User Reviews

for Atalaya Golf & Country Club, Málaga, Spain

3.6 of 5 stars31 Reviews

5 Stars:
9
4 Stars:
9
3 Stars:
7
2 Stars:
3
1 star:
3
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 31 from 31

WARNING 1 Review

WARNING

WARNING!!
If you want to play Atalaya Golf Courses be aware that they do not follow the booking rules provided by Golfhæftet. com.
If you tell them when you book that you will use golfhæftet they only have a small number of tee times not available during preferable hours.

If you do not tell them that you will use golfhæftet you will get good tee times but they will charge the cost to your credit card prior to your game. You are then not able to get the discount. And they do not tell you that they charge your credit card!!

Decosimo 1 Review

A good course.

Played several times this month with a group of friends and are all very satisfied. The Old course has improved during the last two years tremendously. Played the New Course only once and is also nice but not as good as the Old Course.
Excellent practice areas.
Will come again to play and taste the "duck" at the restaurant.

Peter Sullivan 3 Reviews

Two courses perfect combination

The old course is a stablished course on the area it is really a very enjoying course in perfect conditions, greens were fantastic and the staff so nice, the new course is not as good as the old but we had a nice day playing there, no houses sourrounding, quiet atmosphere and well mantenance. We hope to play again this year.

Mr. Fish 1 Review

Atalaya Old and New.

Nice setting of the courses, not a typical course with houses around, beautiful nature and very quiet.
Spectacular Old Course and challenging New Course, this one not as easy as we can expect. Just one blind hole but the other 17 very nice.
To be back another time.

Regards,

Golf4fun 96 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Course

Beautiful varied and fair place that was fun. A lot of old trees with partly wide fairways. The place condition was absolutely fine. Very nice staff. What more do you want as a hobby golfer? We will be back.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
January 2, 2019

Dear Golf4fun player, Many thanks for your very positive comment on Atalaya Golf & C.C. Despite the heavy rain and the cold winter, we succeeded to have wonderful fairways and fast greens. Hope to… More

Dear Golf4fun player, Many thanks for your very positive comment on Atalaya Golf & C.C.
Despite the heavy rain and the cold winter, we succeeded to have wonderful fairways and fast greens.
Hope to see you again soon and... again thanks.
Happy New Year.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

thola 110 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fairways currently only moderate in the shot

I have rated Atalaya several times and play the place again and again.

The greens are currently in good to very good condition, quite fast and full.

The fairways, however, are usually very barren covered with grass, if any. Several holes are scarred almost AZ and newly interspersed, so you can play directly from the damp (but not wet) ground or an ultra-short grass layer. Especially with the short strokes around the green, this reduces the fun much.

Conclusion: At the moment I do not play the course and wait until the seed has regrown and the fairways are again full green.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
December 18, 2018

Dear Mr. Thola, I hope you still enjoyed to play the 18 holes. As you know, we had a very web October and November month so the fairways are not in great condition. But as you say; they will be in… More

Dear Mr. Thola, I hope you still enjoyed to play the 18 holes. As you know, we had a very web October and November month so the fairways are not in great condition. But as you say; they will be in much better shape with the regrown grass.
In a week time, as the wintergrass reseeding has already germinated, we will have a superb green grass turf where playing from it will be again fantastic.
So please join us soon and you will experience again a wonderful game at our courses.

Regards and thanks for your comments.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia GM Atalaya Golf.

Eric 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Course

A very nice place with old buildings and wide fairways. The parking spaces are directly at the house. Very well maintained and playable. Happy again and again.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
December 18, 2018

Dear Eric, Many thanks for your positive comments about our course and facilities. Indeed, our brand new parking for 135 cars is build attached to the club house so just only a few metres from our… More

Dear Eric, Many thanks for your positive comments about our course and facilities.
Indeed, our brand new parking for 135 cars is build attached to the club house so just only a few metres from our caddy masters and first tee of our fantastic Old Course.
Hope to see you soon back here to play also our New Course.

Regards,

Andrés Sánchez García GM Atalaya Golf.

globi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Must played Colf Course

Very nice place on the Costa del Sol. Old trees at the wide fairways. Parking directly at the clubhouse. You can find every played ball again. Highlight is the "beer bell" at the tee of hole 9 to the snack bar.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
December 18, 2018

Dear Mr Globi, Thank you for your review. Yes, it is a very lovely, peaceful place to play here at the Costa del Sol. Our fairways with old trees (our club is already 50 years "new") our club house… More

Dear Mr Globi, Thank you for your review. Yes, it is a very lovely, peaceful place to play here at the Costa del Sol. Our fairways with old trees (our club is already 50 years "new") our club house and new car park has a lot of warm charm.
We´ve just celebrated our 50th birthday, so yes, we are also "old" however we are constantly upgrading all our facilities to new, modern deluxe areas.

Thank you for this. With best wishes, Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

SW 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Happy Golf in Atalaya

Great places - demanding, varied and yet very easy to play. Fair prices with extremely nice staff. Delicious Resto - kitchen with super comfortable access to the new parking garage. All around a very successful golf trip.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
November 2, 2018

Thank you for your very positive comment of Atalaya Golf. We are a classical par 72 course with generous Bermuda-lawn fairways, a typical open walking parkland course that represents a challenge for… More

Thank you for your very positive comment of Atalaya Golf.
We are a classical par 72 course with generous Bermuda-lawn fairways, a typical open walking parkland course that represents a challenge for players. No need for a buggy here at this Old Course.
Please try also the New Course, it also constitutes a true challenge for the most demanding professionals, has undulating fairways, perfect greens and spectacular panoramic views on Marbella and Gibraltar.
And the new parking facility with 135 spaces for cars is fantastic, easy to use and free of charge.
I’m happy that you enjoyed also the restaurant with the new Chef who is making a very big difference in the quality and presentation of the food.

Hope to see you soon in Atalaya Golf & C.C. again.

Regards, Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

Team Pink Ladies 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Atalaya Golf is top

The Atalaya Golf Club has made itself powerful. So many improvements. There is finally a great in the landscape very nicely inserted park - very convenient access. Old and New Course are well maintained and lovingly designed. In our group there are all levels and for everyone the place offers optimal conditions. The service is very friendly all around. The gastronomy and the kiosk offers everything the golfer's heart enjoys before and after the game. We will be back definitely.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
November 2, 2018

Buenos días, Thank you for your review on our Atalaya Golf courses. We opened since last June a new car park for 135 cars for our clients and members so no parking problems anymore when playing our… More

Buenos días, Thank you for your review on our Atalaya Golf courses.
We opened since last June a new car park for 135 cars for our clients and members so no parking problems anymore when playing our wonderful Club.
And we are constantly investing large amount to improve our courses and premises to become more and more an exclusive Club were all players can enjoy even more.
As you know; our Old Course is a classical par 72 course designed by B von Limburger (more as 40 golf courses), a typical open walking parkland course were no buggy is required.
The New Course is different with undulating fairways, perfect greens and spectacular panoramic views on Gibraltar, Marbella as also the African Continent.
Again, thank you and hope to see you soon here at Atalaya Golf & C.C.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia GM Atalaya Golf.

Ballonen 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Classic

The Old Course built by Bernhard von Limburger in the 60s is a true classic on the Costa del Sol. I've played there many times. The course is in a very good condition, the greens bite and are fast and the environment is pleasant.
The service from the Caddy master over the shop to the Resto is great.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
November 2, 2018

Many thanks for the very positive review of Atalaya Golf. We are a classical par 72 course with generous Bermuda-lawn fairways, a typical open walking parkland course that represents a challenge for… More

Many thanks for the very positive review of Atalaya Golf.
We are a classical par 72 course with generous Bermuda-lawn fairways, a typical open walking parkland course that represents a challenge for players. No need for a buggy here at this Old Course and of course, it´s a B. Von Limburger course (one of the more as 40 that he designed).

Please try also the New Course, it also constitutes a true challenge for the most demanding professionals, has undulating fairways, perfect greens and spectacular panoramic views on Marbella and Gibraltar.
And the new parking facility with 135 spaces for cars is easy to use and free of charge for all our clients and members.
Our staff is also improving and more service minded to pamper our clients during their stay.

Hope to see you soon in Atalaya Golf & C.C. again.
Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

J.Mo. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

VERY INTERESTING

On Sunday, 7/15/18 I played for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. I had previously played several times in the new course and I must admit that I do not like it. However, this Old course is very worth playing. It's fun, ambitious, challenging and with fantastic views. Some holes, certainly complicated for high handicaps. It is clear that I will repeat.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
July 18, 2018

Good morning, Many thanks for your comments on our New and Old Course. The New Course has undulating fairways, spectacular views on Gibraltar and Morocco however it´s a much shorter tecnical course… More

Good morning, Many thanks for your comments on our New and Old Course. The New Course has undulating fairways, spectacular views on Gibraltar and Morocco however it´s a much shorter tecnical course as the Old Course. And we are improving it every year with many changes and improvements. As on our Old Course, with a new Maintenance company, we are getting to a much higher maintenance and investments levels.

Have also in mind that during the summer time, we are using 100% reclycled water which is not the best water to have the best green color on the courses but we manage it to keep it in very good conditions.
Regards, thanks and hope to see you soon here again playing our courses.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

anton-fritz 134 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place

Very nice facility with wide lanes, flat and easy to walk. The greens are fast and predictable. Everything is well maintained here and it was fun to play here. Clubhouse and restaurant with terrace are top. It is stupid to park here by car. Our team arrived with 3 cars. 2 of them were somewhere off the square or the parking lot. Nevertheless, for a relaxing round (without cart here in the area !!) I can recommend the Old Course. We did not play the New.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
May 19, 2018

Dear Mr. Fritz, Many thanks for playing our Old Course and for your fantastic comment about the course and our premises. Hope you play also the New Course, a different course with very nice views on… More

Dear Mr. Fritz, Many thanks for playing our Old Course and for your fantastic comment about the course and our premises.
Hope you play also the New Course, a different course with very nice views on Gibraltar and Morocco.
Kindest regards and have a good golfing weekend.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM Atalaya Golf.

thola 110 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good condition

The place is currently in excellent condition. Especially the fairways are full and therefore pleasant to play. Andonsten applies as always: Small risk of loss of ball, reasonably reasonable pace and a decent price / performance ratio.

Translated by Google.

Jörg Schäfer 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good place, but not the highlight on the Costa del Sol

First, the parking situation is still unsatisfactory. Since a tournament took place that day, we had to park relatively far away.

The course (Old Course) is in good condition, some greens were not optimal, but all in all OK. Since we played in the afternoon, there was no waiting time and a relaxed round for us.

The complex is not the absolute highlight on the Costa del Sol, but thoroughly recommended.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
November 2, 2018

Dear Mr. Schäfer, Sorry for my late reply on your comment. Thank you for your review of our premises at Atalaya Golf. We opened since last June a new car park for 135 cars for our clients and members… More

Dear Mr. Schäfer, Sorry for my late reply on your comment.
Thank you for your review of our premises at Atalaya Golf.
We opened since last June a new car park for 135 cars for our clients and members so no parking problems anymore when playing our wonderful golf courses.
And we are constantly investing large amounts to improve our courses and premises to become more and more an exclusive Club.

Again, thank you and hope to see you soon here at Atalaya Golf & C.C.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia GM Atalaya Golf.

Hans Kaiser 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Course

In my opinion, the golf course is in an appropriate season according to optimal condition. The fairways are perfectly maintained. The greens best, but unfortunately very slowly. Otherwise the course can only be recommended.

Translated by Google.

Response from Andrés Sánchez García, Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club
May 19, 2017

Many thanks for the information and the 4 stars given to Atalaya Golf. The Greens will be hollow tinned in two weeks time to improve the speed of all of time. Sorry that they were so slow. Regards… More

Many thanks for the information and the 4 stars given to Atalaya Golf.
The Greens will be hollow tinned in two weeks time to improve the speed of all of time. Sorry that they were so slow.

Regards and hope to see you soon in Atalaya Golf.

Andrés Sánchez Garcia.
GM.

Remo 19 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A beautiful golf round

- The place is well maintained (fairways and greens)
- Marshall is present, which I personally find good
- Parking situation is not satisfactory
-> Atalaya builds new parking and investing in new infrastructure stuff

- Restaurant I can highly recommend (price / performance) agrees

We will be back!

Translated by Google.

JohannS 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

New Course - Unkempt

Can be divided over the layout of the place. We have felt the place unfair. Despite good punches the result may be poor. The fairway was present only in its infancy, there were many bald patches in the entire space. Overall, the maintenance state can be described as poor. which concerns the entire area of ​​Atalaya conditioning. In the future, we will certainly not play the course, it was a unique experience. Friendly staff in the restaurant, with reasonable food offer.

Translated by Google.

JFA 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Construction site

Old Course played, 13:15 to 17:50, all 4p flights. Waiting bearable. On and around the square is pretty degree built. Otherwise, solid Parkland Course, unspectacular but not too tightly and with space around the fairways u. Of villas. Roads. Can run well with trolley. Condition not perfect but ok, very green at this season. Was relaxing round, I would play again.

Translated by Google.

Ilgo 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

New Course

We actually had to spend before a nice Goltag. It was not the nice Danish couple that us on the flight accompanied. Getting to the New Course has already led us almost to the end of the installation. Fortunately, I have because of the playing strength of the preceding Flights ado can procure another 2 beers on the driving range. However, these were only little calm my nerves because of extremely slow gameplay. About 5 h Flight duration are definitely too much!! The place is indeed fall extremely short and therefore easy gerated, but has all its quirks and would require dose and accurate play. This is then used for space as a beginner area, then leads to abnormal long waits. We have left the plant unnerved fled.
Something we do not need and do not come back.

Translated by Google.

harryhirsch 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

New Course

1. The entrance to the New Course is catastrophic.
2. The distances between the tees are partly breakneck.
2. The reductions are crooked.
3. Almost all Vorgrüns are wet.
4. At no bank can be sat down. Impossible condition.
5. For the money you can play better places.

Translated by Google.

Birdiegirl 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place for middle and senior Hcp's

We played both courses in November 2014. They were in good condition.
The New Course partially provides narrower lanes than the Old Course, for wonderful views. That he is recommended for handicap players, I can not empathize so, because I would rather recommend the Old Course, which is also mostly played by older generation. The price-performance ratio is favorable for the region, characterized both places are quite full. On the label more emphasis should be placed on the part of the club. For low handicap players rather less advisable, nor for golfers who want to bask in the elite.

Translated by Google.

GolferFamily 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worst place on the Costa del Sol

We have booked the place because of the good reviews and were very disappointed.
Z. Zt. If only the New Course to play, but even that was in very poor condition. The fairways were more like a field.
One problem we found also other players.
Most hit the balls 20-30 yards, but have also apparently nobody has heard that you can then play.
So it extremely slowly walked forward. Man standing around constantly to wait until the flights had finally holed the ball in front of a shock to the 20th.
The Marshall was sick and not a substitute because, so far no one has taken a bit to Speed ​​of Play.
The Gastronmie in the clubhouse was closed.
We will not play this course again safely. It is very cheap, but then rather pay a little more for a good place, of whom there are in the area, fortunately enough.

Translated by Google.

QuintenEsmeijer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very good experience

Very enjoyable to play. The new course and old course are both wonderful. Both very well maintained.. The Staff is also very friendly, and the restaurant food is undoubtedly delicious.

Translated by Google.

Tigerline 51 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Played in August 2013

In the clubhouse you believe that you are a Nobel Club (very cocky).
The platzist littered with leaves in August. The holes are nice but no version Reisser. Green quality was mediocre. Since we have nter the 16 played courses around Marbella played better.

Translated by Google.

Trifnix 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Course

Ideal holiday place for all skill levels. Very wide fairways, you can lose almost no ball. Some very nice holes. Very highly frequented place. Is probably the fact that you can play good score here. Very friendly in the pro shop and restaurant.
One of the few places areas in and around Marbella

Translated by Google.

Art-Golf 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nothing special

In September, played the Old Course.
Typical parkland course, relatively flat, especially the many Par4 almost all have the same length that the course is quite monotonous, but the maintenance condition was OK. For the price, there are many interesting places in the area.

Translated by Google.

thommy69 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Average Rank

This place was the one that I liked in my Costa del Sol travel dislike. The orbits are relatively boring and care condition could be improved. However, you can play from 16:00 h sundowners and then pays only 34 € green fee. This is the place OK. A cart does not need to, because the space in contrast to other places on the Costa del Sol is very flat

Translated by Google.

Golfplayer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Magic

Field extremely improved since the last time played three years ago. The new deck was much needed and desired by our group that we can finally enjoy. Wide streets without houses around, as they should be all but there are very few as Atalaya. Will surely. Staff very friendly.

Translated by Google.

thola 110 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old Course: Wide pleasure

The wide fairways are very over-friendly. Fairways and greens in fair to good condition. Two interesting three holes, otherwise average design of the fairways. Several elevated greens that are well protected by bunkers.

Also about a week after heavy rain the place was still so wet that some stuck a high ball played at the same landing. Can also be absoviert foot well. We only played by 14 clock and had no one during the whole lap ahead or behind us. In earlier times the flow of the game can start stalled - especially if, as currently the buggies have to stay on the trails.

Translated by Google.

Henner 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Old and new

Atalaya Old is a typical parkland course, not spectacular, but ok. New Atalaya is very tricky, especially with narrow fairways.

Translated by Google.

Been to Atalaya Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review