User Reviews

for Fancourt, South Africa

4.6 of 5 stars25 Reviews

5 Stars:
18
4 Stars:
4
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 25 from 25

Ians 8 Reviews

Fab Resort and courses

Great resort and golf courses. Enjoyed every moment there.

Smartcore 1 Review

Outstanding venue

World traveller from the the UK single figure golfer.

Exceptional practice facilities included.

Viewed on Saturday afternoon when it was quiet.

Played on Montague on a Sunday afternoon which was a little congested. However, marshalls were on hand to help with call through.

There were skilfull challenges on many hole with an option to bail out if wanted especially on par 3s.

Well worth the money, scored 80 = 36 points.

JoJo 28 Reviews

The Links is outstanding

One if the best courses I have played. Can stand any comparison with any of the top 10 courses in Europe.
Links layout but the greens are as any other normal golf course, very fast...

M.Matschke 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Inconceivably beautiful

All three places are in an absolute tour care condition.
Above all, of course, is "The Links"

Translated by Google.

RalfB 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice course, but expensive

We, Hcp 10 and 30, were there on 07.01.19, as an external guest. Could only play the Outeniqua course. Had booked the tee time 4 weeks before directly over the golf secretariat. The links are only playable for hotel guests, and the third place will probably be used only for members. So it might be. The Outeniqua course is a parkland course with various water hazards and different doglegs. The place was in a very good condition, very well maintained, except the bunker, where there was hardly any sand in it. The course is almost level, you could also walk it very well - we had a 71-year-old lady in the flight who ran him with her caddy over 18 holes. Yes, you can also rent a caddy, which aside from the bag-wear and otherwise with advice and act aside. The said Caddy knew the place and especially the greens very well. Would we want to try soon? Depending on how the tees are set, or which tee you use, the course can be easy or even sporty. We would basically like to play it again because of its design, but find the price very borderline, after all we had to lie down 3980 Rand plus Cart. But you can also very extensively use the training facilities, driving range, chipping and putting area. Balls are available there free of charge and there is a lot of staff there, which picks up the balls and corrects them. In addition, a halfway catering is included. The halfway break is a must. Basically everyone was very friendly and helpful. Due to the features of the resort, the parking lot is also a little further away, but you can quickly get there by shuttle. The parking lot is in the resort area and accordingly safe. There is an extensive Proshop and a good gastronomy.

Translated by Google.

Kaberne 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Places very good - service very bad!!

The hotel must be booked very bad (in view of the quality too expensive), because you forced green fee players to stay there absolutely. On the links course there are no start times without observation. In the other places I tried to get a start time in the morning one year in advance (!!). No, without an overnight stay I can only start in the afternoon from 13:30.
Last year we took part and played all three places. The seats were ok, but definitely not spectacular. This year we will refrain from doing so, because we do not want to return to the dark hotel rooms, and the bad restaurants have lasted us last year too. This is also reflected in other reviews.
If you are undesirable as a green fee player, I will not come. Thank you!

Translated by Google.

georgemannix 55 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Outeniqua - gem at second glance

When you play Fancourt you first call LINKS and Montagu, which are also 5-star places. The Outeniqua, however, should not be left behind, because it is beautiful and comparatively simpler. Here disturbs the consistently pretty with the landscape-coordinated building (partly on the edge of the tracks) little. Numerous non-severe water hazards make the round a varied pleasure.
Conclusion: A wonderful introduction to the Fancourt trio, which leaves no wish unfulfilled, perhaps in contrast to the hotel business, which, despite various restaurants and well-designed and equipped suites, especially at breakfast sometimes a mass processing equals.
F

Translated by Google.

JackRyan 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very big class with a small defect

Room very large, nice and clean, we had a fireplace. Overall, the resort is truly a paradise, not just for golfers.
Montague Course a beautiful, interesting and well maintained place.
The Links is world class, in every respect - facility, difficulty, care condition, halfway, caddies. Here golf is cultivated on every level of the highest level!
Downfalls are the restaurants. Why one offers canned fruit for breakfast instead of fresh fruit in a five-star resort is incomprehensible. Overall, very low quality of the products at breakfast, matching badly trained and unmotivated staff - simply unworthy, more on two star level. Dinner ok, but that just caught my wife in Fancourt a gastrointestinal history, just can not be. In order to meet the otherwise extremely high level in Fancourt, something must happen quickly in the food and beverage sector.

Translated by Google.

Maxgolf2016 17 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great golf courses but...

We stayed at Fancourt Resort in October 2017 and played the courses Montagu and The Links.
Of course, the links are a world-class place but very few people know that it's just "an artificial links-course". This was George's old airfield. The care condition of the place is outstanding, but we liked because of the difference in the holes Montagu almost even better.
You have to like the elitist theater around the links. We liked the place of the local golf club in George the best.

Translated by Google.

M.S.S. 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golf courses top, concept "Fancourt" well...

We played Outeniqua and The Links in November 2017.
Both courses were in perfect condition, The Links a great golfing experience.

We had a very early start time, so the place was still deserted and almost windless.
It was an incredible experience to be able to play with such perfect caddies - the score was correspondingly good...

However, the overall concept "Fancourt" did not really suit us, the hotel and especially the restaurant Henry White were a bit disappointing.

The complex seemed to us like a Disneyland for golfers.
The restaurant wants to play in a high (high-priced) league, but despite extensive wine list was no adequate advice, factual criticism was ignored...

Translated by Google.

MattiHH 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Sensational

Played 03/04/2017 We played by the three Fancourt courses only "The Links". The place is truly spectacular and all the trappings unique. the place however, does not so easily, especially around the greens around. In wind definitely take enough balls. All in all, a world-class place!

Translated by Google.

Anja81 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Montagu well, The Links fantastic

We were in February 2017 Fancourt Resort and Park Montagu and The Links have played.
The resort is laid out like a Garden of Eden, flowers everywhere plantations, houses in Cape Dutch style and all very well maintained, a golf oasis.

The Montagu Place is very beautiful, flowers everywhere and watercourses. The condition is perfect! The lanes are very wide and the place overall is not particularly difficult, therefore suitable for almost every skill level. The site that is even a cart is not necessary. The design and the individual webs per se are nice but not wow. A comparison with the coastal places (eg Pinnacle Point) is in my opinion not possible because the place is very different. Overall, very touristy and very busy. is started every 10 minutes in 4-Flights. One can take a caddy, but not a must. Is characterized by the very good organization around golf and the very friendly service in the pro shop.
Great Halfway and a pro shop with a lot of selection of logo products.
Other golfers have told us that the Outeniqua should be similar and equally beautiful.

The Links is world class! It is located off the beaten path, you will be driven to a shuttle there. There is a private clubhouse with its own pro shop. The place is fantastic and created much more difficult to play than the other places. Because the tracks are much narrower, off, the ball is almost not be found and the greens should be due to the bunkering alluded tall pot bunkers. Caddies are mandatory. We had fantastic caddies self Hcp 0 and 3 have that well Singlehandicapern quite bring something (direction in blind holes, correct club selection with the wind and especially Putlinien). Therefore fun guaranteed.
Super Halfway (with drinks included in the green fee). Great service.

Translated by Google.

Golf4fun 101 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

First-class

We played the Montagu. In all respects an excellent golf course. Some reviews talked about that as Pinnacle Point or other places could outstrip the Faincourt. I can see completely different. The Faincourt is a classic, sporty and fair golf course as he is in the book and not a fun place where you can lose sometimes 20 balls by strong winds or gorges on bad days.

Translated by Google.

Birdie-Pete 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

With the best in the region

We have already played both the Montagu and Outeniqua. Both courses hervorrragend, very well maintained and the level of difficulty is very limited. Green fees more than fair (about 50 € incl. Cart). For every golfer a must!

Translated by Google.

harley 33 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great golf course

We played all three positions in succession. The two parkland courses are beautifully laid out and made to play a lot of fun. Our caddies tried very hard to ensure we had a lot of joy to our rounds of golf.
The so called "The Links" is not dependent on the sea. The white one before getting paid green fee. So what should the criticism afterwards.
We found this place very interesting and well maintained. I myself (Hcp 14) have played classic links in Ireland and here "despite" the water distant location had a great day of golf.
Bottom line: these places must have gspielt.

Translated by Google.

Anke+Hans 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great service

We played all three courses. Grade maintained and varied. Be sure to play with caddy! Very well trained and friendly. We have it saved on the left space. We are as two flight on the second hole at an extremely slow quad flight accrued, despite asking our caddys not let us play through. Then they took a shortcut to 10 us. And the best: to hole 14 of the clubhouse Service has served on the tee with table and chairs the halftime. In the end we have been driven to the missing holes.

Translated by Google.

georgemannix 55 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

It need not always be LINKS

Played on 01/21/2016

Have the Montagu, one of the three Fancourt courses, played with great pleasure and were once again impressed by the whole system, the well-stocked Pro Shop, the friendliness of the staff and the many ways to relax after golfing pleasure. Although quite busy and totally focused on the game of golf, the Fancourt Resort at least one more day visit is worth at George. The 'Montagu' we liked, though not as spectacular as the links course, but is much cheaper and with almost the same game play. A total of moderate space with some finesse and the potential to "withhold" the odd ball. A golf cart is recommended because of the sometimes long distances between the tracks. The green fee prices are fair.
Conclusion: An outstanding golf experience in the golf mecca of the Garden Route.

Translated by Google.

UWV 63 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful plant

We played The Links and Outeniqua, both of which increases with caddies the fun factor. The Links is simply out-standing. Outeniqua drops slightly but also to play nice.

Translated by Google.

Berlin Golf Bear 62 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Friendly Montagu, great plants and a successful, overpriced fake links

Fancourt - Montagu
Friendly Course, great plants very well maintained

Played on 06/12/2014, HCP 14

An excellent well maintained parkland course with nice views of the mountains. On the front nine super beautiful flora - an incredible number of flowers, shrubs and trees. Unfortunately, there is track 10 from optically significantly weaker, until the 17 again the great planting.

Although plenty of water (especially the attack on the green of the 18 has a water hazard directly in front of the terrace there "psychological" in it) and some bunkers (sand from the finest, very playable), but not particularly difficult (wide fairways, clearly recognizable trajectory). Greens quickly, but not overly fast - undulating, but reasonably legible.

Be sure to play with Cart! The course is relatively flat, but the paths between the orbits are extremely long and not always well signposted!

With approximately EUR 70, - (Cart inclusive) quite in the top price segment in this area, but in any case worth it, considering the maintenance state and the myriad of staff! The service is friendly and accommodating, yet still unobtrusive - just as you'd expect.

Conclusion: A large parts visually delightful place to be, even if the ultimate sporting challenge is missing, loves to play repeatedly. Smooth 4 stars (the "Bear Golf Ranking": 8 out of 10 points).

---

Fancourt - The Links
Successful, overpriced fake

Played on 14/12/2014, HCP 14

No, a links course it is not! He is just not the sea.
But he is, despite some "mistakes" (water hazards on a left ???) a very, very nice imitation of one. Hard, hilly fairways, plenty of bunkers, Left-like growth - if the weather was not so good, one could imagine in good ol' Scotland. In this respect, a successful fake!

Overall, the place is not easy to play. You should have space-knowledge or a very good caddy. And so we're on one of the two major problems of the system - there is a mandatory caddy. "Allegedly," this is a "Walk-Only" Place - why everywhere Cart-paths exist, where carts are constantly on the move remains unclear. With caddies can have great luck - if you have a very good, you get a lot of entertaining information about place, country and people, precise information on the distances and excellent help when putting! I had "Charlie". Instead of information about space only detailed explanations of how difficult life as a caddy how bad you get paid and how bad it is for his family - especially now before Christmas... In relation to its distance information I have continued to be beaten on that day about 15% (carry) than usual. Dutifully, he has always shown on each of the hard-to-read, spacious greens a Break - completely independent of a break from there was or the ball would have been just playing straight center hole. His criticism of my club selection ( "with the bat is never what") has given me for each forthcoming impact not just additional self-confidence...
In short, here the management has totally failed - if you already exclaims Caddies mandatory, you should also ensure that they are adequately trained. It costs, but should at - and thus to issue no. 2 - be THE green fee prices of course. With over EUR 155, - (exclusive Caddie fee and tip - these are again approximately EUR 25, - due!) Is the round more than twice as expensive as other prominent places on the Garden Route. Average good places you can play here too one-tenth of the money!

You would make a fine on VERY - Transportation from your hotel room (the place can be played only by hotel guests) to the first tee by Cart. There is a tea gift (very nice, large "The Links" ball marker), snacks and water and it selects its half-time snack that will be served after 9 holes (all included in green fees).

This is all very nice, but overall just overpriced - especially the maintenance condition of the course, although decent, but far from perfect is (many not repaired divots).

Conclusion: A quite handsome, interesting imitation links-style course that should have a "golf-collector" played safely at least once. To play it several times, the place would have certainly earned the quality of her - at the "moon prices" and the wide range of other first-class courses in this region, however, you can be happy without it. The "Montagu" Course at Fancourt Resort is at least as well-maintained, optically even better and costs less than half. Thus, for "The Links" only 4 stars (the "Bear Golf Ranking": 7 out of 10 points).

Translated by Google.

karinth 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

For us at the TOP of South Africa

Very neat places in beautiful countryside with interesting challenges. Very fast greens. We recommend places to play with caddies. These were characterized as very competent counselor and as Nebenefekt can learn the language. We look forward to our next stay befeits today.

Translated by Google.

Walchwiler 64 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great places

Here everything from the driving range to the restaurant.
The two places Montagu and Outeniqua 20 for mttlere player HCP - to play 30.
Too bad that the HalfWayHouse does not match the high level.
Staff very friendly and competent.

Translated by Google.

Tomthedom 33 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Where is the sea?

So far, lay any links course that I have played, by the sea. The but not here. You can see it even from afar. And say as demanding as the previous speakers is the place either. You just have to play from the right tees him. With 11 HCP am I doing nearly 6.8 kilometers just not on. The place itself is absolutely top. 1 star deduction he gets me just because the sea was missing.

Translated by Google.

kleebauer 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Top courses!

All three places were in March 2013 in absolute top condition.
Outeniqua a beautiful pleasant-to-play parkland course.
Montagu, a world-class place - as parkland course not easy to play. The famous LEFT the No. 1 ranking in SA an incredible challenge. Definitely not a place for players with HCPs about -18!

Translated by Google.

brandy 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Feel sorry for

Places are all in very good condition. Players often do not. Then, when the place is closed in the morning, all pushed together on Nachittag that is not communicated, this system is also very fast mediocrity

Translated by Google.

RLiedtke 25 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Advisable

All 3 Campsite at Fancourt are internaltionales top level. In particular, the links course is sporty challenging to play than the other two classic parkland courses rather simple, but no less attractive.
For South Africa, the price of the link Course with 175 EUR incl caddy is however covered!
Otherwise, just great!

Translated by Google.

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review