User Reviews

for The Old Course Golf Club, Algarve, Portugal

4.5 of 5 stars32 Reviews

5 Stars:
19
4 Stars:
10
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
0
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 32 from 32

Krister 2 Reviews

Not among the best in Algarve

Played end 2011. Old Course is more of a "park course", and therefore different than most other Algarve alternatives. The advantage is that you're more secluded, that wind is less of a factor, but obviously that trees are more in play.
Nice course, nice layout. Very poor "club house facilities". Shower rooms from 1982, and I think the cleaner left in 2004?
Restaurant simple, and at best "OK".

Frank B 4 Reviews

Very nice course

I played the course in June 2013. The course is beautifull and in excellent condition and when you take the twilight offer (I started at 14.30 pm) it is only EUR 74, a buggy is only EUR 20 (10 pp) and (excellent !) Titleist rental cub were only EUR 10. In total for less than EUR you can play a beautifull course!!

Donny Deep 3 Reviews

Must Play

Spectacular old course. Great condition and fun to play.
6th hole, a 223 yard beauty.
Pricey, but worth it.

Enjoy Golf 51 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Classically good

Classic. That comes to mind when I am at tee 1 of the Old Course. Classic golf between pine trees. In contrast to the squares in Vale do Lobo, it does not get through between the houses, the square is a natural unit. My favorite is hole 4, a great par 3 with a small lake and a great tree obstacle - a treat. Seen over the entire round, the holes look a bit similar, but the special, surprising is missing. So only 4 stars? No, because if you can play a golf course in such a densely built-up area that offers so much nature and quality and is still fair and enjoyable to play, then this combination definitely deserves 5 stars.

Translated by Google.

Golfbaellchen66 56 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Advisable

Played in February 2019, the course was in good condition, some of the ground a bit too wet, the greens not too fast. Striking the place design is that there is only a single water hazard (or now Penalty Aerea). But strategically placed bunkers & the ubiquitous pines require strategically good and accurate play.
A buggy bar was in action and happened to us 3 times during our 4:20 hours on the course.

Translated by Google.

reiner2304 320 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Parkland in its original form

Played on 28.11.2018. The slightly hilly Course (Cart for normal sports Ambitious not required) is located on the edge of the tourist stronghold Vilamoura in absolute peace and nature. Only on the outer edge of the square are some villas in the most subtle distance. You play the parkland course (just a water obstacle) through a pine landscape. And that's the only challenge, apart from possibly two three slightly smaller tees. The pines definitely come into play more often. It's just as the name implies an old ingrown place. There are some nice increased haircuts, that's about it, too. So correct highlights I missed personally. The final tracks are more "normal" and do not tear it out. The condition was okay but not great. The greens except for a few not repaired pitch marks (as the course of course can not help it) in very good condition, every now and then strongly undulating, loyal and fast. The Cartwege could use a renewal. The in my view here in any case with in November 144 € overpriced green fee (a star deduction therefore) you pay in the clubhouse (already a bit old but OK) in the busy but nice staff. From 12:50 clock reduced the green fee to 92 €, which is more appropriate. However, you then run the risk of cope with slow flight before one, not in the light. The starter was nice and gave a brief introduction. A driving range is available. Some euphoric reviews, I can not join, is just a matter of taste. From my point of view, not a must, in the region there are more exciting, varied places, but who likes golf in its original form, which is the round recommended here.

Translated by Google.

georgemannix 55 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Demanding golfing in beautiful surroundings

At least moderate place with beautiful well-kept tracks, many ballschluckenden often in the way standing pines and only a few water hazards. Overall, the green fee is too high, yet worth playing if you're golfing in the area, as the course is undoubtedly one of the better in Portugal. Clubhouse also quite passable. Spectacular scenic start offers Bahn 1 down the slope.

Translated by Google.

mbiehal 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great golf course

On 26.10.18 my wife and I played "The Old Course". In the first nine unfortunately rain, in the back nine sunny / cloudy. The course is great, sophisticated, well maintained. The ladies in the golf secretariat very friendly and helpful, as well as helpful caddy master. In the restaurant friendly service, food was normal.

Translated by Google.

fb 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Venerable old place

Like all top courses in the Algarve, this one is well maintained and maintained. The tracks are - even by the ubiquitous pines - demanding and not as wide as they look. Due to the fouling and the larger distances between the Spielbahen as well as between the flights you rarely see other golfers and the system exudes great peace and quiet.
Even if the game fee is not exactly a bargain I will come back at the next opportunity.

I did not frequent the gastronomy - therefore no assessment.

Translated by Google.

sand30 27 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The best

The "Old Course" is for me the best golf course around Vilamoura. The course is challenging and wonderfully integrated into nature. Since most fairways are lined with pine trees, you have to play strategically if you want to bring home a good result. The fairways and greens are very well maintained - the clubhouse with the restaurant does not match the level of the course.

Translated by Google.

francesco 34 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Worth a trip!

Can I agree with the above, positive reviews only. The place is very varied and wonderfully integrated into nature. Who has a problem with the pines, it is your own fault and should adapt his game accordingly! Driving range and restoration, however, have room for improvement.

Translated by Google.

FrankH 20 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful

If it were not for the Victoria, I would say that this is my absolute favorite place. But putting him second would not do the place justice. You play interesting, varied fairways, sometimes flat, sometimes downhill, sometimes uphill and always demanding. The fairways are lined with pine trees, so you do not realize that you play in the middle of the village. Even in the off season on New Year's Eve the place was in perfect condition and wonderful to play.

Translated by Google.

Rodigan 42 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great old place

We played the course in mid-March and loved it because of the old trees, the great integrates the space in the dense development of Vilamoura.
The service left nothing to be desired, even if it still seems a bit exaggerated, if one is driven 50 meters from the parking lot to the clubhouse with the cart, but so be it.
The place is as already mentioned great grown, but this very precise game and perhaps even require a detour because flag or planned landing zone are playable without tree contact.
The course is thus the perfect contrast to Victoria Square, which was created for today's tournaments.
The condition was very good and left nothing to be desired. The fact that the greens were airifiziert have to accept at certain seasons and deal with it.

Conclusion: Games if you like narrow fairways with mature trees. Hitter off the tee should consider alternatives to Driver.

Translated by Google.

Birdie Hunter 10 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Precise Match is asked

I played the course on 22 November 2016th My golf bag is taken off me after the parking. The Caddy makes everything ready and bring the golf bag for putting green prior to the clubhouse. The ladies at the reception are friendly, as well as the Caddy Master, the starter and the rest of the staff. The infrastructure has come into the day but overall okay. The place is beautifully designed, varied and in an excellent maintenance condition. Here precise game is primarily asked what stands already on the first fairway (I have rarely seen such a close fairway). Hitters with scattering bring here is not a good result home. Overall a great experience and worth the money in any case. I will gladly come again.

Translated by Google.

Wg 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Wonderful golf course

We have experienced a very nice day of golf at the Old Course the end of October. Varied, partly narrow alleys, excellent maintenance condition and very friendly service, undoubtedly one of the best golf courses on the Algarve. Can highly recommend.

Translated by Google.

Mustapha 12 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Here everything is right!

A great place that we found perfect in every way! Varied, well maintained, nice staff. One place you should play absolutely!
Mustapha

Translated by Google.

manfredf 39 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Nice, tight and short, but overpriced

The positives first: A lovely, slightly hilly course without much obstacles besides the beautiful trees. The condition was good, but not spectacular.

Green fee + Trolley + Rangeballs together were more expensive than the Victoria, who still is then an entirely different league.

Translated by Google.

need_my_wedge 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

The best Oceânico

Interesting holes in great care condition. Greens were fast but fair. Slightly hilly surrounded by pine, it is important to place his tee shot on the fairway - partially the right side of the fairway !!! - Except you can shapen into your beats Green

Translated by Google.

birdie-line 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

Very well maintained and exciting holes. Highly recommended. Hilly and not the widest fairways but fair. We liked the place very much and, amazingly, was not busy and we were able to just play through without delay. Relatively expensive.

Translated by Google.

Peter T. 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very nice, well-kept place

Played in October 2015th The place was very well maintained and made spirits. However, a hilly course with a little water for narrow lanes lined by beautiful pine. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for all skill levels.

Translated by Google.

AndreasPees 18 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Entschleunigend

Beautiful and cozy place with super manicured fairways and greens. Exact match is the many trees and the consequent partly very narrow fairways demand.

Translated by Google.

kalle 417 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

One of the best!

The Old Curse for me is still the best part of the Oceanico resort and one of the best courses in Portugal!
It is a must for all golfers Algarve!

Translated by Google.

Juni 13 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Feeling of Belek in the Algarve

Fantastically well-kept place surrounded with pine trees. Each hole is a delight. Easy to go, so on a cart can be safely omitted.
Every time again and a must in the Algarve!

Translated by Google.

UWV 59 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place, old place

With very many and beautiful pine trees. Good Condition, very friendly and helpful staff. The site has short distances and is very pleasant to walk.

Translated by Google.

oranje 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A must

A beautiful, well-kept golf course. Each web has a sight for sore eyes. Not easy to play, but the challenge is really fun. Man can smell the tradition. An absolute must.

Translated by Google.

Enate 7 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Good

Beautiful parkland course in good maintenance condition. Very friendly staff.

Translated by Google.

echt 38 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Power up to its name

We played the course in January 14. A place with beautiful old trees that can be played even without trolley or buggy. Short distances and top care status and off the fairways and greens. Something älters Clubhouse but very friendly staff. Gladly again.

Translated by Google.

wolfgang.p 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Class

Were there in February 2013. The square and the state were outstanding. The old trees, which is already on the 1 in impressive fashion to advantage, extends over the entire system. Fairways and greens were very good. Staff is very friendly. In addition to the Victoria course an absolute must!

Translated by Google.

Steffie 5 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Fantastically

Beautiful place! Necessarily play.
I played there in June 2012. Top condition.
What is terribly annoying but sometimes the cries of countless children who inhabit the pools of the adjacent villas.
Clubhouse bit old fashioned / slightly run down, but ok. Restaurant not grade the Burner but ok but with beautiful views. Service nice and very helpful, eg beverage ice box at cart.
No Handicap control
Ps According to Hilton brochure incidentally Men 28 / Women 36

Translated by Google.

lucky 9 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful Place

A wonderful old golf course in very good condition care. If you play!

Translated by Google.

Head 57 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

Have played there for the year 2011/1012. Very nice place, well maintained, good to run, it feels like any well.
A must.

Translated by Google.

Hewo 77 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

A must in the Algarve

This total is not very difficult place has a special atmosphere. The place is not affected by roads or houses. The condition is always good. I love this place, if I am just after sunrise on the first Tea stand.

Translated by Google.

Been to The Old Course Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review