User Reviews

for Clube de Golf Santo da Serra, Machico-Madeira, Portugal

4.1 of 5 stars22 Reviews

5 Stars:
8
4 Stars:
8
3 Stars:
6
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 22 from 22

Dave McC UK 1 Review

Tough at 2200 feet above sea level but great

Great golf course, some really challenging holes.
Player twice in Oct 2017 and three tikes May 2018.
Course in excellent condition.
Facilities good as is for and staff are great.
Watch it for several steep uphill. holes into the wind that play like par 6 ones.
Approach to green can need 2 or even 3 extra clubs.
Make sure you play twice so you can do all 27 holes.
I play off 16 but 31 points is my best yet.
Will be back to beat it one day.

Danut Munteanu 55 Reviews

Everything is just perfect...

The course is challenging, but very sportive. I estimate the course has a level slope by 200-300 meters! But is perfectly maintained... And the club house : the stuff are very friendly. They supply a shuttle bus from FUNCHAL hotels to golf course. The caddy master room and the ball machine (they have special packages for tokens, just ask them) are just a little bit unconvenient for the first tee... The putting greens are very nice, and simulate very good the real green, on the course, which are REALLY FAST! There are just a few blind hole from the tee ground, but not disturbing... Anyway, you can get a birdie card from the shop. Which is very well supplied. But just a little too expensive, related to GRAN CANARIA, for an example. The restaurant is good. And my best advice : DO NOT FORGET YOUR PHOTO CAMERA! You will make a lot of photos, really gorgeus. As a personal option, I will choose MACHICO, DESERTAS and just for the last SERRA.

Tigermiezi 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice to be back!

After 3 years break, we are finally back on Madeira. Oh how nice to be here again! Although the Madeirans say the winter has been too dry, the place is in a very good and green condition! Very fast, undulating and directional greens. Bunker exactly where they belong so you have to turn his head... We have the Madeira Iceland Golf Passport booked (a total of 5 GF on both places) so € 72, - pp For a Cart (definitely recommendable - at least on Machico) we were charged 36, - € (instead of 45). Time and again our favorite and the absolute hammer is Machico (red course) with its sometimes spectacular tracks over canyons and impressive views. But also Desertas and Serras are very nice to play. What attracted attention: in both places (beginning / middle of February) not much going on. Not much going on in front of us. We should be right - but for the places a disaster. Very nice reception in the clubhouse, where you can buy a lunch special (soup, main course and 1 water) for 9,80 €. Token for 1 basket of balls 3.50 for 2 baskets 4.50. Us the place was really fun and we'll be back! But you have to be aware that up here the weather can change quite quickly and should be prepared for any weather conditions.

Translated by Google.

rudi48 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sporty with a nice view

First for the price: Via Pestana Carlton Hotel we paid EUR 65 .-- including shuttle of half an hour. This fits in contrast to the official EUR 110 .--.
Macchio and Desertas played. Interesting holes with views to the Islas Desertas and Porto Santo. That's terrific!
Care condition in order. Beautiful greens.
There are many vertical meters to cover. That fits in with this island somehow.

Translated by Google.

Hjm 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful location over the Atlantic

Friendly front desk, fairways in good condition though not perfect, almost every lane on the red and blue course unbelievably beautiful sea views. We have often wondered why the bunkers are for the most part in such neglected condition.
Overall, we would like to recommend the place in any case m.

Translated by Google.

schukran 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Just a hint!

The said golf course I have not played, so can not judge him.

However, I can say something about the Otto mentioned in the last assessment of Hessengolfer. After a day in January 2019 in Madeira on a cruise, and we would have liked to play a place there, I wrote an e-mail to the dear Mr. Otto on 1.7.2017. Until today (22.7.2018) the dear Mr. Otto did not even find it necessary to answer.

Can you do that!

Translated by Google.

Response from Marisa Freitas of Clube de Golf Santo da Serra
July 23, 2018

Dear sir, many thanks for your contact. Mr. Otto does not work for us, he is a partner of our course. However we kindly ask you to give us further details, can you please contact us directly to this… More

Dear sir, many thanks for your contact.
Mr. Otto does not work for us, he is a partner of our course. However we kindly ask you to give us further details, can you please contact us directly to this email: sales@santodaserragolf. com.
I will personally take care of this and give you all the assistance you need.
Kind regards,

Marisa Freitas

Hessengolfer 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful!

As far as space is concerned, I can only agree with the recent evaluations: we have played the courses Serra and Machico, which present themselves as interesting, with some spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and in view of the dry winter unusually well maintained. A great championship course that meets all skill levels. However, I can not forgive five stars: The rental clubs received were probably the last stocks, because I was only steel shafts, my 11-year-old son had to deal with women's rackets. I can only describe the gastronomy as sluggish and not very appealing. Living indifference is obvious. I let my codfish go back after the first bite. I have to say that I was not charged for that. Overall, golf on Madeira is quite high priced and despite good space quality too expensive. We were fortunate enough to book a lunchtime special (2 persons, cart and rental clubs) for 130, - and this is great! Alternatively, I can only recommend the services of Michael Otto (a hamburger who lives on Madeira) and cheap green fees and clubs taught and also for all sorts of helpful tips and also round support available (www mdgolfservices. com).

Translated by Google.

OliverD 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Excellent and wonderful

In May 2017 we played this place during our holiday four times!
A beautiful, varied golf course, just because of the three 9-hole courses. So you could always choose which one you wanted to play. There was no prescription on which day of the week, which place must be played.
The place was in a top condition. Very nice spectacular holes. One of the most beautiful places we've ever played.

We can recommend this place to 100 percent and will definitely come back!

Translated by Google.

Gisi und Franz 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A true delight

My wife and I on February 17,2017 visited this wonderful golf course and played.

Not only the place is in excellent condition, but also the care provided by the staff is very friendly, helpful and competent.

As we left our bags at home, we rented two sets of clubs incl. Bags and trollies. Was indeed not cheap, but we got two brand new TaylorMade M2 ​​- sets of clubs (incl. TaylorMade Daytona Putter) provided. Comparing golf courses in Morocco, so you get there simply "discarded" material.

Again - highly recommended => 5 * + - for golfers who want the summer the excessive heat shun (about 25 degrees).

Thanks again to the staff for a lovely day of golf

Translated by Google.

dresdenboy 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Südschottisches Golf

In winter it is naturally happy times in the cloud, but that passes well. When you see what the views are stunning. Very nice, interesting design golf course, manicured greens. On foot it also exerts the same for climbing the Matterhorn. Stylish, British flavored clubhouse with very friendly but not necessarily fast service. Small weaknesses (hard bunker Ball Machine 200m of the driving range, etc.) should not interfere. The requested green fee of € 110.- per person is unacceptable and really annoying! With the Madeira Golf Pass are € 72, and that suits then somewhat like that. Play it again definitely.

Translated by Google.

harley 33 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

If you have played

The previous reviews say everything about this plant. The green fee of 110 € for 2 players, cart and new M2 TaylorMade sets of clubs is perfect. The greens fine, the fairways have the name really does not deserve that bunker knochenhart and Plegezustand really bad.
We have the great scenic places Machico and Desertas played.

Translated by Google.

hosenmatz 8 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place with outstanding views

Have played the Blue and Red Course at 08:02:16. Great fairways and greens. Beautiful place with interesting challenging island greens and ravines. A place to enjoy. Weather is to check beforehand. The clouds can ever depend on the courts.

Translated by Google.

Gauri 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hilly course with great views

A week flat Golfing for less than 300 EUR is already low.
The course itself was in October 2014 in a good condition.
In particular, the red and blue course was very interesting, but also very hilly (e-Trolley or Cart is a must!). The yellow is suitable rather somewhat flatter and as a practice round.
IMPORTANT: Before you book, you should check in any case the weather forecast. Often thick clouds are up about 13 clock on red / blue course slope. In addition, I can "Santo da Serra Golf" recommend (Ballesteros-Suite) and the evening food there the hotel.

Translated by Google.

helmutsch 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great view

Place currently in very good condition. Fairways, greens, bunkers short of the Madeira Open in good to very good condition. On some holes the view is awesome. In the clubhouse, very nice staff. The clubhouse itself is getting a bit old. This is certainly room for improvement. Food and drinks were very good and not expensive. Have all three positions played and we will be back. Greetings to Marta, we have learned connoisseur at the CMT in Stuttgart.

Translated by Google.

E &P 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Perfect place

Beautiful varied 3 times 9 Löch place! Clubhouse very friendly, Great value for money!
Sensational reception, which is not to exceed at ease The nice lady "Catarina" has a week supervising us outstanding! We'll gladly come again!
Ellen, Karin, Ernst & Paul

Translated by Google.

EL 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastic views - but rather unkempt obstacle course

The fact that on the court a EPGA tournament is taking place is no guarantee that the court also maintained sont comes along: Warm welcome, great sea views, fast greens, interesting tracks, but otherwise; None. The course (fairways) came mostly (very) ungepflgt therefore (price-performance unsatisfactory), no rangers, no Hcp control, and we had for 9 holes just under 4 hours, as a group was in front of us with beginners in the square (red). ! Blue and red is quite hilly, yellow and easy shallow to record. (3x9 holes)

Translated by Google.

cernaruka 54 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place - 09/03/2013

Actually a fantastic place that is not cheap, however. Wanted to test if I had a chance at the Madeira Islands Open, the place is relatively easy with a really beautiful holes, the ambience is to feel good, the Club restaurant, a recommendation. Make sure you try a Poncha. I played the blue and red course. It can be very windy up there, so pay attention to the forecast.

Translated by Google.

Hewo 81 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

(K) a space for the Madeira Open?

Already in advance: we had a golf course, where a professional tournament is played, more expected. The place had a total of not very well maintained, although the Gruen were ok.
The club house was fine, but nothing more.

Translated by Google.

Mr Bo 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great place, poorly maintained

A really great place with many interesting and spectacular holes and beautiful views, but unfortunately poorly maintained. The greens were OK, the fairways dry and split open partially. On top of that the price of a cart of 45 € are very expensive.
Maybe you should play more in the spring, just before the Madeira Open take place.

Translated by Google.

_macgolf_ 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Phenomenal views, magnificent canyons - poor condition

We played the course in October 2011 and were rather disappointed - especially compared to the other place in Madeira, the GC Palheiro.

Although the red and the white rate due to the height differences quite challenging, the grandiose (partially about 160 meters from the yellow tee from overcome) canyons on the red course are (undbedingt a cart to take!) And the view of the cliffs fascinating but the condition of the course was beneath contempt. The greens were perfect, but large parts of the fairways were hard as a rock split open, without grass cover and the topsoil!

This is also discounted 70 EUR were much too much (regular 100 EUR).

The yellow course is rather dull by comparison, although with beautiful views of the mountains.

Overall, it went to the rather hectic day, the staff was not very friendly, the clubhouse terrace unloving.

Maybe we need to come back again another time in the year and see if it was a time issue.

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 347 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

If you have played times

We have played 18 of the 27 holes on the Sun 6.2.2011. The holes are challenging to be overcome not only because of the differences in height. Some canyons must be transferred from the men's tee. A cart is useful. Of some holes you have a dream view of the Atlantic. The condition was fine up to the bunker. It is recommended that a start time because a lot of traffic, even on weekdays. The staff could be more friendly, both in the Secretariat and the usual green fee with nearly 100, - € is a bit too high. With the Golf Fee Card there is a discount of 25%.

Translated by Google.

C-T-R 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A to Z of a dream

The Santo da Serra Golf Club impresses with his conditioning and his wit. It is advisable to cut off early when the fog is clear to "ONE" to be with nature. There are 3 courses à 9 holes to choose from so that in any case has 2x the pleasure to play really all holes. All three courses are fair and for golfers of all levels a pleasure. After the game, visit the club restaurant is recommended that boasts national as well as international delicacies.

Translated by Google.

Been to Clube de Golf Santo da Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review