User Reviews

for Wicklow Golf Club, Ireland

4.4 of 5 stars11 Reviews

5 Stars:
6
4 Stars:
3
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 11 from 11

drfritzmaier 256 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Actually not a links course

There are no typical characteristics of links places (e.g.) dune grass.
Nevertheless, the course shines on all holes with magnificent views of the elevated cliff and from the clubhouse. An e - trolley does not do any harm because of the differences in height.
The price / performance ratio would have deserved 5 stars, the condition of the fairways could be better.
Compared to the neighboring European Club, only 4 * plus.

Translated by Google.

Stot1414 33 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worth seeing

Just wonderful. The tracks always run along the sea, so that, if it does not always work out with the games, you have compensation through the beautiful view. The place is not easy to play. A part of it certainly had the wind, but also the layout of the tracks.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The condition of the place good.
If you want to play in this part of Ireland, be sure to go there.

Translated by Google.

Response from Anne Merrigan of Wicklow Golf Club
November 28, 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you had a very enjoyable round of golf at Wicklow Golf Club and we hope that you will return some time in the future to play here again. Thank… More

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you had a very enjoyable round of golf at Wicklow Golf Club and we hope that you will return some time in the future to play here again.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate your comments.

Anne Merrigan
Administrator

pitchmark 350 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Along the cliffs...

... it's almost impossible to get closer.

With moderate up and down along the Irish Sea, this course - originally 9 holes - built. In the early 90s he was expanded to 18 holes. None other than Pat Ruddy - the European owner - has sharpened his pencil. This view of the calm or moving sea almost robs you of your concentration.

The neatly undulating and mostly hanging fairways require target golf - on every hole. This does not threaten much work. All holes have names, some telling and true - Pebble Beach. Yes, the Championstee on Hole 6 lives up to its name.

The greens are partly, at a too short tee, not visible. They are super greens, but they are very fastidious, heavy and very fast.

We wanted to play this course in 1996, but the Landlord B & B wanted to ban this - animosity.

But we played the day before the departure - the women have packed - just like today. At that time the very lake was moving, as the score... today just the opposite.

We had a lot of fun...

In the list of the top 100 Ireland creates - new - this course just yet - currently position 98th The fifth star he owes the cliff situation.

Translated by Google.

Mwolf1 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Phenomenal views

Beautiful views on the cliffs, almost like small pebble beach. Due to the many slopes difficult to play, not only from the stand, but also because of the many hanging fairways regarding positioning of the tee. Fast, well-groomed greens. Due to the drought various bald spots on the fairways.

Translated by Google.

ione3 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Grandiose views!

For a reasonable 30 € a real tip.
Very fast greens and overall well maintained. Friendly staff.
By some blind beats not easy to play.

Translated by Google.

Airhooker 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

View top place flop

The place is so difficult that it was difficult for me with Hcp 12 to play a par. All oblique layers and many blind blows. No nebulous comment can be given on the state of care. Fairways were okei and greens quite spurtreu and especially very fast. The difficulty of the course is compensated by the marvelous views of the sea. All in all, 1 time playing is enough to enjoy the view.

Translated by Google.

Passiongolfer1 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Terrific

This place is a must for a golf trip in and around Dublin.
About 45 minutes from Dublin, this place has everything you would expect from Ireland.
Everywhere there is the yellow, handsome broom. The view of the sea is breathtaking. The hanging fairways make a relatively short and not so difficult course a challenge that one must have played.

Translated by Google.

kgs 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The best are the views!

Diekt situated on the coast parkland course, which seems to consist only of inclined planes. Wonderful views, but the ups and downs on the court is still annoying. Not particularly difficult otherwise.

Translated by Google.

jack200106 22 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Rate seaside links course and yet no

Played in July, 2012. This course is wirlich something special. Located directly on the Irish Sea, he is nevertheless not a links course because he has no dunes but is created on the rocks which result has he the site clings: violent Slopes (hanging fairways) and often not observable and strongly undulating greens, are among others is also a targeted post. The constant ebb and flow makes the place exhausting to go but what everyone does naturally by the local players, however: there are carts. Who wants to go should definitely the bag to all what is not needed to facilitate and take enough water. The place is very clean and has obviously been planned by a good hand, there are spectacular views of the piazza, on Wicklow and on the lake.

Translated by Google.

Golf-Andrea 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place with spectacular views

We played the course to finish our tour of the south of Ireland and were very excited about this place. A successful conclusion!
Of all the holes you have a fantastic view over the Irish Sea and the coastline.
The place was very well maintained. It is not a links course, but this comes very close. By trees and hedges, we found it more appealing than a scenic links course.
The place is quite hilly and partly the green and the next tee are a little further apart, so that a buggy is thoroughly recommended.
The price-quality ratio is excellent.

Translated by Google.

Prillhofer 15 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great views

Beautifully situated on the seafront and great-kept golf course. Respect for the Ginsterstraeuchen that can literally swallow balls.

Translated by Google.

Been to Wicklow Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review