User Reviews

for Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Zell am See, Austria

4.1 of 5 stars27 Reviews

5 Stars:
14
4 Stars:
7
3 Stars:
4
2 Stars:
0
1 star:
2
Write a Review

Reviews 1 - 27 from 27

K. Per 299 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Schmittenhöhe course

Great course with beautiful fairways, very well maintained, we didn't expect anything else, as the Kitzsteinhorn course, played 3 months ago, was in excellent shape.
Greens very fast and on track, top fairways, actually nothing to criticize!

Translated by Google.

Claudia75 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Kitzsteinhorn

The complex is generally very nice and well-kept. Clubhouse good. We played the Kitzsteinhorn course in the Strawberry Tour final - unfortunately the course for a leading golf course was not in the expected condition. Fairways sometimes really bad with burned-out spots - no rule of thumb regarding that. The greens were absolutely bad - were aerated and sanded before the tournament, which is a cheek at a tournament. Sometimes even bald spots on the greens. Just not what you would expect from a leading place. The place itself is beautifully idyllic and would be great if the condition were better.
But we'll be back, maybe the place will be in better condition then.

Translated by Google.

Karl_62 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Leading Course with Blemishes

I played both courses in August 2020. The seats, the clubhouse, the restaurant, the secretariat, all suitable for leading courses. What is not possible, however, is the shooting range in the middle between the two ranges. On the first day (Schmittenhöhe) approx. 2 1/2 hours of shots every 10 seconds, on the second day the intervals between the shots were longer, but large calibers were shot. The constantly low-flying fan guns (in the east, a small airport borders directly on the square) are the lesser evil. Golf enjoyment on a leading course looks different to me!

Translated by Google.

Response from Walter Dabernig, Club Manager at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
August 26, 2020
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Hello Mr. Karl_62, I am very sorry that you caught 2 days working at the firing range. Usually 3 days a week the shooting range is open with very little traffic. The airfield and the shooting range… More

Hello Mr. Karl_62,

I am very sorry that you caught 2 days working at the firing range.
Usually 3 days a week the shooting range is open with very little traffic. The airfield and the shooting range are both facilities that were there before the golf course. Therefore we have no influence here.

Please excuse this uncomfortable noise nuisance, which we cannot influence.

I hope you could still enjoy our beautiful places!

Walter Dabernig
Club manager

Translated by Google.

K. Per 299 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Kitzsteinhorn course

Top maintained course, with excellent greens that were very fast and on track. Greens relatively large and undulating.
Bunker very good to play, fairways very nice.
The first nine are a little easier to play, they are also a bit shorter from a distance.
The back nine are trickier, with lots of water and lots of doglegs.
Interesting fairway 10, a par 5 with a peninsula green.

A great place

Very good practice facility

Friendly secretariat, excellent gastro with great menu.

Translated by Google.

Response from Walter Dabernig, Club Manager at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
June 29, 2020
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thank you for the top rating. I am very happy that you enjoyed it so much. Hopefully see you soon! Walter Dabernig Club manager More

Thank you for the top rating.
I am very happy that you enjoyed it so much.

Hopefully see you soon!

Walter Dabernig
Club manager

Translated by Google.

Erlinger 14 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Two super places

The facility is located in the middle of the mountains, but is completely flat. Beautiful views of Kitzsteinhorn and Co are constant companions during the round.

I've already played both courses. Overall, they are similar in layout. The differences are in the details.
Doglegs change with straight tracks, bunkers keep defending the track, the holes are mostly surrounded by trees, sometimes also by biotopes / high grass. Water comes into play again and again, sometimes when teeing off, sometimes around the green. In terms of length, I would say: good average.

Maintenance condition: very good (directional greens, beautiful fairways and tea boxes etc)

The golf experience is rounded off by friendly people in the clubhouse and a good restaurant.

So: I only see positive things - so stop by when you are nearby ;-)

Translated by Google.

versbuero1 44 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Leading at its best

Have played both facilities Kitzsteinhorn and Schmittenhöhe.
Both plants were in a sensational condition.
On both days there was some flight operations (parachutists) at the adjacent airfield, but this was not very disturbing.
The practice area is large, but unfortunately has "only" mat discounts.
The gastronomy is excellent and the reception and pro shop are very accommodating and friendly.
How to imagine a "Leading Golf Course"!
We will definitely be back.

Translated by Google.

Response from Walter Dabernig, Club Manager at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
June 17, 2020
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thank you so much for the great review. We will definitely continue to do our best and look forward to seeing you again soon! Best regards Walter More

Thank you so much for the great review.
We will definitely continue to do our best and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards
Walter

Translated by Google.

Oesigolfer 52 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Kitzsteinhorn - very nice facility!

Flat good to run place, which we have played in moderate weather, very good 3 wheel trolleys. The tracks are all varied, if not impressive, but maybe you just have to play the course more often. Very nice reception.
The first nine run in front of the clubhouse, the second behind the driving range, each with a magnificent view of the mountain panorama and the eponymous Kitzsteinhorn. Course condition great, sufficient care, greens fixed and undulating, difficult to read. All in all a great round.
The drink behind on the closed due to the bad weather with protective windows terrace was us disgusted by the local smoker. That this still exists in Austria is actually amazing.

Translated by Google.

kempa 3 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Super condition

We played 36 holes on the Schmittenhöhe course on Saturday. The place is in great condition, great layout and exciting holes. On one of the last beautiful Saturdays in the year it goes of course on the adjacent airfield, felt starts / lands every 5 minutes a plane. That can be annoying, but we got used to it quickly. Since we like to play a lot it is already an advantage that it is a day green fee.

Translated by Google.

Harry W 44 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Typical parkland course Schmittenhöhe

Beautiful parkland course. Not easy to play greens because increased. Very well maintained facility.

Translated by Google.

Dieter1963 6 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Not quite round!

After it had rained overnight, both places were slightly under water.
I first played the Kitzsteinhorn Course with my wife, as there was a gun-start tournament in the other square. The greens were punched and sanded a week earlier, we were told - but would be in a perfect condition and no problem playing them. That was it! If you make good strokes to the green, it is annoying to gamble your score on the perforated sandy green! The panorama in the middle of the mountains is very beautiful. So actually a place with 36 holes that you can play well when you're in the area.
We have 87 € per person. paid and no benefits due to the place condition since it is a day green fee.
But with the flood of guest players and maybe even a tournament you can hardly manage to play both courses in one day. We tried, but only made 9 holes. Therefore from me only 3 stars.

Translated by Google.

pitchmark 194 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

30 years...

... have passed since our first visit. A rainy holiday week is responsible for the virus which we still have despite intensive therapies.

At that time they played on 18 holes that were planned and built in two stages by Donald Harradine, the third nine were under construction. The fourth nine - the second nine of the Kitzsteinhorn - were built in the mid-nineties and according to the American design language. They are not from the drawing board of Harradine.

These are all golf holes that do not pose too big challenges for the player as they are not very long and flat.
Only a few greens show a moderate influx, are good to play. If the conditions are dry, these places even play loose. But they wet them - they can be longer after rain showers - they are long. The completely flat course on the eastern side of the Salzach as a natural border, the riverbed is high and thus also the water table in the squares. The soil of the place - Moor-Torpf - is partly responsible for only moderate drainage. The numerous water ponds are used, were cleverly integrated into the game. Several higher greens are kept so dry.

As a whole package - golf courses, training (if not on the Driving Ranche must be played by the mats), clubhouse (gastronomy) and Proshop and the scenery - is something of the most impressive what you can use in the Alps. The Proshop was mehrmalks the No 1 in Austria.

In terms of course maintenance and maintenance, we are not quite as euphoric. Unfortunately, there is still a lot of room for improvement here. We think ten years ago something was better. We have noticed that improvements have been made to the drainage, but that alone is not enough.

It's like that - you feel well or not, you're welcome or not - golf consists of four to five hours of work on the court and staying at the clubhouse afterwards. If the whole package is not right, there are deductions, that can go so far as to completely avoid a destination.

The members have a very special approach to the guests - sometimes even a very bizarre, what we have experienced, more than once. Here are the reasons:

It's been a long time, the members were constantly blaspheming about the guests who would not fix the pitch marks. The then president was tired of the situation and unceremoniously closed a facility one week for the members. On the open for the members plant a club tournament was held on the weekend. The indignation over the condition of the greens was huge. Before the award ceremony, he pointed out that from next week, the members may play on the system, which was reserved for a week only to guests and their greens are in very good condition.

This episode is thanks to my nickname.

The President's lesson has been effective for some time but has not been adopted by all.

We had a Trunierwoche - not the first - booked, played on the surrounding courts and twice in Zell am See. On the lap in Zell am See - Schmittenhölhe - even before the beginning of the second nine, the teammate pressed my score card into my hand, she would not want to. A hole later the teammate too, he would have enough. Both were members - played badly - the club.
I - as a hotel guest green fee payer - stood there as abgewatscht, with three score cards and no marker. They did not stand my game and the good score!
I finished my round and recorded only birdies and eagles. An unsigned scoreboard is invalid, a signed one with a false score that the marker already accepts. I deposited the scorchets with a protest note.
Such behavior shows lack of decorum but also disrespect, also a great appreciation towards paying guests. Quite apart from that, the basic ideas of the game of golf are trampled on.
Later, the president apologized to me for the behavior of the members. And the players in question ... ??

This has meant that we have booked no more tournament weeks, not only that, also the visit intervals have been significantly stretched. We are usually four or even eight on the way, that would ordinarily give money in the cash register?

And word of mouth propaganda? It will not be that positive!

At the same time, one wonders about the decline in guest and green fees of around 30%!

Why try the past? She finds herself almost seamlessly in the present again!

We have tea times for men, the women take a break. We should - according to Timeboard - play with two members. We are happy, too soon.
Before the TeeOff we were enlightened, the two members have split on the two front threes. They have made it a member quad, we are allowed to play afterwards. We two, still neatly short and so crooked, play behind these two fours and kick our legs in the stomach - 18 holes long. Even those behind us are getting impatient.

After the round we only saw the clubhouse from the outside and enjoyed the beer by the lake. We have renounced the round with the women.

You have to like and care for guests - not just the marketing people - then they keep coming back. If that is not the case, please, there are enough good - yes very good - alternatives.
If the members no longer want guests on their property, they can make a private home - but then have to cover 100% of the expenses.

The resort would have four stars - but not more - earned, but care and maintenance not. And the rest, the members ... ???

In the current ranking of the Top 30 Austria none of the places can be found, Kitzsteinhorn was 28 times. In addition, Zell am See is no longer in the Almanac of The Leading Golf Courses.

The question was asked, will we travel again ... ???

Translated by Google.

Response from Verena, Club Manager at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
July 25, 2018
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Dear "Pitchmark", we would like to thank you for your comments on our history, which were new to me and my colleagues. Concerning the state of the course, we would like to point out that since the… More

Dear "Pitchmark", we would like to thank you for your comments on our history, which were new to me and my colleagues. Concerning the state of the course, we would like to point out that since the middle of April we too have been fighting against heat and drought and are directly happy about one or the other thunderstorm. Last week we hosted the "Pro Golf Tour" and many players who are also on the European Tour or Challenge Tour. Original sound of the winner Ondrej Lieser: "I would like to thank the Zell am See Golf Club for this tournament! It was great to play here, especially the greenkeepers have done a fantastic job, the golf course is in top condition."

Maybe you will take the time to visit your next visit and come to the clubhouse, so that we can discuss your concerns on the spot with a coffee! Bye for now!

Translated by Google.

ernst 26 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

I played the Kitzsteinhorn course. The front desk and the service at the front desk friendly and helpful. The place is in good condition. He has many water hazards and doglegs. The game on this course is a real challenge and also requires a certain tactic. The care of the tracks and greens good. The greens fast but fair. I only had the opportunity to play the course once and would like to return. The restaurant with the large terrace and the panoramic view is always worth a visit. The clubhouse with the shop was very successful in terms of architecture.

Translated by Google.

Response from Simone, Secretary at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
June 25, 2018
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

We are pleased that you enjoyed our stay and hope to see you back soon.

Translated by Google.

Veronika H. 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Pure joy

Actually, I just wanted to play nine holes, but unfortunately... I just could not stop.
This golf course is just wonderful. Perfect and very lovingly maintained, sophisticated, varied and exciting, because every hole is different.
From 9- were 18 holes and as time permits, I come back!!!

By the way, the ladies in the secretariat were very friendly and accommodating.

I still have an EXTRA STAR ⭐

Translated by Google.

Response from Sylvia Zingl of Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
June 11, 2018
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thank you so much for this positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you felt comfortable with us at the golf course and enjoyed the idyllic atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon… More

Thank you so much for this positive review.
We are very pleased to hear that you felt comfortable with us at the golf course and enjoyed the idyllic atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you soon as a guest with us.
Until then we wish you a lot of nice games and low scores!

Translated by Google.

m.heller 30 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Very good place with a great panorama view

It is a real joy to play in the middle of the magnificent alpine panorama, a well-cared-for place with plenty of water obstacles, various doglegs, strategic lanes and fast and faithful greens. The place is located in the valley, is therefore just located and has a parkland character. The green fee is acceptable with 85 €, a Birdiebook is included. The staff in the secretarial and gastronomy are helpful and friendly. The gastronomy is pricey in order, the food is characterized by regional cuisine and tasted very good.

Translated by Google.

Rodigan 50 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Flat Alpengolf

We played both places for the second time at the end of May 2017 and were thrilled again.
Both places offer great views of the Kitzsteinhorn and the surrounding mountains, but the layout is completely flat and rather parkland courses.
As a result, both places do not offer the difficulties of other courses in the Alps, which must adapt to the topography.
Nevertheless, they are sophisticated enough to provide enough game play.
In contrast to some other reviews, I believe Kitzsteinhorn is the more challenging place because the greens are more dull and with the appropriate flag positions offer many options.
The nearby sports airfield is in my opinion not further disturbing, as the aircraft mostly in the landing approach and hardly cause any noise.
On the train course runs every half hour a train and very slow, which is really not disturbing, especially since one of the place itself nothing more.
In the restaurant one sits after the round with great view of the Kitzsteinhorn with good food.
Conclusion: Parkland courses with an alpine panorama, which should be played in any case.

Translated by Google.

Response from Verena Kuhlank, Managing Director at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
June 4, 2017
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Thanks for the nice review. We look forward to your next visit!

Translated by Google.

rudi48 23 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Correction 1 stars reviews

Now take part in the Ski / Golf World Championship for the third time and have played some rounds in both places.
Check out these 1 star ratings. The primary concern is the quality and the layout of the seats and not whether I find a place in the restaurant.
In May 2017 the place is in order. It still has traces of winter. The greens on the Schmittenhöheplatz are much slower than on the Kitzsteinhornplatz.
Is enough for four stars but the one star ratings are corrected!

Translated by Google.

Response from Verena Kuhlank, Managing Director at Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm
May 16, 2017
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Dear Rudi, thank you for the evaluation. We are pleased that you like us. We wish you a beautiful golfing summer and look forward to seeing you again!

Translated by Google.

cico97 50 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful places with interesting layouts

Too bad that some reviews more responsive to the trappings and people, noise rate and so over the golf course and playing golf. The courses are really good and also require challenging golf game. Care condition is good and the service OK.
Neither the train, aircraft nor the shooting range really disturbing, but provide other distractions.
Overall, a golf course, which is fun, regardless whether the locals are all friendly or not. We felt at home and put the emphasis more on the space and layout.

Translated by Google.

JohnyJackson 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Beautiful place but...

The place is very well located, embedded in a valley and we circled by many mountains. Course maintenance is very good and also the condition of the greens is good. But...

- The driving range is located right next to a railway line, which you will often abgelengt due to the horn.
- One is constantly disturbed by starting, as well as landing aircraft, which fly quite deep.
- A rather loud sound by blaring the golf course, right next door there is a shooting range.

Actually a nice place for the purposes of the panorama, but speak to me the above three points, unfortunately, clearly against the criterion of a Leading clubs.

Translated by Google.

Fairplay 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Clasp me the preliminary assessment in full on!

Bummer... GC Zell am See was the last years always a fixture for us, we have played a few times a year there. However, it is obvious as guest players only allowed to pay the green fee, but otherwise you prefer to stay among themselves. So happened in the last tournament. At about 30 degrees and more than 5.5 hours of play time, we were to take a shower a need before eating. A three-course meal at beautifully laid table tastes just simply better when you feel fresh.
Unfortunately, it was no longer possible to get a place at a table after the shower. Multiple rounds through the restaurant were not very successful, although there was still availability. A group of men would have though one of the two free seats at the table offered, as I said however, my husband would also, was suddenly none of the places more freely.
There could we do nothing more than to refer to the only free table on the terrace. Since it was raining heavily this was the table under the awning. This table and we were suddenly among the members of the most popular to take for a cigarette but in our place. Since we are Non smoking, we have then gone leave this table and ultimately to the starter the Clublokal.
Liebenzeller golfers! Do you wonder because really, that the number of green fee players in your club is plummeting? Since only one solution: pay more membership fee and you remain among you! The paying guest looks for another place to play!

Translated by Google.

S. Kassel 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Unique

Kitzsteinhorn is a very beautiful place, when reached after 4 days rainy weather on the absorption capacity of the water. The greens were still in excellent condition, fast and faithful. The staff is friendly and helpful in all areas. Only before the locals "Tiger" -Illusionisten should beware. Since you will be yelled at and insulted in the best Austrian dialect. But even that is unique in Europe. Never again

Translated by Google.

Altgolfer 88 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Highly recommended

Despite very wet weather it was a joy to play both courses, although the lighter course Kitzsteinhorn has two advantages: On the one hand, the far more beautiful panorama on the other hand - and this is the only negative point of principle - the noise is bearable here. We played the Schmittenhoehe on a Friday and, without exaggeration, the pilots landed in 2-3 minute intervals, and they are approaching quite scarce on the course and really disturbing.
But otherwise you can just be full of praise.

Translated by Google.

schmidtkiel 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Generous fairways, great care status

We played both courses in July. The friendly team at the Secretariat receives the green fee players with nice hospitality. The seats are in terms of layout and maintenance state absolutely top. Long hitters will find the generously proportioned fairways as well as the semi-roughs almost every ball, even if the beats are warped. The greens are fast and pleasant to putt linientreu. Sufficient space between the orbits allows a stress-free game. Here to Golfing is a great pleasure. Only the abundant mosquitoes and - brakes are negative to mention - it recommend long pants and treatment-free skin with insect protection. After 18.00 clock who love animals are properly engaged... The restoration in the clubhouse and pro shop are also guided top and worth a visit.

Translated by Google.

Austriangolfer 16 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Golfing at Alpine Park

We played the course Kitzsteinhorn, partly in light rain. The place presented itself in tip top shape - the square design with some casual doglegs makes golf a real experience. Again at any time.
Balls take - lots of water. Another tip: definitely visit the Golf Restaurant - serves excellent food!

Translated by Google.

kalle 454 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Flat Alpengolf

The two 18-hole courses in Zell am See are great! Very beautiful parkland design before great mountain scenery!
36 flat sheets!
We were thrilled!

Translated by Google.

Dirk Althaus 1 Review
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Great Place

Very nice location, superior greens and bunkers, the course Kitzsteinhorn is a little easier to play. The complex was located in the valley. Many water hazards. Necessarily play only on the Kitzsteinhornplatz 9 holes are possible. Club house with beautiful terrace and lounge area.

Translated by Google.

Birdiegolfer 11 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Five stars!

There are two beautiful 18-hole courses that are flat, but contain a lot of water. Schmittenhöhebahn plays while more difficult and has more water, but Kitzsteinhorn has the better view. Overall, both places are very well maintained and the staff is extremely helpful. I can highly recommend the system.

Translated by Google.

Slorenzetti 2 Reviews
  • Automatic translation
  • Original version

Well maintained community

2 exciting 18 hole courses. Rest. Unfortunately, in the spring of rare good greens. Schmitt height is more difficult to play than the Kitzsteinhorn. Fabulous view!

Translated by Google.

Been to Golfclub Zell am See - Kaprun - Saalbach-Hinterglemm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review