cart is not wrong but not really compelling... per round well 4.5 hours are to calculate...

Translated by Google.

LucyGolf 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Monster of Tuscany

Certainly one of the most spectacular places in Tuscany. Please take Cart and forget trolley or even wear! Great design, super maintained, great greens and last but not least beautiful views of Tuscany. Oh yes, take a few more balls.

Translated by Google.

Wutz 36 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Exhausting with fun factor

We played the course several times in early April, at that time in excellent condition (both fairways and greens). Total contrast to the crowded places in Spain or Portugal at this time, relaxed play in beautiful Tuscan countryside.
We went both the mountain (18 L, up and down) and the easier Lake course (9 L, sometimes long distances between greens and haircuts), exhausting but feasible and helps to process the Tuscan cuisine.
Overall, except for the 1 and 10 no hole is the other, so very entertaining. The only small drop in size: the 12 and 18 are for sports amateurs hardly par to play, even after a good tee. You should take a few balls... Conclusion: us the place was a lot of fun in a beautiful environment!

Translated by Google.

Bernhard 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic place in a beautiful landscape

In the middle of April we once played the Mountain Course (18 holes) and once the Lake Course (9 holes). Both courses were in great shape and it was just fun to play these two, quite challenging, courses. Unfortunately, we made the mistake of not taking a cart on the 18-hole course. Since this place is extremely hilly, you can reach the limits especially at higher temperatures with a trolley. This place is recommended for players with a low handicap, unlike the Lake Course. There is hardly even a level spot on the tracks, each with very different character. Here you get a lot for a fair green fee.

Translated by Google.

Stephan Sut 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastically

Played in early November 2016 and 2017. Super well-kept place in a quiet location! Any time

Translated by Google.

Oesigolfer 45 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the most beautiful places ever

We played 5 laps here in marvelous weather in September, the course is very sporty to walk, and with Manual Trolley a sporting challenge, because sometimes it goes extremely steeply uphill and down. Therefore, most drive with the E-Card, while I certainly appreciate the sporting challenge. Ultimately, we carried it because it was easier than pulling the trolley, a mountain hike that has it all!

No hole is like the other, many offer wonderful views of the hilly Tuscan countryside and the whole place is wonderfully varied. Not for nothing is the name Mountain Course - here it is really program!
Signature Hole is both the Nine (par 3 steep downhill) as well as the 18 (par 4, blow down to green on an island green). But many of the tracks are unique, one remembers each one later.

Highly recommended is the 9-hole course Lake Course - he is just as wonderful, and by far not so exhausting.

Those who live in the nearby Castelfalfi in the hotel (TUI Blue or Tabbacchaia - where we have lived very well) will receive a 10 or 20% reduction on the already fair green fee.

All around are built Tuscan villas, all for sale (or apartments in it) and in the future, the green fee will certainly be higher than now.
My conclusion: athletic, exhausting, high rating and one of the most beautiful places so far (and that was not a few).

A must for every athletic ambitious golfer.

Translated by Google.

Seybrew 42 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

2nd place in Tuscany

Castelfalfi is the most interesting place in Tuscany after Castiglion del Bosco. Due to the height differences and the sometimes somewhat longer paths between the individual holes, a cart is actually recommended. Care condition was top end of October, clubhouse and reception are however below average. A recommendation, unless you can not stand hilly places...

Translated by Google.

Yomi 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top

There is nothing to complain about. Excited. But you need at least one workshop.

Translated by Google.

HorstJK 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top golf

We played the course in 3 days, so we were impressed. Very well maintained and wonderful views. But also very demanding and very hilly. The 18 hole walk to play requires real sportiness, because it often goes up and down and partly with long ways. So we decided on the spot at the sight of a car and so can enjoy the space to the fullest.

Translated by Google.

UWV 63 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice area with a great view

Very well maintained fairways, good and fast greens, good discounts. In the bunkers the sand is a bit hard. We preferred the mountain course to the Lake Course (9 holes). In the LC, the paths between the tracks are somewhat long. Both places are good to commit. The clubhouse is rather rustic but well staffed. It is worth the places to play several times.

Translated by Google.

dka030482 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

An absolute dream

For us, an absolute must! Here everything is just right. Top quality, stunning scenery, Price, simply top Course.

9 holes weekend EUR 40 and 18 hole for 77 EUR. For this place mega cheap.

Everyone km ride worthwhile. Will play him in two days again.

The Lake Course (9 holes) is challenging, but never unfair. It really makes a lot of fun to play them.

The Mountain Course (18 holes) is somewhat more sophisticated, conditional and playful.

Must-play golf courses!

The restaurant at the Golf House is great. Had very tasty lasagna and Carpaccio. Prices are also fair.

Translated by Google.

mj 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A great place

A really great place. Since everything is right. Landscape, panorama, claim and care. The journey (60 km) was worth it.

Translated by Google.

JotCe 22 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Tuscany PUR

Empfehlenswerter golf course!
For us price offered at the upper limit, but you get something! The place was in a very good condition, fast greens and a very varied style. However, the topography is what advanced. There are plenty to master in altitude!
We would come again!

JC (HCP # 13)

Translated by Google.

Elfriede Gregor 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great experience

Have played almost 20 years ago here, because the place was a beautiful, natural place! 14 days ago, I was here again and have no longer recognized the place because of reconstruction! In any case, it was a great experience! The course requires a everything from (not only playing but also conditionally)! With my handicap of 11.1 I could play with HCP 18, which is already an indication of the level of difficulty! Who loves the challenge should play this course at the next Tuscany holidays in any case!

Translated by Google.

ac 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Una di campo del golf bellissimi in eurtopa - challenging and beautiful nature

Castelfalfi - 27 Bocchi - 18 "mountain - hilly" + 9 "Lake Course".
There are few so beautiful golf courses in the world - 18 hole "mountain-hilly" perfectly embedded in wonderful most beautiful here nature of Tuscany, not into it planned, as if nature would be created here as a matter of course for golf (6194 meters for yellow) - from Tee 1 to 18 - a game, a river - a challenge, a pleasure - to succeed a satisfaction! In any case, an experience of the highest quality golf like nature.
Gulf of and for high standards - the first "9" - Hole 2 - green directly behind the pond, a challenge; Hole 5 is a perfect double-dogleg left-right and up the hill along and misery long! Following a 6 hole perfectly in the nature, ending downhill hole 8 and 9 Felt 200 meters uphill, a par 3 directly on not too big green water in front; the second "9" safely with hole 12 (for me the hole hcp 1) play crucial - in succeed with a broad chest for the next par 5 hole 14 and 16 and for the final hole 18 - tactics asked in the game - again felt 200 meters down this time with distance on water bounded island green. Cart is highly recommended!
All offers currently (still) given magnificent simplicity in the clubhouse, the club Buffett and the quality of the course outstanding green fee prices - worth a visit. Who has money resides in accordance with the space belonging Tabacci hotel in Castelfalfi.
Ps: the "Lake Course" I have not yet played.

Translated by Google.

anton-fritz 134 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Already forgotten

We played here twice, except hills and rough, I now almost forgotten all holes. Castelfalfi located far away from it anyway, so there will be a reunion hardly.

Translated by Google.

Trifnix 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hilly course with beautiful views

We played in our holiday 3x Mountain Course. If you are on holiday in Tuscany, certainly one of the best places. Reductions in order, fairways okay, greens rather slowly. You enjoy almost all over the place a nice view of Tuscan hills, but yes evaluated the golf course should be and this is not just her as three points. Golf course is very difficult and I would recommend not to play the course, if you did not at least 20 handicap. Restaurant and Secretariat is ehr kept simple and not very busy with trained personnel. In summary, honestly deserved three points.

Translated by Google.

golfoase24 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sophisticated and top-maintained condition

We spent a week in September 2014 in Castelfalfi and have played the 9-hole Lake Course and 2x the 18-hole mountain course in the time 2x.
Both courses are challenging and have a very thick rough, in the many balls remain untraceable, if you do not play accurately.
The 9-hole course can be on foot play (with Pushtrolly), although he is somewhat hilly, the connecting paths are considerably shorter. The 18-hole course it is better to play with good training condition with a cart on the other hand. Also, it is recommended to use extensively in both places autan or similar insect repellent, cover the brakes. Then you can enjoy the round much more.
We had two days of heavy rain, so that one day no carts were allowed, but the seats were also then in a surprisingly good condition. Only the bunker had suffered under the rain pretty. After a sunny day the place was but again perfectly playable.
The locker rooms are very well maintained. The bar has a nice terrace and offers delicious (cheap) salads and pasta dishes, but the drinks are quite expensive.
A pro shop does not exist. At checkout, there is only to acquire some little things like gloves or balls the way.
Although the club has not a luxurious clubhouse, but a very beautiful, varied, and well-kept place where you can play a challenging round, to which one will be remembered for a long time safely.
The long journey was truly worth it.
Too bad that on this portal also upset some golfers over weaker players in Flite before them, although we do have all started small... not very professional.

Translated by Google.

Harkort 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Necessarily

San Gimignano is a place that will be remembered long. I could remember almost every hole me then.
Particularly memorable: Hole 9 - a very steep downhill par 3. Very hilly - Cart recommended.
The end of August was the place in very good condition.

Translated by Google.

HPE Schweiz 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

We have Castelfalfi 3 plays in April 14.2 times the Mountain course (18 holes) and 1 times the Lake course (9 hole) Both courses in great condition. The Lake is a good walk, the Mountain is a Cart Course. Spectacular fairways, unique view. Friendly welcome. We were completely satisfied and would definitely come again.

Translated by Google.

ralemb 16 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Everything top

I refer only to the 18-hole Mountain Course. The Lake Course has small flaws, but I think that if you play here, you play the 18-hole course.

We were generally in Castelfalfi 10 days on vacation, have the space 3 plays and he is very very cool. Although not a championship course, there simply too hilly and you should definitely take a cart, but a wonderful atmosphere and the absolutely empty (yet, because the whole resort around the square will soon be finished and then more golfers will be present).

The course as you can see in the rating is pretty demanding. The views are gorgeous, you are playing virtually in the heart of Tuscany.

Definitely a course I want to play again immediately in when I am there again counter be a guest!

Translated by Google.

tbru 28 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place in Tuscany

An absolute "must to play"! Very challenging course, perfectly painted in the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Class of maintenance, very friendly service round off a great day of golf. Like no other car, although the wide passageways take their toll on the condition, but on holiday you can enjoy a cart so times and it never gets cornered on. The Lake Course is slightly easier, but also very beautiful. Always resist much. One more thing, the club house is small, but there is a nice terrace and fine bar toilets also freeze!

Translated by Google.

hawaba 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The Top Place in Tuscany

We played the course several times in mid to late Sept. 2013 - if only because there is absolutely no better golf in a very wide area. No hole is unique. Never a dull moment. Excellent care condition and a very nice and helpful staff. Eg have lost my wallet. The caddy master Salvatore sought with me until nightfall.
Would be the place in Germany he would probably belong to the 10 best plants in this country. Granted, if you are looking a great clubhouse is misplaced. But it is functional, clean toilets and a small bar to running exhausting, but on holiday you can enjoy a happy time Electro. The Lake Course (9 holes) is not quite as spectacular as the Mountain Course.
Conclusion: Castelfalfi must have played!
Grazie Signora Mariella e Signore Salvatore. Il vostro Capitano.

Translated by Google.

Björn-NRW 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The Best Place in Tuscany

If you are in Tuscany, no way around this place.
Perfectly maintained, the greens are a dream.
The area is also fantastic.
Ok, a small minus point is there yet.
But only affects the clubhouse, but there are plenty of opportunities to go food.

Translated by Google.

kurkl 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Best place in Tuscany!

Have on a beautiful Saturday in June played the Mountain Course (9 holes of the Lake Course seems scarcely less beautiful) and can only put it any golf friend to the heart. Wonderful layout, Tuscan landscape and a fantastic care to state. It will offer them a cart, although I am an avid "walker", I was happy with the heat not have said no to.
The clubhouse is obviously a temporary-the beer was excellent-if they want to eat something, I can recommend "Il Rosmarino" at 3 km warmly.
When I am back in Tuscany, there is no way at this place over!

Translated by Google.

EvaA 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Best place in Tuscany?

Because of the great reviews here, we went to this place. In our opinion, keeps the pay green fee not with the necessary infrastructure: Clubhouse is still a barracks, passageways gravel, a shower in the ladies' dressing room, changing area of ​​women's wardrobe is visible from the outside. There are some very nice golf clubs in Tuscany, with great clubhouse, changing rooms and most of all a Club restaurant where you can eat. Above all, we enjoy the old places in Tuscany that you can barely meets tourists (we are even that) and is almost alone.
This was by TUI, a new space created with an associated model, unfortunately, a whole lot of tourists were traveling here and not a marshal, so we have far and wide long waited behind a 4-Flight with older gentlemen, as the striking distance with subsequent extensive Ball Search was very time consuming but on the difficult course :)
For us, definitely worth a recommendation and this place we will certainly not play anymore.

Translated by Google.

Lothar Hinkelmann 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

This place has been rated as the best right to be in Tuscany from the Golf Journal.
A great golf course architecture. Hard but fair. Little player, friendly staff, great care condition.
Do not miss!

Translated by Google.

BRUNO 31 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A golf highlight in Tuscany

This course is an absolute gem (Mountain Course), TOP design with "exciting" beautiful golf holes (especially 9 and 18), and maintained Fairwais great greens - and in winter. The course is very difficult, however, for there are a lot of punches in this slope to it. An e-Cart is to be recommended, unless someone wants to flay Kodition. The golf course is a MUST for every golfing Tuscany visitors. Also, the 9-hole Lake Course (lighter) is nice to play.

Translated by Google.

Jureno 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sensational Golf Course

This place is probably one of the best and most challenging courses in Italy. With a slope of 150, he is of the utmost difficulty. Level fairways in vain, it's always uphill or downhill. Likewise also the difficult part, strongly undulating greens. The condition in late August was surprisingly good, the place had virtually no brown spots on the fairways. To criticize is simply that some blind holes must be played and you are completely overwhelmed when you do not know the place. This would guide rods on the fairways helpful. For players with low handicaps, this place is a must. Recreational players should reduce their expectations of a good score significantly, otherwise quickly comes up frustration. Definitely rent a cart!

Translated by Google.

Grubers 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good class

A really fantastic course in a picturesque Tuscan scenery. Very challenging, and you should really treat a cart!
Love to go back!

Translated by Google.

Hampi 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very long, varied and beautiful!

We played twice the course (18 hole Mountain) in March 2012. He enjoys a fantastic location and length. Fairways and greens were in very good condition. A cart is highly recommended, as space is sometimes very hilly.

Translated by Google.

monacofranze 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

WOW!

This is the craziest golf course I have ever played in my admittedly short golf life.
But be careful, if it's over 20 degrees and it has not exactly triathlete, you should carefully consider sacrificing a little cart. According to the Oktoberfest theme "Up and Down, again and again," he is a real challenge to the condition. However, the court compensated as such, the surroundings, the views and the really very nice crew for everything.
Since it falls even a hard to get excited about their own score. I'm using a 5 1/2! - Hour grin on his face walking around.

PLAY-PLAY-PLAY!

Translated by Google.

ra.hoffmann 16 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A dream

This place is absolutely crazy. Beautifully, with huge views to the Central Tuscany and sauschwer. If you play him more often, it gets only slightly better because the wind always cooperate. Eg the 8, a par 3 about 175 mtr carry - but 80 mtr. downhill: depending on the wind half the bag can be played. The course is in excellent condition care. The greens are large, hard and fast. The 18 at the end is so breathtaking that you are happy when you arrive with the first ball down. In the clubhouse, that certainly does not deserve this name, you still sit comfortably and get at reasonable prices ProSecco a bottle and a plate of pasta. In short, this course is worth a detour. The whole area is one way of TUI. Hopefully they make something out of it.

Translated by Google.

thorstentemme 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful

Played 09/2011. Super place. Very well maintained. Have run the place. Possible but exhausting. 9 hole absolutely spectacular. Tuscany at its best.

Very nice staff. All straightforward.

Translated by Google.

golfundski 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sensational! Better ride instead of walking...

At 33 ° C at 14:00 tee time I have broken with the "card with only 70" of intent and did not regret it: hold the "Mountain Course" what the name promises, Lifts you're looking for but in vain.

Between the tracks, the slopes are significant and the ways sometimes very far. Who is not in marathon training, so should at least in the heat necessarily driving, otherwise you certainly go 8-10 km.

The view is gigantic, very well maintained the place, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed and relaxed. The improviesierte clubhouse is not quite true to style, but is all you need: drinks, snacks, nice patio and clean showers. Despite Tournament Sunday it was very empty.

Particularly spectacular are track 9 and 18, where you certainly could build a black run. Easy to beat the bottomless nothing directly from Green, is just great.

The Lake Course we could not try it, will not open shortly, what did not bother us. Tea 1 and 10 at the clubhouse, a short round or are so nice break easily.

Translated by Google.

Gidi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super Site

3 August 2011. Although 30 degree days, the place was in a sensational condition. For friendly (German speaking) reception in the clubhouse we went with cart on the round. Cart is incidentally highly recommended. Well maintained tees, beautiful fairways, fair rough, fast greens and impressive holes (especially the 9th). Club Restaurant is simple but good.
We have been approached by a 1-hour Vinci but it has been worth all times. The next Tuscany vacation I'm going to play at all events there again.

Translated by Google.

Been to Golf Club Castelfalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review