User Reviews

for Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa, Capriva del Friuli, Italy

3.3 of 5 stars33 Reviews

5 Stars:
5
4 Stars:
15
3 Stars:
2
2 Stars:
7
1 star:
4
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 33 from 33

Bambambam 1 Review

Pretty views, but that's it for a big cost

The views on the course are amazing, but from the clubhouse on we were not impressed. This course is too expensive for what's offered. First, we were told our groups would not have carts because they were out. Who runs out of carts? The pro shop lacked basic equipment, make sure you bring your own everything. On the course, the layout was confusing, and the holes were crammed in a very constructed space. It is beautiful, but even though this is very close to my home I will not play again because of the cost is not worth it. Nothing special on this small course.

Emily2 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

No food after the game - great place

It would have been the perfect day: fantastic weather, reservation worked, nice welcome. The course is in good condition, although it often requires a lot of golfing skills and balls. We were sure that we would come back until we arrived at the Osteria. At 3:30 p.m. we were only offered a cold plate. The flight in front of us just had pasta dishes on the table. Just appetizers for us. Opening hours according to the homepage 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. We left hungry. If you're in this league (the ambience is luxurious and advertised as exclusive), it's a no-go to send people away in the afternoon without food. Based on the bookings, you can estimate the number of dining guests. We were really angry and will probably consider coming back or recommending it to others. Eating after the round is part of it for us, after 4 and a half hours of exercise outside you are hungry. Such a disappointment!

Translated by Google.

wagi57 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not worth the money

We played on 9/17/23. Our highest expectations due to the fantastic scenery were ever disappointed. The tees are rough and the fairways are bad and sparsely overgrown. But the worst part was the pre-greens. Not just some places but entire areas were bare. The areas were scarified bare. Nobody would play a course like this a second time - neither would we :-((
The secretariat made no mention of these conditions or whether this treatment was necessary due to weather-related circumstances. No discount was offered.

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Traumkulisse

We come to Spessa quite regularly for 2.3 days, because the package: Castello-golf course-tavernetta-landscape is simply beautiful when everything fits. This time it was, albeit with a lot of luck: We arrived after a rainy period with nice weather, it stayed summery and it poured on the way home. The course was initially quite worn and not mowed because it was very soft, but it dried up quickly and was then also better to play. None of us manage to play the handicap regularly on this course, it has some rather nasty traps, such as the totally hanging green on the 5 (PAR 3), where the ball hardly holds, or the 12 (PAR 4, slight dogleg) that hardly allows a green in regulation. The course is quite varied, trees or bushes come into play at many holes, which require precise play. Countless geese populate the fairways, you forgive them the legacies when they are out and about with the young animals, as they are now. The cuisine is impeccable all around, but unfortunately, as is often the case in Italy, there is hardly anything on offer between 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. Bad for golfers!
Recommended for the evening (although not mentioned by the resort!) is the excellent Ristorante da Monia, right next to the golf course with a dream view and excellent food.

Translated by Google.

ösiandi 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful time

We wanted to escape the cold time and arrived at the Castello on February 10th, 2023.
First to the place: really great for this early season. Already great greens, fairways and bunkers. Certainly not too difficult a place. But one that has its pitfalls to play a good score. The bird droppings lying around here and there didn't bother us. It's great when you can be in harmony with the animal world. If you don't need that, you can play indoor golf.
For dinner in the evening: the fish menu in the tavern was the absolute highlight of the weekend. Can't be beat in my opinion. All courses a real treat. Even better than the view from the driving range. Which is also really great.
Overnight stay: We were upgraded to the Schlosshotel free of charge due to renovation work in the tavern. Thanks for that. However, I have to say that our expectations were not quite met here. I would give the castle hotel a maximum of 3.5 to 4 stars. Everything is quite old-fashioned and used. The breakfast was also mediocre at best.
All in all, we'll definitely be back. The place, the food and the wine are a mega combination.

Translated by Google.

Gofi 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beet field

Played this field on 09/13/2022. Unfriendly reception, golf tavern closed, unplayable fairways, no towels in the shower. We have experienced this place better in previous years. Hope he will be back!

Translated by Google.

Malko 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Picturesquely beautiful

Fantastically beautiful resort with a beautiful golf course. The fairways are interestingly integrated into the resort and are fun even if parts of the fairways, typically Italian, are not so well mowed. Short par 3 of the par 70 course are interestingly laid out with large differences in height. Who doesn't like to tee off “from above”! Lots of trees, the differences in altitude and some water make the course interesting, even if we're not talking about a mountain course here. The castle, spa and resort is beautiful. The cheap accommodation in the Casale was also impeccable in a modern renovated room. We would have liked to have stayed a few days and are happy to come to Wieser.

Translated by Google.

Heavy77 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Pity

We played the course again today after 4 years. Staff, price, location etc as often said very great. However: The droppings of the geese disturbed two of our teammates in such a way that they stopped after 4 or 5 holes. This problem is really unacceptable and it is questionable how that will be in the future. There were horrible, large amounts of feces to be seen everywhere up to 2 lanes. Also on many greens it is de facto almost impossible to putt, as there is a lot of excrement everywhere. Also on the tees, there was sometimes no space to stand without getting in and you also had to be careful not to step in on the fairway. All 6 players agreed: never again as long as this situation is tolerated.

Translated by Google.

Response from Golf Castellodi Spessa, Manager at Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa
October 12, 2023
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Geese are protected animals and cannot be touched, there is a risk of criminal charges, we have tried various strategies to remove them but it is not at all simple, they are migratory animals and it… More

Geese are protected animals and cannot be touched, there is a risk of criminal charges, we have tried various strategies to remove them but it is not at all simple, they are migratory animals and it happens that they stay with us during the migration seasons for several days, they are not sedentary.

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Really good this time

We have played Spessa many times, but this time (June 5th) it was almost perfect. Place maintenance in order, vegetation gorgeous, organization top and the hosteria in top form. If it hasn't rained, the place is really nice.

Translated by Google.

Response from Golf Castellodi Spessa, Manager at Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa
October 27, 2021
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thanks for your comment, we hope to see you again soon.

Translated by Google.

ra.hoffmann 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice

Have played the course in September 2020. Green fee, as mentioned several times, extremely cheap; especially if you live in the Castello, which is an experience in itself. I found the place nice, adequately maintained; some holes were really exciting. So if you're in the area, the space and a meal in one of the two restaurants is definitely worth it.

Translated by Google.

Response from Golf Castellodi Spessa, Manager at Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa
October 27, 2021
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thanks for your comment, we hope to see you again soon.

Translated by Google.

Claudia75 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice!

Greens not really nice! Discounts also not!
Otherwise, and generally a very nice place with some really great holes! Very spacious - so a car is recommended!

Translated by Google.

Response from Golf Castellodi Spessa, Manager at Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa
October 27, 2021
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thanks for your comment, the greens had just been worked, now they are very good, we hope to see you again soon.

Translated by Google.

golfnarr1 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Stars for the environment

Unkempt, z. Part of the castle garden inspired artistic golf courses. Fairway height (where grass is present) 4cm with weeds interspersed. Crosscountry golf, not to mention the greens. Was surprised about the low green fee price, but after we played the course, we knew why.
The 2 stars only because of the landscape.

Translated by Google.

Dottorebernardo 45 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Castle park, vineyards and a great restaurant

We played the course on the 13th of April, after an almost 24-hour flood, only when the sky cleared and then in bright sunshine. The stagnant water has disappeared surprisingly quickly and even the known wild geese have found themselves only in a manageable amount.

The course leads from the castle park, very beautiful through some vineyards, then over a small river to the longer lanes, and finally back to the castle park. The fairways and the greens were well maintained and the service in the club secretariat friendly.

Absolutely also the very good restaurant Tavernetta visit and ideally also stay there.

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 143 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Would not the area...

... then this golf course would not be worth a line. No warning in the secretariat that the place is under water and should be locked. The fairways are worse meadows, un-mown, still bad grass-growing, as if the straws would defend themselves on such a soil to grow... the strokes of millet plants, unkempt to thither. The place would be nice and inviting. And not so easy, because partly very tight.
Only the greens are amazingly good.
And the environment is simply simply stunning. The Castello di Spessa a gem, in which one must have lived, so sultry the whole is also. And the gastronomy in the area is without a great. So only recommended for fair weather, otherwise only for masochists.

Translated by Google.

Hans T. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place in a beautiful setting

Nice friendly welcome. Fairways, tees and greens despite heat and dryness in good condition. Greenfee and Cartmiete for seniors very accommodating. We will be back!

Translated by Google.

K. Per 457 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Neglected

What was the positive thing about this place? The Gastro is nice, the food in place can be recommended.
5 hole, a par 3 in the vineyards is nicely laid out.
The greens are okay though, but very slowly.
Oh yes, the ambience with the castle looks beautiful.

Otherwise, not a lot of positives:
Very disturbing is the extreme feces of wild geese, lying around not only on the "fairways" but also on the greens.
The "Fairways" are mowed lawns that can withstand comparison with Topplätzen never ever for me most of.
Many bald patches.
The paths between the fairways sometimes very far, confusing signs space.

Not recommended!

Translated by Google.

Dottorebernardo 45 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great combination of good space and a very good restaurant

The expansion of the front / back nine has improved the place considerably. The front nine through the vineyards are truly exceptional. Unpleasant, as already discussed the many wild geese with their droppings in the tracks before the castle. The greens are fast and Fairwaays very fine. the restaurant "Tavernettaa" definitely consult.

Translated by Google.

kalle 709 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Friuli dream

Castello comes from the 4 repeatedly into view! Lanes 1 - 12 out and 18 are super! The course is not too difficult, but warped balls usually end up in the vineyards! In general the place is very picturesque and it pays him well to drive in good weather! We were thrilled!

Translated by Google.

Golferin 30 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

I like

We play the place very often, whether the spring summer or fall, we always had a great time. There are 4 holes on the Ducks are really cute. Otherwise one has wonderful ambience in the vineyards. The place is relatively easy to play, for beginners, perhaps a little more difficult because you have to be just as water and not as wide.
Especially great we found it after a beautiful day of golf in the Tavernetta to eat and drink the wine of Castello. We can absolutely recommend the place and will definitely come again.

Translated by Google.

antonaltenberg 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hot battle in Collio

The place is relatively narrow, a lot of water and quite a few living birdies (ducks) the clamoring wander between the 10 and 11 back and forth. Lanes 4-8 go through the vineyards. Precise game is a must! Relatively long distances between the tees. Quite nice, if you're near. Culinary delights without end!

Translated by Google.

anton-fritz 150 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Take Away!

Not a bad thing, just go extracting ago is obsolete. The atmosphere is great and the people friendly. If one is near - you have a nice, fairly simple round on. Games!

Translated by Google.

manfredf 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A beautiful park

With a nice golf course.

The course is challenging, especially the greens were very well maintained and the environment is quite nice.

Translated by Google.

franz1 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf in the vineyards

We played the course last week, after 3 years of intensive work, he is now in great condition. The greens are hervorrangend, the fairways a little tighter, roofed-exact match is announced! But the location is very varied.
Tenders with an overnight stay and two green fairy are really great.
We will come back

Translated by Google.

CaHa 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Inadvisable

I played this course only once and already terminated after 9 holes. Unfortunately, the fairways (the holes 1-9) are not in accordance with the normal standard. One problem is certainly the bottom dar. The club restaurant and the terrace (as well as the food and wine) are excellent, and the view of the Castello. With a wine tasting one is better advised.

Translated by Google.

ChristofBoeck 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Work done

Hello,

We played the course.. Very demanding, narrow fairways but varied. The staff was very nice. The renovations are completed Completely restructured and the place is in a great condition - great greens and winter.. We will come back

Translated by Google.

volleytommy 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place - unfortunately under repair

Have played the course this summer and loved the place and the environment. Staff was very friendly and the view of the castle was great. However, some renovations were underway - hence I give only 4 stars, but if the conversion is finished, we would love to come again!

Translated by Google.

Michael Rolf 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

September 2012 - Inadequate Care - renovations

The best thing about Spessa Castle is the location of the driving range with views towards the castle + park, and of the castle itself very beautiful. But then: Inadequate care of the lanes 1 to 12 and 18 There are also huge renovation work being secluded, accessible only via a country road bridge lanes 13 to 17 - (!) But this one had only 10 minutes later us in the parking lot to except payment of green fees stated by saying "we should be a couple of other Railways play twice." For discount car 15 you go up a dirt embankment slope and new faces there with an old tee mat on a 2.5-meter-wide dike facing. The renovations probably take quite a few months. The whole area looks dry. Also missing for strangers exact signs to the next track (example: from lane 2 to lane 3). Conclusion: We did not come there again.

Translated by Google.

Peter G. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Schlectes design, poor maintenance

Designter a bad place with at least grants (end June 2012) lack of care and was built in a beautiful setting.

Translated by Google.

dob 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Discerning place

Extremely tricky paths which meander around to the castle. Also interesting is the offer in the winter to 31 March night in the club house and 2 green fees for 100th - €. Surely come again

Translated by Google.

dieoberkärntner 4 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sexy 'vineyard Holes'

Very nice, well maintained and challenging system.
Infratrukturelle facilities are available and well maintained.
Club restaurant with excellent food and very nice and friendly service.
Price-performance ratio is perfectly fine.
Not so good: access signs.
Conclusion: We come again

Translated by Google.

Loser 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fall 2011

The course is in very good condition. In fine autumn weather in the beautiful colors. Just gorgeous. For me, the most beautiful and interesting place in the area. Even the most proud of € 72 - incl Hotelvergünstung 20% ​​supposedly! (Saturday) dream tee shot on the par 3 15 tea!

Translated by Google.

kikmia 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf Castello di Spessa

very nice surroundings, the place is getting better, a lot of work

Translated by Google.

golfista 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

March 2011

Lack of space, poor architecture and design, and apparently no Greenkeeper, but steep price of € 60, -

Translated by Google.

Been to Golf & Country Club Castello di Spessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review