Al Ghazal Golf Club

18 Hole Semi- Private

Al Ghazal Golf Club
Al Ghazal Golf ClubAl Ghazal Golf ClubAl Ghazal Golf Club

Al Ghazal Golf Club

P.O. Box 3167, Abu Dhabi, UAE

Phone: +971 2 575 8040, Fax: +971 2 575 8041

Al Ghazal Golf Club

The 18 hole Al Ghazal Golf course, which opened in 1997, measures 6711 yards of the white tees, with a par 71 and presents an exciting challenge to the novice and the experienced golfer.

Instead of greens there are browns. These are created by compacting rolled and treated sand and, as the players quickly discover, they give an extremely true putting surface.

The front nine holes (par 35) are based around an archaeological site which was once an old coast line. The back nine (par 36), which have recently been developed, present a great challenge. Be careful of the water on the 11th!

Members of this club make it so special, no matter what standard of golfer joins or visits the club, he or she is always made to feel welcome.“Everyone is welcome”

The Course

18-Hole Al Ghazal Golf Course

Scorecard
TeeParCRSlopeLength
White (Men)71--6711 yards

Practice Facilities

  • Driving Range
  • Putting Green
  • Pitching Green

Visitors

18-Hole Al Ghazal Golf Course

Visitors are welcome every day.
Advance booking is essential.
A valid handicap certificate or card is required.

Green Fees

18-Hole Al Ghazal Golf Course

Green FeeMon - Thu, SunFri, Sat, Holidays
18 HolesAED 150 (34 €)AED 200 (45 €)

The Club

General Information

Founded: 1997

User Reviews

4.3 of 5 stars3 Reviews

5 Stars:
1
4 Stars:
2
3 Stars:
0
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Most Recent Reviews

Hannes123 1 Review

Authentic golf in the desert

Was a member there for many years. Enjoyed the challenge of the course, loved the the social life of the Club and the friendliness of he staff. Was just brilliant. Nothing compares to the good old Al Ghazal. Hannes

reiner2304 389 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

What an experience

Played on February 15th, 2020 (holes 1 to 9 only). I have played around 500 golf courses worldwide so far and can say that the Al Ghazal Golf Club (very well signposted from the airport) right next to the international airport in Abu Dhabi is an absolutely exceptional and unique experience in a golfing experience. Incidentally, the first place that my GPS golf buddy did not recognize. There is not a single blade of grass on the fairways or greens on the 18-hole course (PAR 71). The game is played on gravel / sand fairways and the greens are so-called browns made of solid, flat-rolled sand. Each player receives a small mat of artificial turf for his round, which he puts on the ground before each stroke, except on the brown, places the ball on it and then hits it. The "fairways" are marked with boundary markings, and you can only drive the cart within the "fairways". The tees are raised concrete blocks with rubber mats. Again, you should use your piece of artificial turf for the tee. Each lane has a specific name that can be read on the tee boards. Before you tee off, you should first find out where the train actually goes, as this is not always immediately recognizable. There are haircuts for men and women. Naturally, the balls roll less on the "fairways". The browns are usually slightly raised and quite fast. The holes on the browns are advantageous with rounded edges. Another advantage of the Browns: If you putt the ball behind the hole, you can see the return line very well due to the sand track. By the way, after putting, the club rule is to remove your own traces with the large brooms provided. There are virtually no bunkers and of course there are no water hazards. So everything is said about the state of care, just easy care! I emailed the day before for an early start time. An answer by email came immediately. You don't really have to book a start time. I was alone on the site on a Saturday morning. A cart (a bit old and without GPS) with two bottles of water was ready for me. Oh yes, do not wear golf shoes with spikes, soft spikes or knobs. To protect the browns, you can only play with normal sneakers. A friendly employee thankfully loaned me suitable shoes that were even my size. In general, everyone is very friendly in the club. The lady at the counter explained everything to me and for "only" 45 € I was allowed to go on a 9-hole round with a buggy. The clubhouse makes a solid overall impression, but I didn't use the restaurant or sanitary facilities due to time constraints. And of course you can clearly hear and see the airport next door. All in all, for me an absolute adventure and a unique experience in stark contrast to the noble golf courses in Abu Dhabi. If you are looking for the extraordinary, you should play a round here and be amazed how you can play a more or less full round of golf on gravel / sand in a rather barren landscape. And with a bit of luck, as I had it, you can also see falcons in the middle of the “fairway” in the wild.

Translated by Google.

masters 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf Times brown instead of green

The 18-hole sand course is not crowded, booked at short notice and with 30-40 € for 4-5h of the best golf course near and far. A new experience for any golfer in terms of the behavior of the balls around and on the Browns (greens).
Balls must be taken from the fairway clean and roll on the Browns still 10-20 meters. So for the approximation usually take 1-2 iron less!
The club house has a rustic-British style with well-stocked, reasonably priced food (6-8 €) and drinks, and a very friendly staff.
Place makes a somewhat untidy appearance.

Translated by Google.

Been to Al Ghazal Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review

See all reviews

Al Ghazal Golf Club

18 Loch Semi- Private

Al Ghazal Golf Club
Al Ghazal Golf ClubAl Ghazal Golf ClubAl Ghazal Golf Club

Al Ghazal Golf Club

P.O. Box 3167, Abu Dhabi, VAE

Tel.: +971 2 575 8040, Fax: +971 2 575 8041

Charakteristik

Der 18-Loch Al Ghazal Golfplatz, der im Jahr 1997 eröffnet wurde, erstreckt sich über 6136 m von den weiße Abschlägen (Par 71) und stellt eine aufregende Herausforderung sowohl für Einsteiger als auch erfahrene Golfer dar.

Statt Grüns findet man hier Brauns, die durch das Zusammenpressen von gewalzten und behandelten Sand entstanden sind, und die, wie der Spieler schnell herausfindet, eine sehr authentische Putting-Fläche darstellen.

Die ersten neun Löcher (Par 35) wurden rund um eine archäologische Fundstelle , die früher eine alte Küstenstrecke war, angelegt. Die letzten neun (Par 36), die erst kürzlich hinzukamen, sind eine große Herausforderung. Am 11. Loch kann das Wasser gefährlich werden.

Die Clubmitglieder nehmen Golfer, egal welchen Standards und egal, ob als Gast oder neues Mitglied, immer herzlich auf, frei nach dem Motto: "Jeder ist hier willkommen."

Der Golfplatz

18-Loch Al Ghazal Golf Course

Scorekarte
TeeParCRSlopeLänge
Weiß (Herren)71--6711 yards

Übungsmöglichkeiten

  • Driving Range
  • Putting Green
  • Pitching Green

Gästeinformation

18-Loch Al Ghazal Golf Course

Gäste sind jederzeit willkommen.
Anmeldung ist erforderlich.
Ein Handicap ist erforderlich.

Greenfee-Preise

18-Loch Al Ghazal Golf Course

GreenfeeMo. - Do./So.Fr./Sa./Feiertage
18-Loch-GreenfeeAED 150 (36 €)AED 200 (48 €)

Der Club

Clubinfos

Gegründet: 1997

Bewertungen

4.3 von 5 Sternen3 Bewertungen

5 Sterne:
1
4 Sterne:
2
3 Sterne:
0
2 Sterne:
0
1 Stern:
0
Eine Bewertung schreiben

Die neuesten Bewertungen

reiner2304 355 Bewertungen

Was für ein Erlebnis/Abenteuer

Gespielt am 15.2.2020 (nur Löcher 1 bis 9). Ich habe bisher ca. 500 Golfplätze weltweit bespielt und kann sagen, dass der Golfclub Al Ghazal (ab Flughafen sehr gut ausgeschildert) direkt neben dem internationalen Flughafen von Abu Dhabi schon eine absolut außergewöhnliche und einmalige Erfahrung in einem Golferleben ist. Übrigens der erste Platz, den mein GPS Golfbuddy nicht erkannt hat. Auf der 18-Lochanlage (PAR 71) gibt es keinen einzigen Grashalm auf den Fairways oder Grüns. Gespielt wird auf Schotter-/Sandfairways und die Grüns sind sogenannte Browns aus festem plattgewalztem Sand. Jeder Spieler erhält für seine Runde eine kleine Matte Kunstrasen mit auf den Weg, die er vor jedem Schlag, außer auf dem Brown, auf den Boden legt, den Ball darauf platziert und dann schlägt. Die „Fairways“ sind mit Begrenzungsmarkierungen kenntlich gemacht, und nur innerhalb der "Fairways" darf man mit dem Cart fahren. Die Abschläge sind erhöhte Betonblöcke mit Gummimatten. Auch hier sollte man sein Stück Kunstrasen für den Abschlag nutzen. Jede Bahn hat einen bestimmten Namen, der auf Abschlagtafeln ablesbar ist. Man sollte sich vor dem Abschlag zunächst orientieren wo die Bahn eigentlich lang geht, da dies nicht immer so direkt erkennbar ist. Es gibt Herren- und Damenabschläge. Naturgemäß rollen die Bälle auf den „Fairways“ eher weniger. Die Browns sind meist leicht erhöht und durchaus schnell. Die Löcher auf den Browns sind vorteilhaft mit abgerundeten Kanten. Weiterer Vorteil der Browns: Wenn man den Ball hinter das Loch puttet, sieht man aufgrund der Sandspur sehr gut die Rückputlinie. Clubregel ist übrigens, nach dem Putten, die eigenen Spuren mit jeweils bereitgestellten großen Besen wieder zu entfernen. Echte Bunker gibt es so gut wie keine und Wasserhindernisse natürlich auch nicht. Zum Pflegeszustand ist somit auch alles gesagt, eben Pflegeleicht! Ich hatte mich per E-Mail einen Tag vorher für eine frühe Startzeit angemeldet. Eine Antwort per E-Mail kam umgehend. Eine Startzeit muss man nicht wirklich buchen. Ich war an einem Samstagmorgen alleine auf der Anlage unterwegs. Ein Cart (etwas in die Jahre gekommen und ohne GPS) mit zwei Flaschen Wasser, stand für mich bereit. Ach ja, unbedingt keine Golfschuhe mit Spikes, Softspikes oder Noppen anziehen. Man darf hier zur Schonung der Browns nur mit normalen Turnschuhen spielen. Ein freundlicher Mitarbeiter hat mir dankenswerter Weise geeignete Schuhe geliehen, die sogar in meiner Größe vorhanden waren. Überhaupt sind alle sehr freundlich im Club. Die Dame am Counter hat mir alles erklärt und für „nur“ umgerechnet 45 € durfte ich wie gesagt mit Buggy auf die 9-Loch-Runde. Das Clubhaus macht durchaus einen soliden Gesamteindruck, allerdings habe ich aus Zeitgründen weder Restaurant noch Sanitär genutzt. Und natürlich hört und sieht man deutlich den Flughafen nebenan. Also insgesamt betrachtet, für mich ein absolutes Abenteuer und ein einmaliges Erlebnis im krassen Kontrast zu den Nobelgolfanlagen in Abu Dhabi. Wer das Außergewöhnliche sucht, sollte hier einmal eine Runde spielen und staunen wie man eine mehr oder weniger vollwertige Runde Golf auf Schotter/Sand in eher karger Landschaft spielen kann. Und mit etwas Glück, wie ich es hatte, sieht man auch mitten auf dem „Fairway“ Falken in freier Wildbahn.

masters 2 Bewertungen

Golf mal braun statt grün

Der 18 Loch-Sandkurs ist nicht überlaufen, kurzfristig buchbar und mit 30-40€ für 4-5h der günstigste Golfkurs weit und breit. Eine neue Erfahrung für jeden Golfer was das Verhalten der Bälle um und auf den Browns (Grüns) angeht.
Bälle müssen vom Fairway sauber getroffen werden und rollen auf den Browns noch 10-20 Meter. Also für die Annäherung meist 1-2 Eisen weniger nehmen!
Das Clubhaus hat einen urigen-britischen Styl mit gut sortierten, günstigen Speisen (6-8 €) und Getränken sowie mit sehr freundlichen Servicepersonal.
Platz macht einen etwas unaufgeräumten Eindruck.

Hannes123 1 Bewertung
  • Automatische Übersetzung
  • Originalversion

Authentisches Golf in der Wüste

War ein Mitglied für viele Jahre dort. Genossen die Herausforderung des Kurses, liebte das soziale Leben des Clubs und die Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter. War einfach genial. Nichts ist vergleichbar mit dem guten alten Al Ghazal. Hannes

Übersetzt von Google.

Al Ghazal Golf Club - schon mal dort gewesen? Berichten Sie davon!

Eine Bewertung schreiben

Alle Bewertungen ansehen